$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Villa Herencia Hotel

3 stars
23 Caleta de las Monjas, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
23 reviews
Very nice Hotel!

This hotel located in a very quiet and nice area of old San Juan, almost next to Governor house. It... See full review

  • DPhoto
  • Dec 23, 2014
Very Nice, Cultural Experience

This hotel was PERFECT for what we were looking for. A hotel in Old San Juan convenient to walking... See full review

  • RJ Smooth
  • Dec 8, 2014
A beautiful mansion in the Old City where you will find eight luxury rooms elegantly decorated with mirrors from Venice, chandeliers from eastern Europe, beautiful furniture, all skillfully handcrafted by wood masters. All are equipped with modern amenities like air conditioning, plush pillow-top mattresses, flat screen television, exquisite private bathrooms and wi-fi in common areas. Beautiful antiques by Vidal and Pacheco adorn the library and the twelve seat dinning room. A permanent exhibition by one of Puerto Rico's greatest painter Roberto Parilla is displayed in our rooms and common areas. A terrace where you can enjoy the beautiful Caribbean breeze. A romantic getaway for couples. The hotel offers No smoking policy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Herencia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Villa Herencia Hotel Rooms

Classic Queen
Classic Queen offers 1 Queen-Size Plush Pillow-Top mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King offers 1 King-Size Plush Pillow-Top Mattress along with Private Bathroom, Air Conditioned and TV/Satellite.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 6.1 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has a 12 seat dining room, a library with sofas, table and chairs plus a large terrace.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Herencia Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DPhoto
Business
Buffalo Grove
Dec 23, 2014

Very nice Hotel!

This hotel located in a very quiet and nice area of old San Juan, almost next to Governor house. It is a very safe and pleasant place. Not far from old castle and inner harbor - you can walk there. Staff of the hotel is very friendly. Hotel it self represent a local style in regards of interior design. Might not be 100 appealing but it is comfy and nice. It has a pretty patio on the roof or top floor. Entrance is a bit small from outside so it is easy to miss. No near by parking is available and I would not recommend to rent a car for old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car for staying in Old San Juan. It is very compact and parking is a problem. If you want a loud fun place to stay - try to rent near commercial ship port - there are a lot of restaurants. If you like quiet place - rent closer to old castle that located at entrance of San Juan harbor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJ Smooth
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 8, 2014

Very Nice, Cultural Experience

This hotel was PERFECT for what we were looking for. A hotel in Old San Juan convenient to walking around the area, walking distance to catch the ferry to Bacardi Factory, close to shopping, bars, restaurants, taxi's, etc. It's a classic establishment that looks like it was converted into a hotel...not very big, but very nice. Rooms are comfortable, each have the bed, bathroom, couch/lounge area, etc. Don't come expecting to walk into a 5-star resort....but it's very comfortable and serene if you'd like a LOCAL place to stay that doesn't break the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lolobelle14
Business
Missouri
Sep 12, 2014

High quality service at a beautiful intimate hotel!

We had an amazing experience at Villa Harencia! The service was amazing and the staff was very accomadating and assisted with any question. The location was in the heart of Old San Juan. We loved that this small hotel was only 8 rooms. Therefore, it was soooo quiet. The rooms were so beautifel! I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mofongo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPTraveller
Business
New York city
Sep 3, 2014

Take a step back in history

The hotel is beautiful and feels steeped in history. The rooms are beautiful and have that old world feel (place was a home for the nuns). The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are modern. Location is amazing. The other amenities are no frill. There were mosquitos, which appears to be a San Juan issue, but the open air hallway I think magnifies it. But the hotel has repellant available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bar Taker Ryan
Business
Dover, NJ
Jun 2, 2014

Can't beat this location

My wife and I stayed only one night at the Villa Herencia Hotel but we would have gladly stayed longer if possible. We got into San Juan a day before our cruise departed and wanted to get some time in there before the cruise. Most of the hotels were booked by the time we looked for rooms because of the cruise and other people with the same idea so I was surprised such a great hotel was still available when we booked. The room was much more spacious than I expected and very clean and comfortable. Best of all, it was directly in the center of Old San Juan and walking distance to everything that it has to offer. If you're staying in Old San Juan and are looking to experience this particular part of Puerto Rico, definitely give Villa Herencia a look. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants in Old San Juan are a little pricey but a short walk to the water reveals various food trucks that are cheap and delicious with a good deal of variety. If you're not insistent on a sit-down meal, give these trucks a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard.Kesser
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 2, 2013

Hidden Gem in Old San Juan

When booking hotels, I typically look for brand name hotels because you almost know what to expect. However, I decided to take a risk based on reviews I read for the Villa Herencia and booked this hotel for 3 nights. Words cannot express how pleasantly surprised I was upon arrival. This old convent turned boutique hotel was super cute, clean, close to everything and the staff were insanely friendly and amazingly helpful. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, intimate hotel close to everything Old San Juan has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnyday24
Business
Evanston, Il
Aug 21, 2012

PERFECT Location!

If you want the REAL genuine, authentic Old San Juan experience you will enjoy Villa Herencia! It is a quick relaxing walk from everything you want to enjoy on a vacation. Lovely, charming and quaint. Maria and her staff will try their best to accommodate you-super gracious! Great place for a honeymoon, anniversary, birthday or any celebration. The water is wram/tepid throughout the island-so no steamy hot showers anywhere! *OSJ is a cat colony so if you are allergic to cats bring your Benedril!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NuYoRican-Live music! Best Chicken tacos and Sangria.Get there by 9:45 for free entry. Thurs nights are Salsa heaven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El alquimista
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 6, 2012

I love this place :)

The staff is wonderful and I will definitely comeback. Great for couples!!! I travel to San Juan every year and this is my favorite place. I only wish the continental breakfast was more varied as it was the same every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gato DV
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 19, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel

The design of this small hotel is very chic. Very memorable. The room (H4) was small but who spends much time in their room while in San Juan? The location couldn't be any better, next to the City Gate. Fabulous place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a car, the best parking deck is Dona Fela on Recinto Sur. $1.25 an hour and only $4 from 6 pm to 6 am. Parking spots on the street is hard to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Herencia Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lexilou
Business
germany
May 23, 2012

Great Location in Old San Juan

If your plan is to explore Old San Juan, this is your hotel. It's located just a couple of steps down the road from the cathedral, and all the other sights are also within walking distance. We showed up earlier than expected, and the staff tried to have us check in as early as possible - without any early check-in fees... instead, they offered us a free breakfast during the wait. We could also leave our luggage while taking a stroll around town until the staff gave us a phone call as soon as the room was ready. On check-out day, we could also leave our luggage in the lobby after checking out of our room until we were ready to head to the cruise terminal late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top