$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
339 reviews
good hotel

this was a family getaway, and we had a great time. See full review

  • Elit122
  • Nov 26, 2014
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 339
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasJimbo
Business
Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Serious management problems

No way to describe this as four star. There is an Embassy Suites 50 yards away that is far superior, but I don't think of that chain as four star. Main problem was wifi only existed within lobby despite claims to the contrary and existing routers, which couldn't be fixed in six days. Second, no real bar except at night. Third, rooms are seriously run down. Fourth, restaurants are inappropriate and on the whole poorly staffed. Fifth, no gift shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flintdog
Business
Lorton, VA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

I expect to take showers in hot water. Well I didnt. The water was cold my entire duration. I put a trouble call to the front desk with no success. Also, I stayed for 3 nights and didnt get my room cleaned once. Of course I had my do not disturb sign, but when I depart my room at 5:00 pm and ask the front desk to please send someone to clean my room and I come back at 10:00 pm and my room is still not clean I find this to be a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Playera
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Okay. Not bad, but not GREAT :/

The lobby, front desk, and entrance area are deceptively nice which is why I think the average holiday inn style rooms were sort of disappointing...I guess with such a pretty welcome I just expected a little bit more from the room. The lobby area is so nice that they were actually filming Puerto Rico Idol while we were there, but the rooms lack luster. They are perfectly fine if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night and leave your stuff during the day....but not for the price. The rooms are a little old and outdated but if you don't care about that stuff...it's okay I guess. The bathroom was annoying, every time we showered it was as if water leaked from everywhere...toilet, ceiling, walls...it was definitely due to the lack of ventilation and condensation but as someone who has spent plenty of time in PR and the rest of the Caribbean, it's unnecessary and would not be a problem with proper ventilation. I spent no time in the pool...why go to a pool when you're two blocks from the beach??? And when I checked it out, it looked small and crowded. The fitness center was small and run down (almost everything was broken), and on the website they say they have an outdoor running area but when I asked about it no one seem to know where it was....weird. Isla verde is very touristy and so there is A LOT (way too much) of fast food. There was this one coffee/sandwhich spot worth visiting though, 1 block away right on Tartak right before the beach. I never tried the hotel's food. Overall, there are better hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unforgettable
Business
V.I.
Jun 28, 2010

Good weekend!

It was a good experience overall the only thing is that some rooms need to renovate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr.V
Business
Carolina, PR
May 8, 2012

An Average Stay

The location was good, but the room was sub par. I would look to stay in a different hotel my next stay in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2011

Fine, but that's not good.

The pool was well kept. This is ideal for families, as there were many here. I would not recommend this for couples or singles - unless they really like loud children. The bistro had no local cuisine. But the bar did - and was quite good. There is no room service. The front desk staff was great. The area around the resort was loud and the maintenance men were clipping hedges for two days with a very noisy electric clipper - it should have taken an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derrica
Business
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2008

Good for a Last Minute Trip

The Holiday Inn San Juan was a good pick for a trip that was planned very last minute. It's very close to both the airport and the beach (just a two block walk) and also in walking distance of various bars along Isla Verde Avenue. The check-in/check-out and tourist/special activities desk were really helpful and the staffs as the hotels bars/restuarants were really friendly. While I only ate at two of the hotels three restuarant options, the food was very enjoyable. My only complaint was that the room never got cool enough for me and room service can be a little slow at times. Otherwise a satisfying stay. If you're looking for more beach and less casinos and heavy foot traffic this is a good place to stay. It takes a little longer to get to Old San Juan from here BUT it's a very direct route on the bus route, which is only a block away. The beach is beautiful by the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of bars along Avenida Isla Verde with a mix of crowds and musical selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Dec 27, 2009

Great Location

Excelent Staff, very friendly. I felt like home! Great Location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Viera, Florida
Jan 17, 2011

Awesome

Excellent location, good service, clean environment. This was a last minute emergency trip and everything went very smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carboman
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 8, 2012

Caribbean's Most Friendly Island

From the moment we set foot on the island up until we left, hotel staff & every local person was warm, friendly & helpful on places to eat, drink & see. The food & hospitality was wonderful. I just wish littering was much more inforced & everyone was more considerate of the environment. In all a fantastic vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fresh coconut water straight down the street at beachside bar & cafe. Also great beer & drink prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top