$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
339 reviews
family trip

All vocation we are have a feeling this is a visit to ours friends. And Verdanza "family" happy to... See full review

  • Liliya W.
  • Dec 19, 2014
good hotel

this was a family getaway, and we had a great time. See full review

  • Elit122
  • Nov 26, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 339
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
garzagirl
Business
texas
Jul 27, 2009

smelly rooms and bathrooms!

The rooms were okay but i found old pieces of food under our bed and the bathrooms stink like urine! the entire isla verde is trashland! super dirty place overall! I would never stay or recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Chuck
Business
Atlanta, Ga
May 14, 2011

Was Ok, but for price it was fine

When we arrived on Tuesday the hotel looked very beautiful from the outside. Check-in was long because their printer was not working well. After securing room 1021 the bellman who was very good took our luggage to the room. Our room had no view, one tree and a construction site. The pool view rooms have NO ELEVATOR all and everything must be carried up and down stairs. We requested a room on the 1st level, they accommodated our request(very bad request)and moved us to room 1011.The rooms are very small, and this particular room smelled wet possibly some sort of previous flood damage. The bathroom has a separate room for toilet and shower, it smelled the worst. I was there to scuba dive, the heat did not work in the room so it was impossible to dry anything. The language barrier is very hard to overcome, but the staff was great. I was hit with a $13.50 unknown tax charge at check-out not much but when you pay for vacation package it's very unexpected. Read ALL FINE prints. Overall the trip served it's purpose. Will definately stay elsewhere next time. [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plato's restaurant was fantastic. Not a far walk, right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gene r
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 20, 2011

ok not worth the money i spent

First stay here the room smelled horrid. Stains on the bedsheets. Dirty smelly elevators. They did let us in the room a little early.I would never recommend this hotel. The embassy suites across the street is cheaper and nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponderosa steak house next block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aidute
Business
antioch, il
Dec 30, 2012

It's just ok

it's just ok, nothing special. for the money i can find so much better. old, small rooms, not much at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BonnieT
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 17, 2013

family getaway

The hotel was beautiful, although the rooms were a bit small. The lounge chair on the balcony was infested with some sort of mites and my sister got little bites all over the parts of her body that were touching the chair after sitting in it reading for a while. The toilet did not flush well and got plugged up during our stay. The MOST irritating part was on the last night of our stay, people in the room above us were playing amplified instruments and management basically refused to do anything about it until midnight and we had to get up very early for our flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A couple who needed a vacation
Business
Boston,MA
Apr 7, 2011

Wonderful trip but...

The rooms need work! The bathroom's do not have fans so the towels stay damp and smell after one use! Housekeeping will bring some ASAP but the smell lingers due to the shower curtain smelly moldy as well. I checked the beds upon arrival (to inspect for bed bugs) and I was amazed to find the mattress pad had not been changed and had stains and hair from the previous patron. The mattress was sunken in and saggy as well(that's why they needed mattress pads). Also, the rooms are small. There isn't much room to move around. Management was great but the workers at David's Cookies were not so great. The pool was clean and never congested with people. The pool and the location by far are the only positive aspects of this hotel. We selected this hotel because of the splash park (for our daughter which did not enjoy it as much as the pool) All in all, I much rather have spent more on a better hotel. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piu Bello on Isla Verde Ave is a wonderful little cafe that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is great, portions are generous,and the service is great! It's a long walk or short drive (free parking)but definitely worth it! The food in the hotel is decent but not worth it. Also, the food at the restaurant in the plaza nearby "Mi Casita" is not that great either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville TN
Mar 26, 2011

Good location, mediocre hotel

Ffrom the outside, the hotel is nice. The rooms themselves are unclean and barely stocked with supplies. Each night we had to call the front desk to ask for more towels, as they would only leave 2 sets for 6 people. The toilets clogged frequently and the vents for the rooms were filthy. Had to wait 2 hours to check in, due to bedding arrangement request that was priorly noted with the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2011

Just OKay...won't go back

I was disappointed with the hotel because we had 3 people in the room and we were only given 2 bath towels...my daughter and I had to share a bath towel...housekeeping said they were only allowe to give 2 towels per room. We had 3 blackouts while we were there at night and they had no generator. The staff at the door were very helpful and curtious. I also didn't think that hotel guests should have to pay for parking! The hotel was very clean though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

different fast food places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan
Feb 15, 2010

the bad

didnt clean room until 3rd day rented a car which you dont even need had to pay 10.00 a day to park extra 250.00 depoist for vechicle which i still have not got refunded for road construction everywhere be very careful trying to get to beach they will run you over dont take the rain forest tour do it your self the place is a money pit make sure you have plenty of it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 5, 2010

Verdanza

The Verdanza Hotel was a nice location to begin our daily travels around Puerto Rico. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish although most people can speak English. We just found that they warm up to you more if you speak Spanish to them. Luckily my husband is both fluent and charming in Spanish. We thought the hotel overall was very clean..no problems there! No shortage of hot water for the showers either. Each room had a free refrigerator, good A/C and a free safe. We had the standard room with 2 double beds and a balcony. It was kind of tight for 3 adults and 3 suitcases, but we managed ok. We weren't crazy about the fact that we had to pay for parking ($10 a day) for our rental car and we thought the fitness room could have been bigger and better. Overall, we were happy with our choice for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's restaurant was priced as it is in the states. Many other spots we visited we overpriced for what you got. There are not really many places nearby for breakfast othere than fast food. Chili's also served a decent breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top