$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 24, 2010

Not quite up to par

Front desk was friendly, very understaffed at checkout. Room was well-worn - had been smoked in at some point in the past - not particularly clean - walls were all marked up. Closet was not clean. Had I not received the [...] rates and booked this hotel based on their very nice website, it would have been very upsetting. This is an average, adequate, re-badged recently hotel - not nearly as classy as they would have your believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants (mostly fast food) within easy walking distance

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of 1!
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 29, 2010

Week end getaway!

I enjoyed my trip to San Juan and my stay at Hotel Verdanza. The staff was really nice and helpful ... especially the valet guys. I knew if I needed information that I could go to them to find out where to eat, how to get somewhere and anything else I needed to know. Everyone was helpful and I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cruise Catcher
Business
McDonough, Ga.
Nov 16, 2010

Average

Okay for what i needed, which was to catch a cruise on Sunday. Close to airport, clean and with a very nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is near many other hotels that have nice resturants, but this hotel is near a Ponderosa and an Outback.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 7, 2010

Verdanza Hotel Isla Verde PR

Staff-- Very knowledgable, helpful, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 11, 2010

Good, bad and Ugly.

Hotel on a scale of 1-10, an 8, because the Hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The part of town where hotel was located, on scale of 1-10, a 5--dirty, poor. We would never stay in this part of San Juan again. Very little to do--did not appear very safe after dark. When we got to the pier and on the ship, it was great to be away from the rough side of San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not book Hotel in this part of town if you are in San Juan to see sights. Fortunately, we got out quickly and on to our cruise.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 6, 2009

Pretty Good Hotel near beach

This hotel is really nice. Our room was not the cleanest, but they sent room service right away to clean. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. You are about a 5 minute walk from the beach and the bus stops. You can walk to food spots and other hotels. In comparison to the surrounding hotels, this one was in the middle. Not 5-star, but a good, clean hotel. You can walk right to the casinos and the airport is literally 7 minutes away! I wish they had better amenities, but the price was reasonable for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus everywhere!!! Even to and from the airport!!! The bus is only $.75 versus $13.00 taxi trips.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IC Lighter
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 26, 2010

San Juan in Feb 2010

First of all, this is more of a standard hotel, not a vacation resort. Once you realize that, there's not too much to complain about. My wife & I were at the hotel from February 20 through 25. The location was very good...less than 10 minutes from the airport, a 5 minute walk to a nice beach, close to many restaurants & bars, close to a grocery store, a half block from a bus stop - it took us about 40 minutes to get to Old San Juan for just 75 cents (a quicker ride in a rental car or taxi, but you can't beat the bus fare). The area didn't seem to be very touristy. It was like being a part of normal Puerto Rican life. This is NOT a resort area similar to Cancun. You're actually in the city of San Juan so it's a very real experience. The hotel has a nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs. It was quiet except for the planes landing and taking off at the nearby airport. There was no music or pool games or anything like you would get at a resort. The restaurants in the hotel were of good quality, and the prices were reasonable. The service is friendly, though a bit slow. The bar has plenty of nice TVs for sporting events. There is an Asian restaurant and 2 restaurants that serve local fare along with other ethnic choices (Italian, American, etc). There is also a small coffee/pastry shop. A favorite restaurant among the locals is Mi Casita which is located in a small plaza just a half block away. This hotel is not new, so it looks a bit run down in places, but overall it's a nice place. We upgraded to a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool. It was very noisy during our stay as there was some sort of road work being done. The noise started around 6:30am with jackhammers and beeping from trucks that were backing up. I guess they try to get the work done before it gets too hot outside. At least it kept us from sleeping in too late and wasting part of the day (I'm always the optimist). That's really the only major complaint that I could make, and that was not the hotel's fault. There were some minor issues with the outdated bathroom, mostly aeshtetic, and we had to wait several minutes for the water to get warm in the shower, but no major problems. Overall, this is a very average hotel. There is nothing great about it, but there's really nothing bad about it either. If you do have a problem, the staff was very courteous, and they all spoke English very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsnkalu[@]
Business
new york
Jul 22, 2011

family spot

This hotel was nice. Too far from the beach about a 1/2 mile. The pool was overcrowded. Vey small for the amount of kids. They did not have the accomadation I paid for our first night there. Worst of all they charge their guest to park at on the hotel parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay over at condado beach area

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cinn ohio
Apr 2, 2011

good and bad

real nice pool and hot tub,spent most of time driving around island seeing puerto rico away from large towns.south end of island very nice.down side.second day at hotel no tolite tisue was left by house keeping,had to call desk.third day no shampo was left.carpet was very dirty,after complaining to manager we were given a 50$ valcour for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 4, 2011

Puerto Rico stay

went around Puerto Rico. Good location, but hotel rooms were average. the fire alarm went off a few times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Budatai

Back to menu Return to top