$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernesta
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2013

Needs renovation

The rooms were very small and definitely major repair. The location was very good and its only 4 minutes walk to the beach, there was a very good breakfast place right around the corned. The staff was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No way
Business
New York
May 5, 2013

Three rooms

When I arrived I got my room which was in the main building I had to change, it was mold in the room. My second room was pool side I check the room and both beds had what I think was ants. Went to the desk got my third room which was ok. Most rooms the closet doors were off track my phone wasn't working and the hotel always had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sketne25
Business
Fairfax, VA
May 16, 2013

Some good, but didn't outweigh the bad

I really wanted to like this place, but I honestly can't say I would stay there again. Here's why: Carpet: In the first room we received, a king room overlooking the pool, I immediately noticed the smell of mildew. It was like a musty carpet that hadn't ever been dry. The carpet was actually squishy, and the smell was overwhelming and obnoxious. However, we had a balcony and a great view, so I tried to get over it. But... Bedbugs: After one night, I awoke with two very itchy welts on my leg. I've had experiences with bedbugs before, and I know exactly what the bites look and feel like. It was identical. However, trying to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and assuming I received the bites during the day before, we stayed put one more night. When I woke up the next morning, there were four new bites on both legs that I just couldn't ignore. I immediately had our room switched. Room switch/staff: When I told the front desk about my problem with the bugs, there was no apology. The worker simply said he would speak with his supervisor and arrange to have us moved to another room. When we came back that afternoon, they moved us to the tower, but all they had were double bed rooms. Great, so my husband and I could either bunk separately like sleep-away camp, or cram together in a double bed with me slathered in calamine and bug spray. It was not romantic, to put it lightly. Unfortunately, I don't know that any treatment was administered to our first room, so some other unsuspecting guest may have unknowingly joined the bedbug party after we left. Bathroom/Water pressure: It's nonexistent, so it'll take ten minutes just to wash your hair. The temperature is bipolar, so prepare to freeze and burn within the same minute while you shower. And there is no fan in the bathroom, which explains why the carpets are soggy (seriously, carpet in a beach-locale hotel? Why???). NOTHING dried. The upside: There were no bugs in our second room, which also had a small view of the ocean. The location is spot-on if you want to hit the beach early, like we did. Great restaurants within walking distance as well. You also have very easy access to the bus system, which is a great way to head into San Juan if you don't want to drive. If you don't want to actually spend any time in the hotel, including sleeping, you're good storing your luggage here. But just make sure it's up off the floor and beds so you don't take any bitey little friends home with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Metropol down along Isla Verde. It's beside the cock-fighting ring about 1/2 mile from the hotel. Everything is delicious, the portions are generous, and the cocktails are strong. The mofongo is to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BonnieT
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 17, 2013

family getaway

The hotel was beautiful, although the rooms were a bit small. The lounge chair on the balcony was infested with some sort of mites and my sister got little bites all over the parts of her body that were touching the chair after sitting in it reading for a while. The toilet did not flush well and got plugged up during our stay. The MOST irritating part was on the last night of our stay, people in the room above us were playing amplified instruments and management basically refused to do anything about it until midnight and we had to get up very early for our flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2008

Some problems...

Signed note saying I would be charged $200 if I smoked in the room...Entered room and it smelled of cigarettes. Asked management to note it to avoid paying fee...they sprayed room...but it really did not help. AC kept blowing in cigarette smoke...Room was crowded, especially toilet area. Very cramped. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Still, I would not stay there again. Sunday breakfast buffet was only marginal also...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach nearby (short walk) Parking adequate but must pay $8/day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Nov 16, 2010

San Juan Hotel Verdanza

Main property grounds, pool area, lobby, and restauraunts were very nice but rooms need updating. Room phone didn't work, had to ask for tv remote furniture very worn as was carpet. No hot water for shower. Staff was very friendly and did what they could. Hotel was adequate for short stay but not for extended visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several nice eateries from fast food to more elequent within walking distance. Also large grocery with wine and liquor near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Travelers Dave & Robin
Business
Hilliard, Ohio
Nov 23, 2010

Verdanza Hotel Experience

The good: near airport, nice pool area, and friendly staff. The very bad: dirty room, no hot water, long cab rides to local attractions (dining, nightlife, recreation) other than casinos. There really was no hot water at any point. Overall a 2 star might be generous but the staff was very nice and listened to our complaints. Others in our group and at hotel had basically the same thoughts. Not worth more than $75.00 per night. Very small rooms with tiny bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Aug 10, 2007

dissatisfied stay

Check-in time was 3pm, room was not ready until, 530pm. In the following days, room was not made up, until, after 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe' just one block away, call Mi Casa. Prices are great, so is the breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A couple who needed a vacation
Business
Boston,MA
Apr 7, 2011

Wonderful trip but...

The rooms need work! The bathroom's do not have fans so the towels stay damp and smell after one use! Housekeeping will bring some ASAP but the smell lingers due to the shower curtain smelly moldy as well. I checked the beds upon arrival (to inspect for bed bugs) and I was amazed to find the mattress pad had not been changed and had stains and hair from the previous patron. The mattress was sunken in and saggy as well(that's why they needed mattress pads). Also, the rooms are small. There isn't much room to move around. Management was great but the workers at David's Cookies were not so great. The pool was clean and never congested with people. The pool and the location by far are the only positive aspects of this hotel. We selected this hotel because of the splash park (for our daughter which did not enjoy it as much as the pool) All in all, I much rather have spent more on a better hotel. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piu Bello on Isla Verde Ave is a wonderful little cafe that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is great, portions are generous,and the service is great! It's a long walk or short drive (free parking)but definitely worth it! The food in the hotel is decent but not worth it. Also, the food at the restaurant in the plaza nearby "Mi Casita" is not that great either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville TN
Mar 26, 2011

Good location, mediocre hotel

Ffrom the outside, the hotel is nice. The rooms themselves are unclean and barely stocked with supplies. Each night we had to call the front desk to ask for more towels, as they would only leave 2 sets for 6 people. The toilets clogged frequently and the vents for the rooms were filthy. Had to wait 2 hours to check in, due to bedding arrangement request that was priorly noted with the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top