$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brackniel
Business
California
Jan 12, 2011

January 2011 25th Anniversary

The Verdanza Hotel enjoyed a decent location with a 5 minute walk to a nice beach and 15-20 minutes from the better beach front hotels. However, after researching hotel ratings and reading reviews of the Verdanza, I was expecting something a bit nicer, and was quite disappointed with the worn condition of the room. I will not stay there again. But It seems you have a spend over $200 to get something decent in San Juan - except with a last minute booking. With our cruise plans I had to book well in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 1, 2010

Now called Verdanza

For $200 a night I used to get a lot for my money. Now you get a Comfort Inn or Red Roof Inn type hotel which are adequet but nothing special. I stayed here many years ago and they have redone the exterior and lobby but the rooms are unchanged. Stains on carpet but otherwise clean. I like the location here in Isla Verde as its close to the airport and about 2 short blocks to very nice beaches. Also close to supermarkets,resturants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita. Local style food, good and affordable. Short walk to very nice white sand beach. Sports bar right off beach with affordable beer and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
what is this?
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

San Juan Trip

Hotel is located in tourist friendly area, close to airport & Old San Juan; employees were all very professional and genuinely courteous; room was very small with a very musty (mildewly)odor to the room; [...] I won't stay at this hotel the next time I go to P.R.; also they never mentioned that you had to pay for parking; that would've been nice to know; I asked for a business center in the hotel and it doesn't appear that they had one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

instead of renting a car consider getting a private driver for the duration of your stay; the price is about the same; and you can spend your time taking in the sites while someone else drives

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Falu
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Oct 7, 2011

Hotel Review

The hotel was ok but for the money it was a little short coming. Rooms are small and air conditioner was vert loud. I would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Feb 15, 2010

Not Bad

Overall, I like the hotel. Rooms are small and bathroom area needs a little more tender loving. When we got to front door nobody said "good afternoon", "welcome" or even "hi" and there were 4 employees outside. Directions to our room were not clear, and although we were and looked lost, luggage on shoulder, none of the employees we found on our way offered to help. Need to have more activities for guests on special ocassions (we stayed Valentine's day), like live music at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan or Condado Area. (15-20 mins. drive)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Jun 17, 2009

It was OK

I loved the hotel pool and the appearance of the main lobby. The rooms was small and had the odor of mold. The staff was great. Too much noise in the early morning as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

We walked about a block to the beach, which was nice. It was easily accessible to different hotels and casinos. The phones didn't work and so we had to walk all the way to the front desk to inform them that we had a leaking faucet which they didn't fix. We had to go down there to ask for extra towels, toiletries, places to go at night, and for a late check in. Since this was our first trip to Puerto Rico it was memorable but not really for the good ones. My brother and my parents stayed at a different hotel and they had larger rooms, full breakfast, closer to the city life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like authentic foods then you need to eat at the hotel however if you're like my wife then you'll have to walk to find other places to eat around this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2010

Mixed impression

Room was just too small and cramped. I think the advertising overly inflates the property. My room was also next to the elevators and every time someone used the elevator, it sounded like a freight train coming through my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jul 31, 2010

verdanza hotel

[...].laundry service very expensive .we spent most our time outside the hotel driving and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

know the area and you can save a lot of money on food ,laundry and transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rollaway man
Business
miami fl
Feb 17, 2010

Beautifully Weird

When we booked our reservation we booked 2 King beds. At arrival we were told we would have a king bed and a rollaway bed. When I said that that was unacceptable...the guy said "IT'S BETTER THAN THE FLOOR.." Initially I thought I was hearing things since it was 3 in the morning when I checked in. After a little battle we ended up with 2 rooms both with king beds for the duration of the stay. SO THEY MADE UP FOR IT I GUESS. breakfast buffet-ripoff pool-great houskeeping-friendly front desk-?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away--alot of fast food if you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top