$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
315 reviews
Wonderful stay before and after cruises

We've stayed here about 5 years now and have recommended the Verdanza to friends. This year we hope... See full review

  • DiannandBill
  • Aug 21, 2015
great stay in San Juan

I arrived late and was happy to find my room in excellent condition so I could crash and feel... See full review

  • retiredCMH
  • Aug 13, 2015

Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.

Location

Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.

Highlights
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Policies

Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

★★★
$109
3.6 / 5 165 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.2 / 5 150 reviews
★★★
$116
4.1 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 241 reviews
★★★★
$120
4.0 / 5 528 reviews
★★★
$116
3.6 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 374 reviews

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Club Room with King Bed features arched ceilings and includes daily deluxe continental breakfast in the Club Floor Lounge. Perfect for executives and couples. Choice upon availability of city view or partial ocean view. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Burger Bar
The Burger Bar is our take on the classic burger joint. It features handcrafted gourmet burgers and artisanal beers in a laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Sports enthusiasts will love watching major sporting events live on flat screens monitors while sipping on their favorite brew or nibbling on great grub! Meanwhile, outdoors, a shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the Isla Verde nightlife. Daily happy hours | Game Day Specials Open daily from 4:00pm
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Divino Wine & Tapas
A stylish and cozy wine bar for connoisseurs and novices alike to explore the world of wines. It features over 40 wine labels available by the glass and a menu of tapas designed to perfectly complement the wines. Life is too short to drink bad wine! DiVino is available daily from 6:00pm.
Ristretto Cafe
And for gourmet Puerto Rican coffee prepared by professional baristas visit Ristretto Caf, where you will also find a selection organic teas, freshly-baked pastries, and deli sandwiches, among other treats. Did you know? In 2013, Ristrettos Mariarosa Gmez was named National Barista Champion of the Year, the first woman to win this recognition on the island. Ristretto is open daily from 6:30 am to 7:00pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Its not business as usual when you host your meetings at Verdanza Hotel. Verdanza offers more than 16,000 square feet of versatile indoor and outdoor meeting space with room for up to 400 guests. With options ranging from an executive boardroom to a rooftop terrace with panoramic views, Verdanza focuses on its strengths as an independent " greater flexibility, faster turn-around time and more direct contact with clients " to offer a new brand alternative.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yezy
Family
Salinas, PR
Mar 26, 2012

great family gateway

It was a pleasant stay. It has everything you need to have fun. Is good for family with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boobina
Family
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Great

Employees were always helpful and friendly. I will be taking my whole family by the end of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious choices.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ninin
Family
Roslindale, Boston, MA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

wonderful place

Excellent experience for me and my grandaughters. We have a great time. We want to to back next year. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr. Martinez
Family
Hartford, CT
May 26, 2012

Extreamly Impressive

The location, the super attentive, friendly staff made our stay there so much more pleasant than other hotels that we have stayed in the past. Its all about the staff. Can't thank them enough... If you stay in any other place, your missing out .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One can not be any closer. We rented a car and it sat in the parking lot...

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spiceislandbabe
Family
New York
Aug 19, 2012

My Children and I had a great time

You must go to their restaurant "Eighty Twenty," what delicious meal you'll find there. Their home-style hamburger was awesome, I eat every bite. Please do not forge to order their "baby back ribs," finger licking goodness. Located in he middle of everything, the Verdanza Hotel is a neat home, away from home. I love staying there. I will go back to the Verdanza any time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra P
Family
San Antonio, TX
Dec 19, 2012

Complimentary Tour Vouchers, Handicap Shower Problem

Upon arrival, we were given coconut and passion fruit ice treats and vouchers to chose our complimentary tours. A car rental desk and a Tour desk in the lobby along with 4 resturants in the hotel. We ate dinner in the hotel at Coladas (we learned later has change owners and name to Home something..). Later that evening, I got sick with fever and the runs. I cannot pin point what got me sick but that is all I ate that day. I missed the El Yunque tour the following morning because i could not get out of bed. Lucky I was able to use my mothers voucher to rescheduled it. Since mom required a handicap room we chose one by the pool..it was tiny. The hand held shower head did not work. We were transferred to a different handicap room the following morning that was larger and nicer but that hand held shower head also did not work. Needless to say, we got to know the maintenence guys. The Embassey Suites (a 1min walk away) has a nice casino & resturants. All in all, the Verdanza was affordable, clean, friendly staff and accomodated us. The complimentary tour of choice is an excellant savings of at least $80-$140 depending which you choose. I would definitely come back to Verdanza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Embassey Suites is at the corner of the parking lot ...we found 2 nice resturants there and the casino was a plus. Walgreens a short walk away. Isla Verde Beach is 1 block away. A short taxi drive to/from the airport, $15 because of the wheelchair.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I live 2 Travel
Family
Dayton Ohio
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect holiday escape from the snow

This hotel was perfect! The staff was wonderful -- professional, helpful and courteous. The location was great -- an easy two block walk to the beach, easy acccess to the highway and a one block walk to a main road with restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the variety of eateries in the hotel. I gave the "room comfort" a 4/5 only because the AC was a bit chilly for my family (even with changing the temperature settings). If I have the opportunity to return to San Juan I will definitely reserve a room at the Verdanza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family enjoyed the Italian restaurant "Al Dente" in Old San Juan. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful !

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bk diva
Family
Isla verde San Juan
Mar 19, 2013

Great getaway.

Great location n near a lot of hotels where u can party in them for free . Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Athens
Jun 12, 2008

Great Hotel Staff

The hotel was accessible and in a decent location, close to the airport. The hotel staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The room were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great dining option at the hotel and surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennis is close by and offers free dinner to kids per paying adult.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeepchick50
Family
detroit michigan
Jun 22, 2009

stay at holiday inn san juan

wonderful hotel. staff very helpful. great customer service. room ready on arival and clean. over al cleanliness A+. much better than best western airport and casino. arranges sailing and snorkle trip without problems. taxis always there within minutes of asking for one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

beach within 1 block. plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top