$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
335 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014

Catch the San Juan vibe at the Verdanza Hotel, the hotel of choice for leisure and San Juan business travelers who want a sense of belonging through distinctive local touches and a contemporary spirit. Newly redesigned, our Puerto Rico hotel boasts a fresh and casual urban-inspired atmosphere, with organic colors and simple lines.

The Verdanza Hotel offers 222 stylish guestrooms, including 60 Pool Club guestrooms fronting the pool area, and 22 guest suites, all with amenities including complimentary Internet access, and air conditioning. Guests to Verdanza Hotel San Juan may choose from three exciting on-site restaurants providing diverse culinary menus and world-class cuisine.

Guests to the Verdanza Hotel will appreciate modern and convenient amenities, including free WIFI in public areas, an expansive pool area with whirlpool, water Spray-Park, and poolside food and beverage service, a self service Business Center, and a state of the art Fitness Center featuring Star Trac and BodyCraft equipment and boasting panoramic views of the Isla Verde, Hato Rey and San Juan, Puerto Rico areas.

The Verdanza Hotel is committed to responsible business practices from serving only locally harvested premium coffee and using captured rainwater for the gardens, to preventive maintenance and replacement of light bulbs with LED's, showerheads and sink faucets, realizing a reduction of almost 50% in water and energy consumption.

At the Verdanza Hotels sundry and gift shop, enjoy the featured handcrafted work of some of Puerto Rico's local artisans.
A perfect choice for a San Juan business meeting, wedding or other special event, Verdanza Hotel offers full meeting and banquet facilities with 15,000 square feet of meeting space.

The Verdanza Hotel is just steps away from Alambique Beach, the lively beach that made Puerto Rico famous. In the evening, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of choices from live entertainment, dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants all nearby our Isla Verde, Puerto Rico hotel.

Richly designed with features to make you feel right at home in San Juan, Puerto Rico, each of our guestrooms is a peaceful oasis and perfect for a Puerto Rico vacation or business stay. Guests may choose from King or Double sized beds in Superior, Deluxe or Suite Ocean View or City View rooms, City View Pool Club rooms or Priority Club guestroom accommodations.

Convenient Verdanza Hotel accommodations in Puerto Rico include air conditioning, TV with premium cable programming, compact refrigerator and dual phone lines with voicemail. Guests will appreciate complimentary high-speed Internet access, CD player with alarm/radio, hair dryer, in-room iron and ironing board, in-room safe, and a comfortable work area with lighting. In addition, as part of our guestroom enhancement program, we are in the process of phasing in upgraded amenities, such as LCD television and iPod docking station.

Feel right at home with custom perks including our pillow menu, coffeemaker with premium Puerto Rican coffee, high-speed internet access, and two bottles of spring water upon arrival. We also offer cribs upon request, ADA accessible and pet-friendly guestroom lodging.

The Verdanza Hotel offers premium guest services, including pedi-taxi transfers to the beach, concierge, valet laundry, tour and travel service, business center, wireless Internet access in public areas, self and valet parking, room service, a sundry store, and ATM. There is a Dollar-Car-Rental branch with vehicles on property and video phone available for the hearing impaired. The Verdanza Hotel is a smoke-free property with designated outdoor smoking areas.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manny cabrera
sunrise Fl
May 12, 2014

Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt work and we have to get out of the car( in the rain) to go to the lobby. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rego Park NY
Jul 28, 2009

fantastic vacation getaway

The staff was very helpful.They gave me insight to planning my daily itinerary.I got to go to places and eat in restaurants frequented by locals.I would reccomend this place time and time again for myself and others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are nine different tour groups that do the biobay tour at night in Las Croabas in Fajardo.It is helpful but if you are in the area you do not really need a reservation.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Virginislander
Austin, Texas
Jul 30, 2010

Great Service!

We were on a family vacation from the Virgin Islands and decided to stop off in Puerto Rico for a couple days. The service was excellent! From the time I arrived from the airport in a taxi there was someone at the door to greet me and open the door. This first class service only continued during my stay. We arrived a couple hours before check in, but the clerk assured me that they would provide us with a room immediately if one was available. One was available and the bell man was gracious enough to carry my luggage to our room. Taxi service and island tour information was available for us if we wanted to go sight seeing. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. My only dissapointment is that our room was not equipped with a microwave, and traveling with small children this was important for reheating those left overs. It was not much of an issue for me as I am sure one would have been provided had I asked. The light switches also did not connect to the lamps in the room. Coming in at night meant walking in the dark to a lamp to turn on the light. I definitely would stay there again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the fast food restaurants are in walking distance and provide many choices.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelT
Miami, Florida
Aug 18, 2010

Unbeatable for great price loved it

Loved the hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. They have car rental and tourist packages all in the hotel so you can book everything right from the lobby.. Very clean, kid friend as the pool area has a small little waterplayground area. Restaurants inside the hotel were a plus as well. I would recommend it and i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Raises Restaurant the best Puerto Rican food ever!!! Delicious and lunch specials and great prices!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boonan
hamden, ct.
Mar 24, 2012

best value in isla verde!

our third vacation at the verdanza hotel. staff and owner made us feel extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local rest. including hotel are very good.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanfitz
dublin
Jan 11, 2013

well worth it

had a very stay would stay there again and wil b going back the hotel is very clean staft were very frendly and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

pre book a car if u want to hire a car it was $100 for one day when i went to dollor car rentls in the hotel lobby

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoryNVilmaNSonia
Arlington, Virginia
Sep 30, 2013

Fun Girls Trip

My girl friend and I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming. When we arrived into our room, we had a couple issues with the balcony door and the blow dryer. We immediately called for someone to come fix it and they came within 5 mins. They were very nice about it and fixed everything. The location was great because we had restaurants and fast food restaurants around the corner. The beach was right across the street which was perfect. Overall experience was excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juana Diaz, Puerto Rico
Jun 23, 2010

Excelente!

Amazing! I live at south side of Puerto Rico and I picked this hotel to spend few days free at north side of the island with my wife and two daughters, and my choice was perfect. The staff was very kind, the room was very clean, the rates was right for my pocket and you have three restaurant choices, muy ricos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
HAMDEN, CONN.
Mar 26, 2011

great vacation !!!!

SECOND TIME AT THE VERDANZA.STAFF AND LOCATION ARE THE BEST. REST. ARE VERY GOOD. 1 BLOCK TO THE BEACH, AND FINE LOCAL PLACES TO EAT. LOOKING FORWORD TO GOING BACK IN 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redliquido
New York, NY, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Relaxing Vacation!

it was relaxing from beginning to end. We arrived and they upgraded us. Greeted us with a passionfruit frozen treat. Gave us a king size overlooking the ocean. Beach was one block away. The hot tub was an ammenity to our every day treks that we took. It was just such an amazing hotel and the staff is just marvelous. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search