Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spiceislandbabe
New York
Aug 19, 2012

My Children and I had a great time

You must go to their restaurant "Eighty Twenty," what delicious meal you'll find there. Their home-style hamburger was awesome, I eat every bite. Please do not forge to order their "baby back ribs," finger licking goodness. Located in he middle of everything, the Verdanza Hotel is a neat home, away from home. I love staying there. I will go back to the Verdanza any time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasJimbo
Business
Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Serious management problems

No way to describe this as four star. There is an Embassy Suites 50 yards away that is far superior, but I don't think of that chain as four star. Main problem was wifi only existed within lobby despite claims to the contrary and existing routers, which couldn't be fixed in six days. Second, no real bar except at night. Third, rooms are seriously run down. Fourth, restaurants are inappropriate and on the whole poorly staffed. Fifth, no gift shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcpiranha
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 4, 2013

Great Getaway

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. It is not brand new, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. The Asian restaurant was excellent (and I am a very particular foodie). The treadmills in the fitness room were top notch. The maintenance was very well done (a children's birthday party by the pool left a mess, but it was quickly and quietly restored to lovely condition). We had previously stayed at La Concha in Condado and found the quieter, more personal service at Verdanza to be far more to our liking. We will definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

J.H. Yee's is excellent!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernesta
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2013

Needs renovation

The rooms were very small and definitely major repair. The location was very good and its only 4 minutes walk to the beach, there was a very good breakfast place right around the corned. The staff was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IreneFeb9to13
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 14, 2013

Pretty nice

I like the location. It's 5 minutes walk distance to Carolina Beach and is also pretty close to airport too. It's pretty comfortable although the bathroom is kind of small. All staffs are very nice except one lady for car rental is extremely slow. It took me hours to rent a car. (She is not at the desk and not answering the phone most of the time.) The staffs (a young gentle man and a lady) for arranging tour are very helpful and thoughtful. The front desk staffs are pretty nice too with flexibility of early check-in and late check-out, which made my tour much more comfortable. Like the view in the garden too. The swimming pool can be cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dee12495
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 29, 2013

Sons 18th bday

We had a blast in our stay there was perfect trip! Average hotel but exactly what we were looking for great location only blocks from a beautiful beach!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyChicago
Business
Chicago
Jan 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Great room, great service, nice pool, and great price during high season. Stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanfitz
Business
dublin
Jan 11, 2013

well worth it

had a very stay would stay there again and wil b going back the hotel is very clean staft were very frendly and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

pre book a car if u want to hire a car it was $100 for one day when i went to dollor car rentls in the hotel lobby

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StarCandle
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Very convenient location

That is the most remarkable feature about this hotel, just across the street from a beautiful beach and only five minutes away from the airport and the freeway. Beautiful views, friendly staff and very comfortable bed also add up, but the bathroom is very small and rather worn out and that is why my overall rating is not that high. However, we liked it enough to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GF Family
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 7, 2013

Verdanza

We enjoyed our stay at the Verdanza. The staff were very helpful and polite. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great for us - we could walk to the beach with our kids and also found a bus stop very close to the hotel to take to Old Town (although there is no apparent bus schedule we were lucky and didn’t have to wait too long for a bus). The grounds were beautifully kept and the palm trees with orchids growing on the trunks were lovely. The pool area was fantastic the only issue we had was the hot tub was too hot to enjoy sitting in it - we had to sit on the edge and just put our legs in. There were many restaurants near the hotel (as well as the ones available at the hotel) and a grocery store nearby. We happened to be at the hotel over New Year's and they had fantastic entertainment and a party in the lobby to ring in the New Year. We would definitely stay here again if we were ever lucky enough to make it back to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel W
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 7, 2013

Great place to stay

The staff were extremely helpful and nice. Our room included a mini-refrigerator, but we wished it had also had a microwave. The hotel restaurants were relatively decently priced and the food was fantastic. The hotel pool and hot tub were wonderful to have, even with the beach being only a few minute walk away. The location was conveniently located with several fast-food places and a Walgreen's within walking distance. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning in our room kept going out, but the staff did come to fix it after we alerted them to the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top