$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
339 reviews
good hotel

this was a family getaway, and we had a great time. See full review

  • Elit122
  • Nov 26, 2014
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damarys
Business
Vega Baja, PR
Jan 3, 2013

Great Getaway

Excellent place for the holidays. Close to the beach and good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I live 2 Travel
Business
Dayton Ohio
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect holiday escape from the snow

This hotel was perfect! The staff was wonderful -- professional, helpful and courteous. The location was great -- an easy two block walk to the beach, easy acccess to the highway and a one block walk to a main road with restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the variety of eateries in the hotel. I gave the "room comfort" a 4/5 only because the AC was a bit chilly for my family (even with changing the temperature settings). If I have the opportunity to return to San Juan I will definitely reserve a room at the Verdanza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family enjoyed the Italian restaurant "Al Dente" in Old San Juan. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashhegde
Business
Hackettstown, NJ
Dec 30, 2012

Good place

Pros: Very good hotel, Pool was very good, the Hot Pool was fantastic. Its in a good area. Close to a lot of restaurants & in one block walkable to the beach, staff were very helpful. Cons: Room is small, a bit pricier for the size, I suppose its for the area, room needs a bit improvements. no complimentary Breakfast. always short of Pool towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the restaurant, there is Subway, you will get a very good Breakfast instead of paying the $15 bucks in the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aidute
Business
antioch, il
Dec 30, 2012

It's just ok

it's just ok, nothing special. for the money i can find so much better. old, small rooms, not much at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
History buff wi
Business
Mazomanie, wisconsin
Dec 29, 2012

Perfect christmas vacation

The building was beautiful and one block off the beach.The restaurants in the hotel were all great and the staff at the hotel were some of the best around.We would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MochoElGrande
Business
Ponce, PR
Dec 28, 2012

Excellent for the money

Great for a budget getaway to Isla Verde. The Hotel is recently renovated but still you can see the old hotel in the building details, specially in the rooms. The Managers Cocktail was a very nice touch with complementary drinks and food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing to luxurious or nothing stunning about it, but for the money is a great place to stay, just a block from the beach and the other expensive hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleyophoto
Business
Charleston, Wv
Dec 26, 2012

Busy City

Hotel was everything as described but the area of San Juan is very busy and casino friendly. Would not reccomend for families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra P
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 19, 2012

Complimentary Tour Vouchers, Handicap Shower Problem

Upon arrival, we were given coconut and passion fruit ice treats and vouchers to chose our complimentary tours. A car rental desk and a Tour desk in the lobby along with 4 resturants in the hotel. We ate dinner in the hotel at Coladas (we learned later has change owners and name to Home something..). Later that evening, I got sick with fever and the runs. I cannot pin point what got me sick but that is all I ate that day. I missed the El Yunque tour the following morning because i could not get out of bed. Lucky I was able to use my mothers voucher to rescheduled it. Since mom required a handicap room we chose one by the pool..it was tiny. The hand held shower head did not work. We were transferred to a different handicap room the following morning that was larger and nicer but that hand held shower head also did not work. Needless to say, we got to know the maintenence guys. The Embassey Suites (a 1min walk away) has a nice casino & resturants. All in all, the Verdanza was affordable, clean, friendly staff and accomodated us. The complimentary tour of choice is an excellant savings of at least $80-$140 depending which you choose. I would definitely come back to Verdanza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Embassey Suites is at the corner of the parking lot ...we found 2 nice resturants there and the casino was a plus. Walgreens a short walk away. Isla Verde Beach is 1 block away. A short taxi drive to/from the airport, $15 because of the wheelchair.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve54
Business
New Jersey
Dec 8, 2012

Great Value for the money

This is our 5th time staying at this hotel because it offers a great value for the money. We stay here because it is convenient to the airport and is in a great location in Isla Verde although not right on the beach. Although the hallways could use some sprucing up, the rooms are very nice, the lobby is great and the grounds and pool are kept very well and is a great place to relax. The staff is very cordial and attentive to your inquiries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita is a great place to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. Offers local cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Padrino
Business
Seattle
Nov 15, 2012

Good pool and waterpark for kids.

The kids had a great time playing in the water park. The hotel was quite loud on Saturday night, and the noise appeared to be coming from a band on the second floor. As we were on the third, I would recommend a high floor in this hotel if noise is a concern. One block to beach. Don't go to Mi Casita restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dancing at El San Juan hotel on Saturday night is the best decision you can make.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top