$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boonan
Business
hamden, ct.
Mar 19, 2013

fourth time at the verdanza

it gets better each time. the beach is 1 block away. the pool area is great. hotel rest. are very good. a short walk to other rest. owner and staff always make you feel like this is your second home. looking forward to our fifth trip in 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bk diva
Business
Isla verde San Juan
Mar 19, 2013

Great getaway.

Great location n near a lot of hotels where u can party in them for free . Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
el coqui
Business
Yonkers, NY
Mar 14, 2013

nice walk to the beach but nothing special

Front desk staff was very helpful. We arrived early in the morning after the cruise and they arranged for our rooms to be ready for us within an hour. There was some confusion regarding our confirmation but it was cleared up quickly. Concierge was great- very helpful with sites, transportation and food. Location was just a short quarter mile walk to the beach. There were several food and entertainment options around including a casino. Nice pool which was shared with another hotel. Room very large and clean. Overall I think this is a nice place to stay. But in my opinion for the cost-unless you get a deal- I'm sure you can get a beach front hotel with views for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the public bus to Old San Juan during the day. Route T5. Only $0.75 each way. Very safe and you get to see the real city. Once in San Juan there is a free trolly operated by the city. We stayed on for 2 loops taking in all the sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Break in San Juan
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 9, 2013

Amazing, affordable Spring Break hotel

My friends and I planned to go to the Verdanza for Sprig Break without knowing exactly what to expect. I will say the rooms were a bit small and parts of the hotel could have been a bit cleaner, but overall I was amazed at the quality for the price we paid. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful; the location was PERFECT (a quick ride from the airport, two blocks from beautiful Isla Verde beach, walking distance from some of San Juan's best night life and restaurants, and a short cab ride to Condado and Viejo San Juan). The rooftop lounge area was perfect for evening drinks with friends, and the pool and hot tub were wonderful. When I return to San Juan, I will definitely staff at the verdanza again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoBella Loves PR
Business
New York
Mar 7, 2013

Great Stay

I was very impressed with the hotel, its staff and the restaurants. The front desk and room service were just wonderful. The Verdanza is minutes from the airport and a block away from one of the most beautiful beaches on Puerto Rico. The rooms located around the pool with balconys are great and quiet and the pool area is just so nicely appointed. Will stay there again very soon and recommend it highly to anyone looking to stay in the area. Thank you Verdanza for a terrific stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While the area has the usual suspects in terms of dining, everyone must partake in one breakfast, lunch or dinner at ESPANA, a terrific bakery that is worth the trip and is owned and operated by Spaniards who know how to deliver great food, including Spanish and local specialties. Don't forget the coffee, it is better than any starbucks on the planet and pair it with one of their pasteries and it is heaven on earth!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasJimbo
Business
Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Serious management problems

No way to describe this as four star. There is an Embassy Suites 50 yards away that is far superior, but I don't think of that chain as four star. Main problem was wifi only existed within lobby despite claims to the contrary and existing routers, which couldn't be fixed in six days. Second, no real bar except at night. Third, rooms are seriously run down. Fourth, restaurants are inappropriate and on the whole poorly staffed. Fifth, no gift shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcpiranha
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 4, 2013

Great Getaway

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. It is not brand new, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. The Asian restaurant was excellent (and I am a very particular foodie). The treadmills in the fitness room were top notch. The maintenance was very well done (a children's birthday party by the pool left a mess, but it was quickly and quietly restored to lovely condition). We had previously stayed at La Concha in Condado and found the quieter, more personal service at Verdanza to be far more to our liking. We will definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

J.H. Yee's is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ernesta
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2013

Needs renovation

The rooms were very small and definitely major repair. The location was very good and its only 4 minutes walk to the beach, there was a very good breakfast place right around the corned. The staff was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IreneFeb9to13
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 14, 2013

Pretty nice

I like the location. It's 5 minutes walk distance to Carolina Beach and is also pretty close to airport too. It's pretty comfortable although the bathroom is kind of small. All staffs are very nice except one lady for car rental is extremely slow. It took me hours to rent a car. (She is not at the desk and not answering the phone most of the time.) The staffs (a young gentle man and a lady) for arranging tour are very helpful and thoughtful. The front desk staffs are pretty nice too with flexibility of early check-in and late check-out, which made my tour much more comfortable. Like the view in the garden too. The swimming pool can be cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dee12495
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 29, 2013

Sons 18th bday

We had a blast in our stay there was perfect trip! Average hotel but exactly what we were looking for great location only blocks from a beautiful beach!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top