$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
335 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dee12495
Virginia Beach, VA
Jan 29, 2013

Sons 18th bday

We had a blast in our stay there was perfect trip! Average hotel but exactly what we were looking for great location only blocks from a beautiful beach!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanfitz
dublin
Jan 11, 2013

well worth it

had a very stay would stay there again and wil b going back the hotel is very clean staft were very frendly and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

pre book a car if u want to hire a car it was $100 for one day when i went to dollor car rentls in the hotel lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyChicago
Chicago
Jan 11, 2013

Great Hotel

Great room, great service, nice pool, and great price during high season. Stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StarCandle
San Rafael, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Very convenient location

That is the most remarkable feature about this hotel, just across the street from a beautiful beach and only five minutes away from the airport and the freeway. Beautiful views, friendly staff and very comfortable bed also add up, but the bathroom is very small and rather worn out and that is why my overall rating is not that high. However, we liked it enough to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GF Family
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 7, 2013

Verdanza

We enjoyed our stay at the Verdanza. The staff were very helpful and polite. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was great for us - we could walk to the beach with our kids and also found a bus stop very close to the hotel to take to Old Town (although there is no apparent bus schedule we were lucky and didn’t have to wait too long for a bus). The grounds were beautifully kept and the palm trees with orchids growing on the trunks were lovely. The pool area was fantastic the only issue we had was the hot tub was too hot to enjoy sitting in it - we had to sit on the edge and just put our legs in. There were many restaurants near the hotel (as well as the ones available at the hotel) and a grocery store nearby. We happened to be at the hotel over New Year's and they had fantastic entertainment and a party in the lobby to ring in the New Year. We would definitely stay here again if we were ever lucky enough to make it back to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel W
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 7, 2013

Great place to stay

The staff were extremely helpful and nice. Our room included a mini-refrigerator, but we wished it had also had a microwave. The hotel restaurants were relatively decently priced and the food was fantastic. The hotel pool and hot tub were wonderful to have, even with the beach being only a few minute walk away. The location was conveniently located with several fast-food places and a Walgreen's within walking distance. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning in our room kept going out, but the staff did come to fix it after we alerted them to the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damarys
Vega Baja, PR
Jan 3, 2013

Great Getaway

Excellent place for the holidays. Close to the beach and good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I live 2 Travel
Dayton Ohio
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect holiday escape from the snow

This hotel was perfect! The staff was wonderful -- professional, helpful and courteous. The location was great -- an easy two block walk to the beach, easy acccess to the highway and a one block walk to a main road with restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the variety of eateries in the hotel. I gave the "room comfort" a 4/5 only because the AC was a bit chilly for my family (even with changing the temperature settings). If I have the opportunity to return to San Juan I will definitely reserve a room at the Verdanza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family enjoyed the Italian restaurant "Al Dente" in Old San Juan. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashhegde
Hackettstown, NJ
Dec 30, 2012

Good place

Pros: Very good hotel, Pool was very good, the Hot Pool was fantastic. Its in a good area. Close to a lot of restaurants & in one block walkable to the beach, staff were very helpful. Cons: Room is small, a bit pricier for the size, I suppose its for the area, room needs a bit improvements. no complimentary Breakfast. always short of Pool towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the restaurant, there is Subway, you will get a very good Breakfast instead of paying the $15 bucks in the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aidute
antioch, il
Dec 30, 2012

It's just ok

it's just ok, nothing special. for the money i can find so much better. old, small rooms, not much at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search