$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nan frequent traveler
Business
Bronx, NY
May 22, 2013

Extended weekend getaway

Location is great, across the street from the beach. Lovely pool and water attraction for children. On-site parking not over priced. Friendly staff. Overall a very nice experience. I would definately stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdeso
Business
New jersey
May 21, 2013

Family friendly

I had a pretty good time at this hotel. Everyone that worked there was great. My room wasn't ready when I got there but I did get there 3 hrs before ck in & they quickly got me into another so I didn't have to wait. Also some how my room was charged a movie which I explained that on that day I wasn't even near the hotel because I was at a friend's wedding which was the truth & reason we visited PR so they credited me back with no complaints or blame. Again great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mini market is at the corner plaza that will save u money on food if u care to spend on other things

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sketne25
Business
Fairfax, VA
May 16, 2013

Some good, but didn't outweigh the bad

I really wanted to like this place, but I honestly can't say I would stay there again. Here's why: Carpet: In the first room we received, a king room overlooking the pool, I immediately noticed the smell of mildew. It was like a musty carpet that hadn't ever been dry. The carpet was actually squishy, and the smell was overwhelming and obnoxious. However, we had a balcony and a great view, so I tried to get over it. But... Bedbugs: After one night, I awoke with two very itchy welts on my leg. I've had experiences with bedbugs before, and I know exactly what the bites look and feel like. It was identical. However, trying to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and assuming I received the bites during the day before, we stayed put one more night. When I woke up the next morning, there were four new bites on both legs that I just couldn't ignore. I immediately had our room switched. Room switch/staff: When I told the front desk about my problem with the bugs, there was no apology. The worker simply said he would speak with his supervisor and arrange to have us moved to another room. When we came back that afternoon, they moved us to the tower, but all they had were double bed rooms. Great, so my husband and I could either bunk separately like sleep-away camp, or cram together in a double bed with me slathered in calamine and bug spray. It was not romantic, to put it lightly. Unfortunately, I don't know that any treatment was administered to our first room, so some other unsuspecting guest may have unknowingly joined the bedbug party after we left. Bathroom/Water pressure: It's nonexistent, so it'll take ten minutes just to wash your hair. The temperature is bipolar, so prepare to freeze and burn within the same minute while you shower. And there is no fan in the bathroom, which explains why the carpets are soggy (seriously, carpet in a beach-locale hotel? Why???). NOTHING dried. The upside: There were no bugs in our second room, which also had a small view of the ocean. The location is spot-on if you want to hit the beach early, like we did. Great restaurants within walking distance as well. You also have very easy access to the bus system, which is a great way to head into San Juan if you don't want to drive. If you don't want to actually spend any time in the hotel, including sleeping, you're good storing your luggage here. But just make sure it's up off the floor and beds so you don't take any bitey little friends home with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Metropol down along Isla Verde. It's beside the cock-fighting ring about 1/2 mile from the hotel. Everything is delicious, the portions are generous, and the cocktails are strong. The mofongo is to die for!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K. Mitch
Business
Miami,
May 7, 2013

Nice Stay

Placed us in a pool side villa which smelled really old. Switched to a tower room which was somewhat better. Very friendly staff. Located within walking distance to the beach. Several fast food places and restaurants nearby. Highway is also close by. Overall enjoyed our stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No way
Business
New York
May 5, 2013

Three rooms

When I arrived I got my room which was in the main building I had to change, it was mold in the room. My second room was pool side I check the room and both beds had what I think was ants. Went to the desk got my third room which was ok. Most rooms the closet doors were off track my phone wasn't working and the hotel always had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megs Monroe
Business
Bronx, NY
May 1, 2013

Amazing experience

I had the time time of my life. I am definitely going back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastey White Guy
Business
PA
Apr 24, 2013

Verdanza in April

Booked a room that ended up being a 3rd floor poolside view. If you are familiar with a New Jersey motel you will understand the type of room it was. Not four star to say the least. Stains on carpet, rust stains in the leaky toilet, very unremarkable room. went to ask for different room and was moved to a "Tower Room". 5th floor in the main building overlooking the pool. much nicer though the bathroom was tiny. Like step out of the shower and into the toilet tiny. But the room was a marked improvement over what we were first given. Staff is great, made our stay even better. Word to the wise, no hotel on the San Juan, Isla Verde is four star. Some however are better than others. Verdanza has five restaurants/places to eat in the lobby area. Pool area is nice but if you smoke you must go to the second floor of the poolside room area and sit at a table on a balcony to get your fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keah
Business
Baltimore MD
Apr 23, 2013

Couples Getaway

I took my time looking for a great hotel and came upon this one..I was struggling between this one and another ..and as u can c I chose Verdanza . 100% satisfaction. ...I got an early check in with no problem, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, atmosphere was nice...Diffently a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gazzulo Cafe-(spell check) Great food /affordable

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roamer2
Business
southeast PA
Apr 21, 2013

extremely unwelcoming

After considering the up and down reviews for this hotel, we chose to stay there because we just wanted a reasonably priced and clean place to stay. If the room showed a little wear, we didn't really mind - the high marks for service seemed more important. However, I have never had a worse customer experience with a restaurant or hotel than the incident that greeted us the night we arrived. The problem started out small, our room was not ready at check-in time. Not much of a problem, we were starving so we went to find someplace to eat. The front desk had taken our cell #s and said they would call when the room was ready. We went back after about an hour and the room still wasn't ready. Us: Any idea how long it'll be? Front desk: No. So we left our bags there and went to see what the neighborhood was like. Many other people were waiting with bags in the lobby and I thought they may be waiting for their rooms to be ready, too. Four hours after check-in time, we hadn't received a call. I was getting nervous that we wouldn't have a place to stay so I called. The room was ready, they had just not called either cell # we gave them, and neither of us had missed any calls. That was annoying, but not really worth complaining about - we were glad to wash up and get settled. After dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, I signed the total to our room. Then we walked around the hotel to see what was there, passing by the restaurant again twice. The third time we passed by on our way to the pool for a swim. The waitress ran after us out to the deck chairs, and said that there was no credit card on file with the front desk. Since we'd paid with a credit card, I said that they did have it and also that we'd be staying the week. Any other time I probably would have volunteered to go to the desk with her and straightening it out, but I was on vacation and figured they would figure it out without me. We got into the pool. A few minutes later, the manager of the restaurant comes out with someone who turns out to be the security manager. They call to us, over the heads of other swimming guests. Apparently, they can't figure it out without me. I go upstairs, dripping wet and well past annoyed to find that I can't get into the room, they have disabled the card key. How this is supposed to help the situation is beyond me. The night desk was very apologetic, they let me in the room and scanned my credit card to make the restaurant happy. Still, the next morning we sat down and explained what had happened to the manager on duty. He also said he was sorry to hear about this and that he would let the general manager know. We never heard from the general manager, which I guess means that they think that this is an appropriate was to treat those that dine and stay at their hotel. Clearly we were not trying to run out on our bill, and we deserved better treatment. We decided that it would be a waste of our vacation to try and secure a room somewhere else, and we did initially think that this was a crazy mistake and that they would make it up to us. We were wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cala44039
Business
Cleveland, ohio
Apr 21, 2013

Not bad for the right deal

First Impression was wonderful. The Staff was very nice And Helpful. The Room Left A Lot To Be Desired. We Were In What Appeared To Be An Older Section Of The Hotel By The Pool. Was Somewhat In DisrepAir With CracKs In Walls, Some Mold In Bathroom, And The Ac Thermostat Wasn't Working Right So It Would Stay On And Freeze Us At Night. Short Walk To Beach And Awesome Little Bar And Grill oOverlooking It. Pool And Hottub Were Awesome. Would Go Back But Would Request A Room In The Main Hotel Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Alambique Bar And Grill OverLooking Carolina Beach. Mofangos Were Excellent(Recommend The Seafood Version) As Were The Beef Empenadas. Pina Coladas Were the best.

Back to menu Return to top