$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastey White Guy
Couples
PA
Apr 24, 2013

Verdanza in April

Booked a room that ended up being a 3rd floor poolside view. If you are familiar with a New Jersey motel you will understand the type of room it was. Not four star to say the least. Stains on carpet, rust stains in the leaky toilet, very unremarkable room. went to ask for different room and was moved to a "Tower Room". 5th floor in the main building overlooking the pool. much nicer though the bathroom was tiny. Like step out of the shower and into the toilet tiny. But the room was a marked improvement over what we were first given. Staff is great, made our stay even better. Word to the wise, no hotel on the San Juan, Isla Verde is four star. Some however are better than others. Verdanza has five restaurants/places to eat in the lobby area. Pool area is nice but if you smoke you must go to the second floor of the poolside room area and sit at a table on a balcony to get your fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roamer2
Couples
southeast PA
Apr 21, 2013

extremely unwelcoming

After considering the up and down reviews for this hotel, we chose to stay there because we just wanted a reasonably priced and clean place to stay. If the room showed a little wear, we didn't really mind - the high marks for service seemed more important. However, I have never had a worse customer experience with a restaurant or hotel than the incident that greeted us the night we arrived. The problem started out small, our room was not ready at check-in time. Not much of a problem, we were starving so we went to find someplace to eat. The front desk had taken our cell #s and said they would call when the room was ready. We went back after about an hour and the room still wasn't ready. Us: Any idea how long it'll be? Front desk: No. So we left our bags there and went to see what the neighborhood was like. Many other people were waiting with bags in the lobby and I thought they may be waiting for their rooms to be ready, too. Four hours after check-in time, we hadn't received a call. I was getting nervous that we wouldn't have a place to stay so I called. The room was ready, they had just not called either cell # we gave them, and neither of us had missed any calls. That was annoying, but not really worth complaining about - we were glad to wash up and get settled. After dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, I signed the total to our room. Then we walked around the hotel to see what was there, passing by the restaurant again twice. The third time we passed by on our way to the pool for a swim. The waitress ran after us out to the deck chairs, and said that there was no credit card on file with the front desk. Since we'd paid with a credit card, I said that they did have it and also that we'd be staying the week. Any other time I probably would have volunteered to go to the desk with her and straightening it out, but I was on vacation and figured they would figure it out without me. We got into the pool. A few minutes later, the manager of the restaurant comes out with someone who turns out to be the security manager. They call to us, over the heads of other swimming guests. Apparently, they can't figure it out without me. I go upstairs, dripping wet and well past annoyed to find that I can't get into the room, they have disabled the card key. How this is supposed to help the situation is beyond me. The night desk was very apologetic, they let me in the room and scanned my credit card to make the restaurant happy. Still, the next morning we sat down and explained what had happened to the manager on duty. He also said he was sorry to hear about this and that he would let the general manager know. We never heard from the general manager, which I guess means that they think that this is an appropriate was to treat those that dine and stay at their hotel. Clearly we were not trying to run out on our bill, and we deserved better treatment. We decided that it would be a waste of our vacation to try and secure a room somewhere else, and we did initially think that this was a crazy mistake and that they would make it up to us. We were wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cala44039
Couples
Cleveland, ohio
Apr 21, 2013

Not bad for the right deal

First Impression was wonderful. The Staff was very nice And Helpful. The Room Left A Lot To Be Desired. We Were In What Appeared To Be An Older Section Of The Hotel By The Pool. Was Somewhat In DisrepAir With CracKs In Walls, Some Mold In Bathroom, And The Ac Thermostat Wasn't Working Right So It Would Stay On And Freeze Us At Night. Short Walk To Beach And Awesome Little Bar And Grill oOverlooking It. Pool And Hottub Were Awesome. Would Go Back But Would Request A Room In The Main Hotel Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Alambique Bar And Grill OverLooking Carolina Beach. Mofangos Were Excellent(Recommend The Seafood Version) As Were The Beef Empenadas. Pina Coladas Were the best.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDP 1
Couples
San Juan Puerto Rico
Apr 11, 2013

An excellent trip

Our recent 6 night/5 day stay (4/4-4/10) at the Verdanza hotel couldn't have been much better. Our rom was clean, comfortable and the entire hotel staff were the friendliest, most courteous and accommodating of any group we have ever encountered in all our travels.One minor complaint.....The hotel is advertised as being across the stree from the beach. Sorry, not true. It is a long two 1/2 blocks away. Other than that, we enjoyed our Puerto Rican vacation immensely and would stay at the Verdanza again. Terry & Cristina Peckham Denver, Colorado

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist10343
Couples
Chicago, IL
Apr 10, 2013

Perfect for what I was looking for

I was looking for a hotel that would be in a central location while being close to the beach. Being close to the airport was not a problem, the rooms were quiet and no planes were heard. The hotel offers 5 restaurants, the asian bistro was delicious. It offered free wifi and daily parking for 10 dollars. The staff spoke spanish and english fluently, offering help whenever they could. I would recommend this hotel - it's extremely comfortable and I had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Going east takes you directly to Old San Juan and a plethora of restaurants.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shatonya
Family
Morrisville, North Carolina
Apr 9, 2013

Great stay for the price!!

The Verdanza Hotel was a great deal for the price!! The staff was awesome and so attentive. I only had 1 problem with ants, but as soon as I called downstairs to tell them, they immediately changed my room!! I would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DiannandBill
Couples
Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

Nice and convenient

Lovely pool area, close to walk to the ocean and fast food rest. The Asian Bistrom (Yee's) inside the IVerdanza is wonderful. The staff is very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Yee's Asian Bistro is wonderful

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel from Moorhead MN
Couples
Moorhead, MN
Apr 4, 2013

Perfect Location

I thought overall this hotel was great! The rooms were a little outdated, but I enjoyed the fact there was a fridge in the room. It was wonderful how close this hotel was to the beach. The hotel staff were also wonderfully helpful! Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarmenLina1
Family
Las Vegas, NV.
Apr 1, 2013

Family Vacation

We had a nice vacation. The Verdanza Hotel was clean, nice location, room was standard size and confortable. Close to airport. Close to public transportation (Bus Stop). It helped, because taxis rates are high in San Juan. We took the public bus, which it was confortable, air conditioned and only .75 cents per ride. Hotel is located only a short walk to nice beach area and other major hotels and restaurants. Helpful and nice personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie work traveler
Friends
New York
Mar 29, 2013

Awesome value

Hotel was in a great location close to beach and local restaurants. Staff was outstanding and accommodating! Hotel is a $12 and 5 minute cab ride from the airport. I would absolutely go back to Puerto Rico and no doubt I would stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top