$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
486 reviews
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise... See full review

  • DiannandBill
  • Apr 5, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (486)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keey
New York
Mar 21, 2013

Fantastic!

Every staff member was friendly, which made me feel welcomed. The hotel was close to a strip where you could shop for a bit of souvenirs. Also, the beach was literally a 5 minute walk away. The restaurants within the hotel were superb - talk about fine dining. I really enjoyed myself, and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sketne25
Fairfax, VA
May 16, 2013

Some good, but didn't outweigh the bad

I really wanted to like this place, but I honestly can't say I would stay there again. Here's why: Carpet: In the first room we received, a king room overlooking the pool, I immediately noticed the smell of mildew. It was like a musty carpet that hadn't ever been dry. The carpet was actually squishy, and the smell was overwhelming and obnoxious. However, we had a balcony and a great view, so I tried to get over it. But... Bedbugs: After one night, I awoke with two very itchy welts on my leg. I've had experiences with bedbugs before, and I know exactly what the bites look and feel like. It was identical. However, trying to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and assuming I received the bites during the day before, we stayed put one more night. When I woke up the next morning, there were four new bites on both legs that I just couldn't ignore. I immediately had our room switched. Room switch/staff: When I told the front desk about my problem with the bugs, there was no apology. The worker simply said he would speak with his supervisor and arrange to have us moved to another room. When we came back that afternoon, they moved us to the tower, but all they had were double bed rooms. Great, so my husband and I could either bunk separately like sleep-away camp, or cram together in a double bed with me slathered in calamine and bug spray. It was not romantic, to put it lightly. Unfortunately, I don't know that any treatment was administered to our first room, so some other unsuspecting guest may have unknowingly joined the bedbug party after we left. Bathroom/Water pressure: It's nonexistent, so it'll take ten minutes just to wash your hair. The temperature is bipolar, so prepare to freeze and burn within the same minute while you shower. And there is no fan in the bathroom, which explains why the carpets are soggy (seriously, carpet in a beach-locale hotel? Why???). NOTHING dried. The upside: There were no bugs in our second room, which also had a small view of the ocean. The location is spot-on if you want to hit the beach early, like we did. Great restaurants within walking distance as well. You also have very easy access to the bus system, which is a great way to head into San Juan if you don't want to drive. If you don't want to actually spend any time in the hotel, including sleeping, you're good storing your luggage here. But just make sure it's up off the floor and beds so you don't take any bitey little friends home with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Metropol down along Isla Verde. It's beside the cock-fighting ring about 1/2 mile from the hotel. Everything is delicious, the portions are generous, and the cocktails are strong. The mofongo is to die for!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K. Mitch
Miami,
May 7, 2013

Nice Stay

Placed us in a pool side villa which smelled really old. Switched to a tower room which was somewhat better. Very friendly staff. Located within walking distance to the beach. Several fast food places and restaurants nearby. Highway is also close by. Overall enjoyed our stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No way
New York
May 5, 2013

Three rooms

When I arrived I got my room which was in the main building I had to change, it was mold in the room. My second room was pool side I check the room and both beds had what I think was ants. Went to the desk got my third room which was ok. Most rooms the closet doors were off track my phone wasn't working and the hotel always had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megs Monroe
Bronx, NY
May 1, 2013

Amazing experience

I had the time time of my life. I am definitely going back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastey White Guy
PA
Apr 24, 2013

Verdanza in April

Booked a room that ended up being a 3rd floor poolside view. If you are familiar with a New Jersey motel you will understand the type of room it was. Not four star to say the least. Stains on carpet, rust stains in the leaky toilet, very unremarkable room. went to ask for different room and was moved to a "Tower Room". 5th floor in the main building overlooking the pool. much nicer though the bathroom was tiny. Like step out of the shower and into the toilet tiny. But the room was a marked improvement over what we were first given. Staff is great, made our stay even better. Word to the wise, no hotel on the San Juan, Isla Verde is four star. Some however are better than others. Verdanza has five restaurants/places to eat in the lobby area. Pool area is nice but if you smoke you must go to the second floor of the poolside room area and sit at a table on a balcony to get your fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keah
Baltimore MD
Apr 23, 2013

Couples Getaway

I took my time looking for a great hotel and came upon this one..I was struggling between this one and another ..and as u can c I chose Verdanza . 100% satisfaction. ...I got an early check in with no problem, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, atmosphere was nice...Diffently a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gazzulo Cafe-(spell check) Great food /affordable

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roamer2
southeast PA
Apr 21, 2013

extremely unwelcoming

After considering the up and down reviews for this hotel, we chose to stay there because we just wanted a reasonably priced and clean place to stay. If the room showed a little wear, we didn't really mind - the high marks for service seemed more important. However, I have never had a worse customer experience with a restaurant or hotel than the incident that greeted us the night we arrived. The problem started out small, our room was not ready at check-in time. Not much of a problem, we were starving so we went to find someplace to eat. The front desk had taken our cell #s and said they would call when the room was ready. We went back after about an hour and the room still wasn't ready. Us: Any idea how long it'll be? Front desk: No. So we left our bags there and went to see what the neighborhood was like. Many other people were waiting with bags in the lobby and I thought they may be waiting for their rooms to be ready, too. Four hours after check-in time, we hadn't received a call. I was getting nervous that we wouldn't have a place to stay so I called. The room was ready, they had just not called either cell # we gave them, and neither of us had missed any calls. That was annoying, but not really worth complaining about - we were glad to wash up and get settled. After dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, I signed the total to our room. Then we walked around the hotel to see what was there, passing by the restaurant again twice. The third time we passed by on our way to the pool for a swim. The waitress ran after us out to the deck chairs, and said that there was no credit card on file with the front desk. Since we'd paid with a credit card, I said that they did have it and also that we'd be staying the week. Any other time I probably would have volunteered to go to the desk with her and straightening it out, but I was on vacation and figured they would figure it out without me. We got into the pool. A few minutes later, the manager of the restaurant comes out with someone who turns out to be the security manager. They call to us, over the heads of other swimming guests. Apparently, they can't figure it out without me. I go upstairs, dripping wet and well past annoyed to find that I can't get into the room, they have disabled the card key. How this is supposed to help the situation is beyond me. The night desk was very apologetic, they let me in the room and scanned my credit card to make the restaurant happy. Still, the next morning we sat down and explained what had happened to the manager on duty. He also said he was sorry to hear about this and that he would let the general manager know. We never heard from the general manager, which I guess means that they think that this is an appropriate was to treat those that dine and stay at their hotel. Clearly we were not trying to run out on our bill, and we deserved better treatment. We decided that it would be a waste of our vacation to try and secure a room somewhere else, and we did initially think that this was a crazy mistake and that they would make it up to us. We were wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cala44039
Cleveland, ohio
Apr 21, 2013

Not bad for the right deal

First Impression was wonderful. The Staff was very nice And Helpful. The Room Left A Lot To Be Desired. We Were In What Appeared To Be An Older Section Of The Hotel By The Pool. Was Somewhat In DisrepAir With CracKs In Walls, Some Mold In Bathroom, And The Ac Thermostat Wasn't Working Right So It Would Stay On And Freeze Us At Night. Short Walk To Beach And Awesome Little Bar And Grill oOverlooking It. Pool And Hottub Were Awesome. Would Go Back But Would Request A Room In The Main Hotel Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Alambique Bar And Grill OverLooking Carolina Beach. Mofangos Were Excellent(Recommend The Seafood Version) As Were The Beef Empenadas. Pina Coladas Were the best.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDP 1
San Juan Puerto Rico
Apr 11, 2013

An excellent trip

Our recent 6 night/5 day stay (4/4-4/10) at the Verdanza hotel couldn't have been much better. Our rom was clean, comfortable and the entire hotel staff were the friendliest, most courteous and accommodating of any group we have ever encountered in all our travels.One minor complaint.....The hotel is advertised as being across the stree from the beach. Sorry, not true. It is a long two 1/2 blocks away. Other than that, we enjoyed our Puerto Rican vacation immensely and would stay at the Verdanza again. Terry & Cristina Peckham Denver, Colorado

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist10343
Chicago, IL
Apr 10, 2013

Perfect for what I was looking for

I was looking for a hotel that would be in a central location while being close to the beach. Being close to the airport was not a problem, the rooms were quiet and no planes were heard. The hotel offers 5 restaurants, the asian bistro was delicious. It offered free wifi and daily parking for 10 dollars. The staff spoke spanish and english fluently, offering help whenever they could. I would recommend this hotel - it's extremely comfortable and I had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Going east takes you directly to Old San Juan and a plethora of restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top