$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2014 Check-out: May 23, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
324 reviews
Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise... See full review

  • DiannandBill
  • Apr 5, 2014
Great experience, will come back!

Wonderful experience. Friendly staff, clean rooms, yummy food from asian bistro, great view from... See full review

  • snf getaway
  • Mar 15, 2014
San Juan hotel in Isla Verde with on-site gardens, water spray park
The bright and welcoming Verdanza Hotel has a cheerful yellow façade and turquoise awnings and umbrellas. Its open, airy lobby is awash in botanical touches -- with warm green, brown and orange walls, rugs and upholstery, and tasteful wood accents. Lively plants and simple furniture mark relaxing lounge areas. The Verdanza's gorgeous gardens, with palms and orchids, encourage wandering on the property. The Verdanza Hotel is close to both the beach and energetic Isla Verde district.
Highlights
  • The golden sands of Alambique Beach just footsteps away
  • Pool and small water spray park for kids
  • Free bike taxi to the beach
  • "Pack & Play" to-go coolers with drinks and snacks
  • Eco-credentials including low-flow showerheads and rainwater irrigation
Rooms

Rooms at Verdanza Hotel have full or partial views of the spacious pool area, back gardens or the ocean. The 222 rooms feature wood and wrought iron accents and simple, calming colors. Every room has complimentary Internet access and 100 percent eco-friendly bath products.

Dining

There are three diverse restaurants on site, including the chic Eighty20, a Caribbean-inspired bistro with dishes such as Seven Seas ravioli. The music-themed tavern Colada's serves Puerto Rican staples such as mofongo. The dish comes stuffed with fried pork, chicken breast, skirt steak or seafood). J.H. Yee's serves up eclectic Asian cuisine.

 

Recreation

The rooftop fitness center is free for guests. Next door to the hotel, a private gate provides access to the Isla Verde Urban Garden, which has a mile-long jogging trail. The spray park is adjacent to the main pool area and perfect for young children. The park has umbrellas showering water, high buckets that spill water, and other features. Massages are available under the gazebo poolside (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Las Américas Shopping Mall (5 mi/8 km)
  • Roberto Clemente Coliseum (5 mi/8 km)
  • Hiram Bithorn Stadium (5 mi/8 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center
  • 15,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 8 meeting rooms with audio-visual equipment
  • High-speed Internet access in all meeting room
  • Full catering service

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (324)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
324 out of 324
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
History buff wi
Mazomanie, wisconsin
Dec 29, 2012

Perfect christmas vacation

The building was beautiful and one block off the beach.The restaurants in the hotel were all great and the staff at the hotel were some of the best around.We would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
Yoli-Ann
Newark, NJ
May 20, 2007

great location and price

My first time visiting san juan as a tourist (usually i stay with family in the mountains lol) and this hotel was in the perfect location, 1 1/2 block from the beach and bigger hotels with casinos and clubs so why spend more when you can just walk on over and reap the benefits? my point exactly. plus the hotel was way nicer than i expected, theres a pool, jacuzzi, mini fitness center and the beds were soo comfortable tho we didnt sleep much, the water temperature in the shower was great and the bathroom was very spacious. 10 min $10 cab ride to and from airport, 20 min and $20 cab ride to old san juan. Oh yeah and anyone reading this must eat at dragonfly, the food was the best i tasted in my life, seriously, order the lomein with chicken chunks, and some kinda steak peices with these really thin fries, sounds bad but it was oh so good and not heavy at all!!! Also take the tour from the hotel to the tropical rainforest its only $48. hope this was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
Virginislander
Austin, Texas
Jul 30, 2010

Great Service!

We were on a family vacation from the Virgin Islands and decided to stop off in Puerto Rico for a couple days. The service was excellent! From the time I arrived from the airport in a taxi there was someone at the door to greet me and open the door. This first class service only continued during my stay. We arrived a couple hours before check in, but the clerk assured me that they would provide us with a room immediately if one was available. One was available and the bell man was gracious enough to carry my luggage to our room. Taxi service and island tour information was available for us if we wanted to go sight seeing. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. My only dissapointment is that our room was not equipped with a microwave, and traveling with small children this was important for reheating those left overs. It was not much of an issue for me as I am sure one would have been provided had I asked. The light switches also did not connect to the lamps in the room. Coming in at night meant walking in the dark to a lamp to turn on the light. I definitely would stay there again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the fast food restaurants are in walking distance and provide many choices.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
TravelT
Miami, Florida
Aug 18, 2010

Unbeatable for great price loved it

Loved the hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. They have car rental and tourist packages all in the hotel so you can book everything right from the lobby.. Very clean, kid friend as the pool area has a small little waterplayground area. Restaurants inside the hotel were a plus as well. I would recommend it and i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Raises Restaurant the best Puerto Rican food ever!!! Delicious and lunch specials and great prices!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
boonan
hamden, ct.
Mar 24, 2012

best value in isla verde!

our third vacation at the verdanza hotel. staff and owner made us feel extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local rest. including hotel are very good.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
alanfitz
dublin
Jan 11, 2013

well worth it

had a very stay would stay there again and wil b going back the hotel is very clean staft were very frendly and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

pre book a car if u want to hire a car it was $100 for one day when i went to dollor car rentls in the hotel lobby

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Extremely Pleaseant Experience

The hotel is beautiful and is centrally located in Isla Verde, with quick access to San Juan and other areas. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, and the rooms are immaculate. I will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Mi Casita Restaurant one block away for authentic and delicious Puerto Rican food.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
SoryNVilmaNSonia
Arlington, Virginia
Sep 30, 2013

Fun Girls Trip

My girl friend and I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming. When we arrived into our room, we had a couple issues with the balcony door and the blow dryer. We immediately called for someone to come fix it and they came within 5 mins. They were very nice about it and fixed everything. The location was great because we had restaurants and fast food restaurants around the corner. The beach was right across the street which was perfect. Overall experience was excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
Dan Relax
San Juan, PR
May 30, 2011

The giod, the great, and the excellent

All we were looking for was for some relaxation time, this hotel offers that and much more. Great and confort rooms, always clean, vgreat food options> we couldn't ask for more. The only thing we did not like was CHECKING OUT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel offers different restaurants for different tastes> but, if you are not looking for dinning at the hotel, there are A LOT of options walking distances!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
VALENTINO
KISSIMMEE,FL
Aug 17, 2011

OUTSTANDING HOTEL

WE MADE A PERFECT CHOICE FOR OUR LEISURE & BUSINESS TRIP WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL/RESTAURANTS(BURGER KING/PONDEROSA) ARE ALSO CLOSE BY/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CASINO IS NEXT TO THE HOTEL(ON YOUR RIGHT).ALSO,WHEN RENTING A CAR, CHARLIE CAR RENTAL(3 BLOCKS ON YOUR LEFT) IS THE CHEAPEST ONE AND AIRPORT SHUTTLE IS INCLUDED.NEW HIGHWAY TOLL SYSTEM IMPLEMENTED...NO MORE COINS ACCEPTED IN TOLLS/NEED TO BUY TOLL CARDS($20.00) OR HAVE DOLLAR BILLS ON HAND/MUST ASK YOUR RENTAL CAR COMPANY FOR FURTHER INFORMATION/EVEN ISLANDERS ARE GETTING FRUSTATED BY THIS NEW CHANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
Karen/Terrance
Washington, DC
Nov 26, 2010

Great location and customer service

The Verdanza Hotel was convenient to shops, casinos and Isla Verde Blvd.; all within 5 minutes walking distance. Amenities were great especially the hot tub. I really liked that although close to everything it was off the main thoroughfare. I would definitely visit and stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top