$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bklyn Girl
Family
Bklyn NY
Jul 12, 2014

Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel was perfectly located, food & beach all within a one block radius. Perfect! The room was clean and the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Isla Verde is a good place to stay with kids as there is a wide variety of places to eat. There's "known" fast food places as well as local food and chain restaurant favorites such as Chili's & Outback

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meeche
Family
New York City
Jul 12, 2014

Great family trip !!

I stay at the Verdanza every year with my family very nice hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly .. Location is great !! An Overall great experience can't wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La mayorca in old San Juan

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island wave
Single
South Florida
Jun 12, 2014

Verdanza stay

I gave this hotel four stars because of its beauty, varied restaurants within the hotel, close proximity to the airport and the amenities. Did not feel that special something/welcome from the staff at the front desk. The room's rug needed to be replaced because it was stained and the base and corners of walls were maybe damaged by water but was definitely in need of repair. The room was freezing even though I turned off the AC, didn't think that was possible since I was in the Caribbean. If provided a better room and staff that realizes the importance of hospitality to every customer, I would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 10 minutes drive to the airport and a taxi is always readily available across the street. (Always have small bills in case the driver claims he doesn't have change to provide you).

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B4 U Book
Friends
Orlando, Fl
Jun 7, 2014

Should be considered a upscale Motel not a "Hotel"

The "Hotel" was ok, nothing special. The rooms set-up looks a bit like a motel but the rooms are a better looking. Pool is very nice including the kids pool. The sports restaurant is very nice and the guys are very nice. The only problem I would say I had was the parking which I can't understand. Hotel guest as well as guest who dine pay $10 plus per day cash but if you walk in from outside to dine or the private parties they waive the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sisternqueens
Couples
CT
May 18, 2014

Beautiful Hotel and Lobby on the Outside!

This hotel was beautiful on the outside. Updated colorful lobby. Restaurants were nice, butbof course, expensive. Eighty 20 bistro was my favorite. Their breakfast was good. We stayed in the poolside room and there was construction going on right outside our entrance door which didn't make for a good impression. The balcony and pool side view was excellent so I guess it made it for the outside entrance being more like a motel, (on the outside). The room was pretty average and make sure you keep track of your pool towels or cards. If either is not returned, the hotel will charge $25 a piece. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming and spoke English..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The tours offered at the hotel are very expensive. We used an independent tour company, yatumba.com that was much more inexpensive and a much greater value.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manny cabrera
Couples
sunrise Fl
May 12, 2014

Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt work and we have to get out of the car( in the rain) to go to the lobby. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loveeeeee PR
Family
Charlotte, NC
Apr 19, 2014

Enjoyed my stay

The staff was very helpful and nice! the room was clean and comfortable. the only think i didn't like was that there wasn't a microwave in the room or downstairs. we had left over food from the restaurants that we couldn't heat up. other than that, it was a pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJRL
Couples
New York, NY
Apr 18, 2014

Good Value, Good Location

Overall good experience. Older rooms in the old hotel building need updating (to put it kindly), but tower rooms are clean, new, and comfortable. Staff is excellent. Helpful, friendly, accommodating. We had a problem at check-in, but staff were helpful, and all was resolved. We were also comped breakfast at the buffet. Nice touch. Close to Old San Juan (we rented a car - 8 minute drive), 2 blocks from the beach, and plenty of necessities nearby (cheap food on the go, gas stations, etc.). Overall a good, clean, pleasant place to stay if you don't mind traveling a few minutes back and forth between your hotel and Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Early 30s Couple from NYC
Couples
New York, NY
Apr 7, 2014

An Affordable, Well-Located Hotel, but Not Four Stars

The Verdanza Hotel is an affordable hotel with a bit of external charm, but by no means a four-star hotel. Located a 5 minute walk from Carolina beach and a 5 minute drive from the airport, the hotel is certainly convenient. But, put simply, it's not that nice. The rooms are fairly small and the furniture is dated--what's worse, the room had not been cleaned when we checked in (the toilet bowl was...um...full when we arrived). We were told we had an "Executive Club" room with an ocean view; the room lacked a desk for any executive to work in and the room faced the lagoon and the airport, not the beach. The continental breakfast is perfunctory, as is the gym. There are a number of restaurant options, which looked ok, but we didn't dine there so cannot speak first-hand. I wouldn't say my fiancee and I regret staying at the Verdanza; the rate couldn't be beat and, if you plan to stay in the Isla Verde area, the location is ideal as a jumping off point. But temper your expectations accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DiannandBill
Couples
Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise ship port. It only takes 5 mins. to walk to a wonderful ocean beach. There are 3 restaurants on site that are great. The staff is wonderful also, they are friendly and very accommodating . We've stay at the Verdanza 7 years now and will go back whenever visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is wonderful. We also enjoy eating outside at the 80-20.

Back to menu Return to top