$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
486 reviews
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise... See full review

  • DiannandBill
  • Apr 5, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (486)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Style 155
Queens, New York
Jun 22, 2013

Week stay June 15- 21

On checking in you recieve a welcome sample sizes icee/shaved ice ours was coconut and a mango . At 10 ish we where able to check in early at no fee but was given a pool side room on the 3rd floor (no elevator on this side ) ok we are young , room was big and clean with mini fridge and coffee maker but not one I would really use. Only hassle was our shower knob didnt fell off alot and had to figure out a shower every time but we didn't care . Everyone was very helpful and friendly didnt really eat at hotel except bistro which was yum and the asain one boo don't go. We used the tour guide table to set up trips easy and trust worthy . Great trip over all and great stay only once but I believe the guy was new we ordered a butt load of food 1 he before closing the kitchen and he got lost ? We didn't get charged but still could of called waited 2 hours had to order out . But newbie he struggled with our order so is life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus to old san juan 75cent!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irene
VA
Jun 20, 2013

Great stay!

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Verdanza Hotel. We love the friendly service, especially the tour desk lady who was very helpful during our whole stay. The restaurants located in the hotel are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nira
Princeton, NJ
Jun 17, 2013

Good choice

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Our rooms were clean and spacious enough. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The girl at the Car Rental desk was very knowledgeable and helpful for both daytime and night time activities!! Convenient to public transport, the beach, and Brava (for partying).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly L
Plano, TX
Jun 11, 2013

In a good Spot

This hotel was in a great location for us. It is surrounded by many restaurants and fast food places, markets and grocery stores, souvenir shops and casinos in other hotels, and most importantly the beach. Just two blocks from it. We kept our car in the hotel lot which was $10 a day, but by far the best deal for parking since there aren't too many close by the beach, every parking lot charges a fee by the hour. This hotel is pet friendly as well (our room was located nearby so we always saw people playing with their pets in the designated area). The bed was most comfortable!! I usually have trouble sleeping on different beds, but not this king size beauty! Staff is friendly and fluent in English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The rooms come with a mini refrigerator in case groceries are bought.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brooklyn's Super Woman
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 4, 2013

Couples getaway

The stay at this hotel was ok. My only complaint was the room smelled of mildew & the elevator also smelled of mildew. Great location, staff are very helpful & knowledgeable about activities & the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't spend money on the tours/excursions. These activities can be easily reached on your own. There's a 24 hour Walgreens & supermarket a block away.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nira
Princeton, NJ
Jun 3, 2013

Neat, Clean, and good location

The hotel is an above average place to stay. Rooms were clean and spacious enough. Bathroom shower could use a bit more pressure and would help if there was a vent in the bathroom. Location of this hotel is really nice. If you're not picky about needing a hotel literally at the beach, this is a great option. The beach is really a street and half away and you don't get unnecessary resort fees. Management is very nice!! Both the receptionist and the lady at the Dollar Rent A car were very helpful and informative! Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRWizzy
Reading, PA
May 24, 2013

Good but....

The Hotel was great. Very friendly staff, very clean and quiet. The room was great with a great view. Everything was just great. The only thing that bothered me was that, at the hotel, you have to pay for parking daily. I think that if you have a room at Verdanza hotel, you should get 1 parking spot with the room. If they can't make that happen, at least give the person staying in a room a Special Rate instead of the Regular Rate for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to save money, I wouldn't eat or shop around the hotels, where most tourists usually are, because the prices are ridiculous. I went to a little town in PR to buy souvenirs and a shot glass that costed $1.99, costed $4.99 around the hotels.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel33
CT
May 24, 2013

Great Hotel!!

Staff was Great! Hotel very nice and clean, conventient to everything and easy access to the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nan frequent traveler
Bronx, NY
May 22, 2013

Extended weekend getaway

Location is great, across the street from the beach. Lovely pool and water attraction for children. On-site parking not over priced. Friendly staff. Overall a very nice experience. I would definately stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdeso
New jersey
May 21, 2013

Family friendly

I had a pretty good time at this hotel. Everyone that worked there was great. My room wasn't ready when I got there but I did get there 3 hrs before ck in & they quickly got me into another so I didn't have to wait. Also some how my room was charged a movie which I explained that on that day I wasn't even near the hotel because I was at a friend's wedding which was the truth & reason we visited PR so they credited me back with no complaints or blame. Again great service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mini market is at the corner plaza that will save u money on food if u care to spend on other things

Back to menu Return to top