$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanfitz
dublin
Jan 11, 2013

well worth it

had a very stay would stay there again and wil b going back the hotel is very clean staft were very frendly and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

pre book a car if u want to hire a car it was $100 for one day when i went to dollor car rentls in the hotel lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island wave
Business
South Florida
Jun 12, 2014

Verdanza stay

I gave this hotel four stars because of its beauty, varied restaurants within the hotel, close proximity to the airport and the amenities. Did not feel that special something/welcome from the staff at the front desk. The room's rug needed to be replaced because it was stained and the base and corners of walls were maybe damaged by water but was definitely in need of repair. The room was freezing even though I turned off the AC, didn't think that was possible since I was in the Caribbean. If provided a better room and staff that realizes the importance of hospitality to every customer, I would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than 10 minutes drive to the airport and a taxi is always readily available across the street. (Always have small bills in case the driver claims he doesn't have change to provide you).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B4 U Book
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jun 7, 2014

Should be considered a upscale Motel not a "Hotel"

The "Hotel" was ok, nothing special. The rooms set-up looks a bit like a motel but the rooms are a better looking. Pool is very nice including the kids pool. The sports restaurant is very nice and the guys are very nice. The only problem I would say I had was the parking which I can't understand. Hotel guest as well as guest who dine pay $10 plus per day cash but if you walk in from outside to dine or the private parties they waive the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sisternqueens
Business
CT
May 18, 2014

Beautiful Hotel and Lobby on the Outside!

This hotel was beautiful on the outside. Updated colorful lobby. Restaurants were nice, butbof course, expensive. Eighty 20 bistro was my favorite. Their breakfast was good. We stayed in the poolside room and there was construction going on right outside our entrance door which didn't make for a good impression. The balcony and pool side view was excellent so I guess it made it for the outside entrance being more like a motel, (on the outside). The room was pretty average and make sure you keep track of your pool towels or cards. If either is not returned, the hotel will charge $25 a piece. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming and spoke English..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The tours offered at the hotel are very expensive. We used an independent tour company, yatumba.com that was much more inexpensive and a much greater value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manny cabrera
Business
sunrise Fl
May 12, 2014

Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt work and we have to get out of the car( in the rain) to go to the lobby. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loveeeeee PR
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 19, 2014

Enjoyed my stay

The staff was very helpful and nice! the room was clean and comfortable. the only think i didn't like was that there wasn't a microwave in the room or downstairs. we had left over food from the restaurants that we couldn't heat up. other than that, it was a pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Emma
Business
New Jersey
Apr 19, 2014

Great hotel, great location

Very comfortable hotel that is family friendly & a short 1 and a half blocks away from the beach. The staff is very professional nah helpful. They have excellent restaurants on site as well as in the immediate area & literally steps away from several casino's. It's a great place to stay if your visiting Puerto Rico or there on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJRL
Business
New York, NY
Apr 18, 2014

Good Value, Good Location

Overall good experience. Older rooms in the old hotel building need updating (to put it kindly), but tower rooms are clean, new, and comfortable. Staff is excellent. Helpful, friendly, accommodating. We had a problem at check-in, but staff were helpful, and all was resolved. We were also comped breakfast at the buffet. Nice touch. Close to Old San Juan (we rented a car - 8 minute drive), 2 blocks from the beach, and plenty of necessities nearby (cheap food on the go, gas stations, etc.). Overall a good, clean, pleasant place to stay if you don't mind traveling a few minutes back and forth between your hotel and Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Early 30s Couple from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Apr 7, 2014

An Affordable, Well-Located Hotel, but Not Four Stars

The Verdanza Hotel is an affordable hotel with a bit of external charm, but by no means a four-star hotel. Located a 5 minute walk from Carolina beach and a 5 minute drive from the airport, the hotel is certainly convenient. But, put simply, it's not that nice. The rooms are fairly small and the furniture is dated--what's worse, the room had not been cleaned when we checked in (the toilet bowl was...um...full when we arrived). We were told we had an "Executive Club" room with an ocean view; the room lacked a desk for any executive to work in and the room faced the lagoon and the airport, not the beach. The continental breakfast is perfunctory, as is the gym. There are a number of restaurant options, which looked ok, but we didn't dine there so cannot speak first-hand. I wouldn't say my fiancee and I regret staying at the Verdanza; the rate couldn't be beat and, if you plan to stay in the Isla Verde area, the location is ideal as a jumping off point. But temper your expectations accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DiannandBill
Business
Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise ship port. It only takes 5 mins. to walk to a wonderful ocean beach. There are 3 restaurants on site that are great. The staff is wonderful also, they are friendly and very accommodating . We've stay at the Verdanza 7 years now and will go back whenever visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is wonderful. We also enjoy eating outside at the 80-20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ket Supermom
Business
Chicago Suburb
Mar 28, 2014

If you don't mind the huge roaches and sticky floor

The room wasn't clean, most o the towels weren't stained, and the bed was unbelievably uncomfortable. My friend switched her room about 9 times!!! before switching holes to the Embassy net door!! I didn't have the energy for that, but I'll never go back there there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top