$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 15, 2009

Great Trip!

The hotel staff were great. They were very friendly and helpful as to ideas of what to do in San Juan. The hotel was nice. It's not on the beach but you only need to walk 1 block to get there. The beach is peaceful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for affordable and good Puerto Rican food go to "Mi Casita". The breakfast there was great!! The mofongos (loved the shirmp) were amazing as well. Also, when you go to San juan try "La Bombonera" on San Francisco St. and eat their Mayorcas... AMAZING!!! They were on Discovery Travel and we had to try them. :)

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
North Berwick, Maine
Apr 24, 2009

"Really liked this hotel"

This was our first time in Puerto Rico and we needed a hotel for just one night as we were traveling to the other side of the Island the next day. It was easy to get to from the Airport and we found it very nice and our overnight stay was very restful. We intend to go back to Puerto Rico and to see Old San Juan and would certainly stay at this property while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
McLean, Va
Mar 3, 2009

Great Value & location

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It has just gone thru an extensive renovation, so the room was very nice (except the bed linens were rough). It is in a superb location just two blocks from the nicest beach and all the really wonderful old hotels and casinos. The restaurants inside the restaurant were exceptional and we highly recommend the French bistro and Asian restaurant. The hotel offered free internet with a printer and has a nicely equipped excercise room on the top floor. The pool was lovely with nice chairs and covered areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2009

Nice for the price

The price and accommodations were great as was the continental breakfast, pool, and variety of restaurants. Although it is not located on the beach, the hotel is only about 2 blocks from the water (and the streets appeared safe and well lit at night). The staff specifically for drinks at the pool was very disappointing. After waiting over 30 minutes for 2 drinks to arrive, my friend went inside for an update on their status. The waitress said that they couldn't make the drinks until the bartender arrived for the day at 1:00, however, the staff didn't mention that when the order was placed. After 1:00, we saw the bartender arrive and take other drink orders around the pool, and we told him we had already placed an order. We thought that this would mean our drinks would be prepared right away. However, when we went inside to request them again, they told us that the delay was because the bartender had just arrived (which we knew wasn't true since we had seen him about 40 minutes earlier). The service was still very slow the next day, so we made it a point to walk inside and wait to receive the drinks on the spot rather than return to our seats poolside. My only other complain was the checking out process. It took far longer than I've experienced at any hotel and I had a very standard check-out without any special requests. I waited in a line of customers who were checking out and checking in for nearly 15 minutes. I would have expected a manager to add staff to the front desk to speed the process up once they noticed the number of people waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, Pa.
Feb 13, 2009

San Juan Holiday Inn

Great water play area for kids and adults too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every thing you want to do is close to hotel, great location for your money!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Extremely Pleaseant Experience

The hotel is beautiful and is centrally located in Isla Verde, with quick access to San Juan and other areas. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, and the rooms are immaculate. I will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try the Mi Casita Restaurant one block away for authentic and delicious Puerto Rican food.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rochester
Sep 1, 2008

Very Family friendly

We will stay here again! Affordable,2 mins from the beac. Right off Isla verde ave, which has everything you need for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The spanish rest on the premisis has the best rice and bean and sweet banana. A+

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Athens
Jun 12, 2008

Great Hotel Staff

The hotel was accessible and in a decent location, close to the airport. The hotel staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The room were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great dining option at the hotel and surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennis is close by and offers free dinner to kids per paying adult.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 3, 2008

Some problems...

Signed note saying I would be charged $200 if I smoked in the room...Entered room and it smelled of cigarettes. Asked management to note it to avoid paying fee...they sprayed room...but it really did not help. AC kept blowing in cigarette smoke...Room was crowded, especially toilet area. Very cramped. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Still, I would not stay there again. Sunday breakfast buffet was only marginal also...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach nearby (short walk) Parking adequate but must pay $8/day.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 26, 2008

Good Hotel

Comfortable with good restaurants but too expensive for a holiday Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good restaurant a short walk called La casita which is very good.

Back to menu Return to top