$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose's
Business
Denver,Co
May 7, 2010

Great Hotel for the price

We enjoy our stay at this hotel,The staff was very friendly,helpful,and very professional.The customer service we received was way above our expectations.At checkout time,the clerk noticed that we had been charged extra for parking,we got credit back from the hotel,to us that's been honest with your customers.I recomend this hotel.The only thing we didn't like was the El Yunke and Luquillo beach tour.We purchased a tour from the Tour desk at the hotel,which is totally separate from the hotel,The El Yunke tour was fine,the Luquillo Beach tour,was a rip off,the Beach was nasty,dirty,and we had to pay to use the bathrooms and dressing rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend the restaurant called MI CASITA,is a tradidional puerto rican food restaurant.The service was awful and over priced.If you want good puerto rican food the hole's on the wall kind of eatery's are better.Go to old San Juan for good puerto rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose's
Business
Denver,Co
May 7, 2010

Great Hotel for the price

We enjoy our stay at this hotel,The staff was very friendly,helpful,and very professional.The customer service we received was way above our expectations.At checkout time,the clerk noticed that we had been charged extra for parking,we got credit back from the hotel,to us that's been honest with your customers.I recomend this hotel.The only thing we didn't like was the El Yunke and Luquillo beach tour.We purchased a tour from the Tour desk at the hotel,which is totally separate from the hotel,The El Yunke tour was fine,the Luquillo Beach tour,was a rip off,the Beach was nasty,dirty,and we had to pay to use the bathrooms and dressing rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend the restaurant called MI CASITA,is a tradidional puerto rican food restaurant.The service was awful and over priced.If you want good puerto rican food the hole's on the wall kind of eatery's are better.Go to old San Juan for good puerto rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Apr 29, 2010

Never again!

The hotel picture we saw [...] had balconies overlooking the pool. Our room had no balcony and it overlooked the front of the next door hotel and the highway. Our room was extremely humid at all times. We tried adjusting the thermostat, rearranging covers, furniture, curtains, etc. Nothing worked. No ice in any of the 2 ice-machines in the entire hotel.No laundry facility. Our last night there we ended up dragging our dirty drawers to the hotel across the street to use their guests laundry facility – fun.Even after a visit from the cleaning staff, the room was left dirty – they did not wipe any of the tables, counters, surfaces; did not replace toilet tissue and no coffee bags. We ended up chasing the cleaning cart and asking for coffee. At all times there were at least 3 cleaning carts on our floor but we could not figure out how it was that our room was left dirty and without coffee. Of about 15-20 hotel staff members we encountered (we were there for 6 days) the only friendly, pleasant staff was a young lady handling the valet parking. The access street to the hotel was under construction/repair and it was quite a challenge to maneuver around it.We found out that this hotel has only been open since December 2009 so in such a short period of time (we stayed there in April 2010) they are not making the grade. Our trip was costly and unpleasant. Do not stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,GA
Apr 20, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the Price

We stayed here over night before we went on a cruise. Breakfast was wonderful. Rooms could use some updating. Beds were very comfortable. Rooms we stayed in were on second floor of older part of hotel and they did not have an elevator to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 15, 2010

GREAT TIME

Wonderful time until Easter weekend, then too many local people were there. However, that is to be expected. We will be going back next year, but it will be in Feb. The resturants in the hotel were great, staff wonderful, rooms very nice, pool great. As I said we will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful food and great service. Saves alot of time looking around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson Hole
Apr 14, 2010

Great Hotel near aiport and beach

The beautiful Carolina Beach was 2locks from our hotel. It was a holiday weekend and packed with families and friends.White sandy beaches. It became too crowded for our tastes and we returned to the hotel and enjoyed the pool.Perfect temperature. We decided to dine in becuase we had an early flight to catch-a wonderful Asian Restaurant-Jay Lee's. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It in this charming boutique hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 10, 2010

Verdanza hotel in puerto Rico

Our bathroom was not to our liking. The shower head was the size of a quarter and there was frequently no hot water. My TV remote didn't work initially and when they replaced it, it was possessed or something. It didn't go to a channel that I wanted to go to in which case I had to get up and change the channel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was easy to get around and inexpensive. Our location made it easy and convenient to get to the beach, eateries and shopping districts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Apr 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I can't say enough about the staff. They were so friendly and helpful, especially the bellman who the staff called their "human GPS system." Unfortuantely, I don't remember his name but, he worked during the day. He was outstanding with his directions and info about where to find great Puerto Rican food. The location was also excellent. The beach was jsut two blocks away. Public teransportation was readily available. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach. The hotel also provided transportation to the beach if you didn't want to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 5, 2010

Verdanza

The Verdanza Hotel was a nice location to begin our daily travels around Puerto Rico. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish although most people can speak English. We just found that they warm up to you more if you speak Spanish to them. Luckily my husband is both fluent and charming in Spanish. We thought the hotel overall was very clean..no problems there! No shortage of hot water for the showers either. Each room had a free refrigerator, good A/C and a free safe. We had the standard room with 2 double beds and a balcony. It was kind of tight for 3 adults and 3 suitcases, but we managed ok. We weren't crazy about the fact that we had to pay for parking ($10 a day) for our rental car and we thought the fitness room could have been bigger and better. Overall, we were happy with our choice for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's restaurant was priced as it is in the states. Many other spots we visited we overpriced for what you got. There are not really many places nearby for breakfast othere than fast food. Chili's also served a decent breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2010

You will be surprised!!!!!! :)

I read other reviews before going there, and now I am anxious to post mine. I've been to 2 star hotels and 5 stars; this is a 4 star! I was expecting less from other reviews that said no hot water, bad service, noisy... I did not see any of that. First, the location is perfect. Isla Verde is gorgeous. try to get the 7th floor ocean view - to die for. Hotel next to airport but plane noise does not interfere. $13 for taxi to and fro. Hotel lobby beautiful & has a tour desk to book excursions. I recommend caves at Camuy, catamaran snorkeling, & El Yunque Rainforest at Cascada la Mina (swim next to waterfall). Lobby, halls, & room smells fresh. Clean. My room had a fridge, bed, safe, Internet, sofa, TV, phone, coffee maker & desk. Pool is warm and big and next to it is the bubbling jacuzzi. I had asked for a standard room with balcony on the 3rd floor. I didnt like it so they had me look at a room on the 3rd and 7th floor. 7th floor view was of ocean, city, & pool. No balcony but who cares. We were on the shade part. Hotel also has another building with balcony for couples that faces hotel's main building. Forget it. View is worth it. "Next door" to hotel is Embassy Suites. Beautiful hotel but happy with Verdanza. You can walk to Embassy pool anyway. Huge pool but freezing. Sun takes longer to heat. Embassy has casino you can visit. Hotel has cookie shop, Bistro, & restaurant. SHOPPING: walking distance from souvenir shops, but for major shopping go to Old San Juan. DINING: walking distance to BK, Wendy's, Walgreens, 24 hour supermarket, Chili's, Taco Bell, KFC, Church's Chicken, Ponderosa & Dairy Queen. For Puerto Rican food try "Mi Casita" next to Church's Chicken. Shop at the supermarket, save $$$ NIGHTLIFE & ENTERTAINMENT: walking distance to San Juan Hotel & "Casino", niteclubs (Bed Lounge & Brava), also try Old San Juan. Weekends are better! RECREATION ATTRACTIONS: In my opinion - caves at Camuy, catamaran snorkeling at Fajardo (Palominita & Icacos Islands), & El Yunque Rainforest at Cascada la Mina (swim next to waterfall) was amazing. Arecibio Observatory was cool to see I guess because its the biggest radio satellite in the world but boring. I wish I could have done the Bioilluminesence excursion at Fajardo. I heard Vieques Island is fantastic too. All these excursions are less than $90 each and an hour away. You can also take a ferry to Vieques.SO HAPPY WITH THIS HOTEL, THANK YOU VERDANZA, I LOVE PUERTO RICO, WILL BE BACK, SAME PLACE, INEXPENSIVE & WORTH IT - LA ISLA DEL ENCANTO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SHOPPING: walking distance from souvenir shops, but for major shopping go to Old San Juan. DINING: walking distance to BK, Wendy's, Walgreens, 24 hour supermarket, Chili's, Taco Bell, KFC, Church's Chicken, Ponderosa & Dairy Queen. For Puerto Rican food try "Mi Casita" next to Church's Chicken. Shop at the supermarket, save $$$ NIGHTLIFE & ENTERTAINMENT: walking distance to San Juan Hotel & "Casino", niteclubs (Bed Lounge & Brava), also try Old San Juan. Weekends are better! RECREATION ATTRACTIONS: In my opinion - caves at Camuy, catamaran snorkeling at Fajardo (Palominita & Icacos Islands), & El Yunque Rainforest at Cascada la Mina (swim next to waterfall) was amazing. Arecibio Observatory was cool to see I guess because its the biggest radio satellite in the world but boring. I wish I could have done the Bioilluminesence excursion at Fajardo. I heard Vieques Island is fantastic too. All these excursions are less than $90 each and an hour away. You can also take a ferry to Vieques.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top