$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IC Lighter
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 26, 2010

San Juan in Feb 2010

First of all, this is more of a standard hotel, not a vacation resort. Once you realize that, there's not too much to complain about. My wife & I were at the hotel from February 20 through 25. The location was very good...less than 10 minutes from the airport, a 5 minute walk to a nice beach, close to many restaurants & bars, close to a grocery store, a half block from a bus stop - it took us about 40 minutes to get to Old San Juan for just 75 cents (a quicker ride in a rental car or taxi, but you can't beat the bus fare). The area didn't seem to be very touristy. It was like being a part of normal Puerto Rican life. This is NOT a resort area similar to Cancun. You're actually in the city of San Juan so it's a very real experience. The hotel has a nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs. It was quiet except for the planes landing and taking off at the nearby airport. There was no music or pool games or anything like you would get at a resort. The restaurants in the hotel were of good quality, and the prices were reasonable. The service is friendly, though a bit slow. The bar has plenty of nice TVs for sporting events. There is an Asian restaurant and 2 restaurants that serve local fare along with other ethnic choices (Italian, American, etc). There is also a small coffee/pastry shop. A favorite restaurant among the locals is Mi Casita which is located in a small plaza just a half block away. This hotel is not new, so it looks a bit run down in places, but overall it's a nice place. We upgraded to a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool. It was very noisy during our stay as there was some sort of road work being done. The noise started around 6:30am with jackhammers and beeping from trucks that were backing up. I guess they try to get the work done before it gets too hot outside. At least it kept us from sleeping in too late and wasting part of the day (I'm always the optimist). That's really the only major complaint that I could make, and that was not the hotel's fault. There were some minor issues with the outdated bathroom, mostly aeshtetic, and we had to wait several minutes for the water to get warm in the shower, but no major problems. Overall, this is a very average hotel. There is nothing great about it, but there's really nothing bad about it either. If you do have a problem, the staff was very courteous, and they all spoke English very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 24, 2010

Not quite up to par

Front desk was friendly, very understaffed at checkout. Room was well-worn - had been smoked in at some point in the past - not particularly clean - walls were all marked up. Closet was not clean. Had I not received the [...] rates and booked this hotel based on their very nice website, it would have been very upsetting. This is an average, adequate, re-badged recently hotel - not nearly as classy as they would have your believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants (mostly fast food) within easy walking distance

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rollaway man
Family
miami fl
Feb 17, 2010

Beautifully Weird

When we booked our reservation we booked 2 King beds. At arrival we were told we would have a king bed and a rollaway bed. When I said that that was unacceptable...the guy said "IT'S BETTER THAN THE FLOOR.." Initially I thought I was hearing things since it was 3 in the morning when I checked in. After a little battle we ended up with 2 rooms both with king beds for the duration of the stay. SO THEY MADE UP FOR IT I GUESS. breakfast buffet-ripoff pool-great houskeeping-friendly front desk-?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away--alot of fast food if you like.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl.
Feb 15, 2010

Nice Business Hotel

The rooms are nice but the bathrooms show their age. This hotel is in the middle of the tourist area so there are plenty of places to eat and has easy access to the highway. I have stayed here twice and had problems with hot water on both trips, not even at the same time. It's a nice place and price especally for the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Juan, PR
Feb 15, 2010

Not Bad

Overall, I like the hotel. Rooms are small and bathroom area needs a little more tender loving. When we got to front door nobody said "good afternoon", "welcome" or even "hi" and there were 4 employees outside. Directions to our room were not clear, and although we were and looked lost, luggage on shoulder, none of the employees we found on our way offered to help. Need to have more activities for guests on special ocassions (we stayed Valentine's day), like live music at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan or Condado Area. (15-20 mins. drive)

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san juan
Feb 15, 2010

the bad

didnt clean room until 3rd day rented a car which you dont even need had to pay 10.00 a day to park extra 250.00 depoist for vechicle which i still have not got refunded for road construction everywhere be very careful trying to get to beach they will run you over dont take the rain forest tour do it your self the place is a money pit make sure you have plenty of it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keep it Simple Ed
Couples
Sterling Hts, Michigan
Feb 5, 2010

Great Fun

Staff was very helpful. All of our activities were easily accessed from the hotel. We were picked up for our snorleling excursion right from the hotel. We took a local bus into old San Juan. Bus stop is one block away. The beach is also only one block away. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The local bus stop to old San Juan is one block away and only costs $.75!!!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Long Island, NY
Feb 1, 2010

Now called Verdanza

For $200 a night I used to get a lot for my money. Now you get a Comfort Inn or Red Roof Inn type hotel which are adequet but nothing special. I stayed here many years ago and they have redone the exterior and lobby but the rooms are unchanged. Stains on carpet but otherwise clean. I like the location here in Isla Verde as its close to the airport and about 2 short blocks to very nice beaches. Also close to supermarkets,resturants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita. Local style food, good and affordable. Short walk to very nice white sand beach. Sports bar right off beach with affordable beer and drinks.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All the above
Single
Hartford, ct
Jan 1, 2010

Verdanza, not holiday inn

Overall a good experience. I came to chill out and that is what I did! Would recommend this hotel to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
what is this?
Couples
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

San Juan Trip

Hotel is located in tourist friendly area, close to airport & Old San Juan; employees were all very professional and genuinely courteous; room was very small with a very musty (mildewly)odor to the room; [...] I won't stay at this hotel the next time I go to P.R.; also they never mentioned that you had to pay for parking; that would've been nice to know; I asked for a business center in the hotel and it doesn't appear that they had one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

instead of renting a car consider getting a private driver for the duration of your stay; the price is about the same; and you can spend your time taking in the sites while someone else drives

Back to menu Return to top