$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
336 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of 1!
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 29, 2010

Week end getaway!

I enjoyed my trip to San Juan and my stay at Hotel Verdanza. The staff was really nice and helpful ... especially the valet guys. I knew if I needed information that I could go to them to find out where to eat, how to get somewhere and anything else I needed to know. Everyone was helpful and I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson Hole
Mar 25, 2010

great hotel near airport

Great place to end one's day of uncertain travel. The staff were most pleasant and helpful. We didn't really get to check everything out before heading to the airport to resume our travel. We will overnight there once again on our return trip home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Likes to Relax
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 23, 2010

Great hotel at a great price

We stayed at the hotel prior to leaving on a cruise. We chose the hotel because it was affordable, looked clean, close to the airport, and had good reviews. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, the pool area was very nice, the restuarant where we ate breakfast was great, and the staff was very friendly. We checked out but didn't have to be on the ship until later that evening so the hotel kindly held our bags for us and we walked around the city. The hotel is a few blocks from the beach. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
On. Canada
Mar 23, 2010

Verdenza Hotel, Puerto Rico

stop over after cruise , stayed a nite before flight out. couldn't ask for a nicer staff, all were very accomodating and eager to please. Pool clean and peaceful. We plan to visit again and stay longer. Thanks [...] Verdenza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach and casinos, minutes away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Finger Lakes Region of NY
Mar 21, 2010

Great staff, close to the airport.

Friendly staff; clean, comfortable room, great view poolside. We flew into San Juan the night before our cruise sailed and stayed a night after we disembarked from the ship. Our experience was nothing but positive. We had booked a city view room for our departure night and arrived 4 hours before the 3:00 p.m. check in time. There was an available room room on the poolside of the hotel that they let us check into early at no extra cost. After checking in my wife discovered that she had lost her passport some where between the ships dock and the hotel. We called the front desk immediatly and they told us that no one had turned it so far. Shortly afterwards the lady at the front desk called to say the cab driver had found it on the floor of the cab and was enroute to return it (high marks for the driver). After we had passport in hand and had returned to our room the front desk called to verify that it had been returned. We would definatly reccomend this hotel to our friends and plan to return here for our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small bistro in the hotel that serves up an excellent breakfast buffet. Good variety of hot and cold items and a great wait staff. Not sure of the lunch or dinner menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
excited_voyager
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 20, 2010

Not much to write home about...really

I'd say this place is only good for those who don't really care where they stay and are just there to enjoy the town itself. My friends and i had many complaints after our 4 nights here (the water stopped running for a whole day, the jacuzzi didn't work, the pool was always dirty, the cable also stopped working, housekeeping didn't really do much, etc). The only thing they really provided was a basic room with basic amenities (and it wasn't even that cheap compared to other hotels I've stayed at). It was ok but i wouldn't recommend it for anyone looking to have a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maenuu
Business
New York, NY
Mar 19, 2010

Good deal for hotel close to beach!

Nice hotel, but needs a little renovation. Furniture and bathrooms were a little old, but room was spacious. The sink/closet area was great for putting our luggage. We had a balcony room and it was raining all week so water seeped into the carpet by the door. There's no minibar, but there was an iHome--perfect for us since we forgot to bring our ipod chargers! The hotel has a bar/lounge and two restaurants to choose from (chinese and contemporary cuisine) plus a small cafe for a quick breakfast/coffee break. Front desk staff were very friendly and gave us yummy coconut icees at check-in. One of our rooms also got soaked from the rain seeping in from the balcony so they switched rooms for us and gave us 15% discount at the restaurants. Bar staff are very nice and friendly, gave great recommendations on where to go for nightlife. Their sangrias and pina coladas are great! The location of the hotel is literally 2 blocks away from the beach, less than 5 minute walk to Walgreens, Burger King, Wendys, Golden Bagel bakery (highly recommend!!), Pueblos (big supermarket right behind the hotel), and other hotels with casinos and good nightlife. The doormen were also good with getting cabs for us (we were a big group and they got us a van to fit everyone every time). The pool (shallow 4 1/2 feet) and spray park are small (not like a resort), but pretty clean. The hot tub initially did not have hot water for the first few days of our stay, but then they fixed it and it was just perfect, especially at night! Overall a good experience for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol is less than 10 minute walk, but GREAT food! Also in Isla Verde is Ceviche house (about 25 min walk). El San Juan hotel has a good casino, and Brava nightclub on Thursday nights ($20 cover and pretty good puerto rican and american pop music, but does get VERY crowded and hot in there) Also recommend in old san juan--el buren for gourmet pizza (ask for guava butter! it is to die for! and their flavored mojitos) and bombonera for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Couple Harassed
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 16, 2010

The Verdanza

This trip was bad and maybe this could have colored my view of the hotel a bit. We were harassed badly by the front desk upon arrival, the maids burst into our room everyday, I started to suspect maybe they wanted to walk in on something, I don't know, and mind you we were on vacation. Pool never had towels which are not I am sure required but if you're going to do it; you might as well do the upkeep. Room Service took forever, was a hassle, and closed at inopportune times. Also watch out for that extra $100 they charge upon checking in, without your knowledge that is a doozey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coon Rapids, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Precruise stay

The staff was helpful, they didn't know where the dining options were other than the restaurants in the hotel, the next day we saw some fast food outlets that we may have chosen had we been told about them. We liked it being close to airport. It was easy to grab a cab to the port the next day. We recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We got in at supper time, the staff didnot tell us that a couple of steps out the door were fast food dining options. We would have liked to know that when we asked about dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami
Mar 15, 2010

vendanza

Great time love the location and hotel staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top