$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
342 reviews
family trip

All vocation we are have a feeling this is a visit to ours friends. And Verdanza "family" happy to... See full review

  • Liliya W.
  • Dec 19, 2014
good hotel

this was a family getaway, and we had a great time. See full review

  • Elit122
  • Nov 26, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (342)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
merrick, ny
Jul 26, 2010

The good, the bad

web site discribed as four star hotel, a three star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lanai Lover
Business
NYC, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde

Isla Verde is not the nicest part of Puerto Rico. I suggest staying in Condado. If you do stay in Isla Verde, I would stay at the Intercontinental Hotel or el San Juan as these two hotels offer casinos, stores, restaurants, nice pools, bars, and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't wait around for the local busses. Puerto Rico's bus system is awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful experience for the price

Time spent at the Verdanza Hotel was truly wonderful. Facilities were clean, staff was extremely helpful and polite, and room was delightful. Restaurants inside hotel were pricey but fabulous. Enjoyed room amenities, which included iPOD dock, refrigerator, and safe. Location is extremely close to airport, beach, and places to eat. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 21, 2010

Friends & Family vacation

Overall, we had a very good experience in Puerto Rico. My husband and I traveled with our two children and another couple. Our hotel and flight experience was great. If you plan to take tours the Verdanza hotel is a good choice because you are hardly ever in the room and it's a very reasonable price. While in Puerto Rico we took the bus to the downtown area but it got late and we took a taxi back to the hotel on the first day. The second and Third day we we rented a car and traveled around the island to El Yunque Rainforest, the Arecibo Observatory and to the beaches of Luquillo and Fajardo. The next day we went to the Bacardi Distillery and the Caves of Camuy. The fourth day we took the sailing and snorkeling tour to Icacos island and Tortugas. This was the best part of the trip. We love snorkeling and so does our 5 year old! We didn't get to eat local food because of the kids. One recommendation was Pinones but we didn't make it there. It is recommended to go during the day and not at night. There are regular fast food restaurants at walking distance from the hotel: burger king, pizza hut, churchs, wendy's, etc. Warning: if you plan to do shopping do it during the day while you are visiting el morro and the other castle nearby. This is where you will find great souvenirs. The shops close early @ around 6:00 p.m. It's kind of spooky afterwards so take a taxi back to hotel. Also, it didn't seem like there was any clubbing from what we could tell. We didn't buy souvenirs on that day; we figured we would go back and we didn't. We always came back late from sightseeing and when we tried buying souvenirs close to hotel and @ airport everything is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Buy your snorkeling tour @ hotel. But, it is cheaper to rent a car and experience on your own the others. The tours are very expensive but the snorkeling was worth it. To get to downtown you can take the bus. Everything else is far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 21, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

We walked about a block to the beach, which was nice. It was easily accessible to different hotels and casinos. The phones didn't work and so we had to walk all the way to the front desk to inform them that we had a leaking faucet which they didn't fix. We had to go down there to ask for extra towels, toiletries, places to go at night, and for a late check in. Since this was our first trip to Puerto Rico it was memorable but not really for the good ones. My brother and my parents stayed at a different hotel and they had larger rooms, full breakfast, closer to the city life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like authentic foods then you need to eat at the hotel however if you're like my wife then you'll have to walk to find other places to eat around this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PattyFaye
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 17, 2010

Great trip

The beach was two blocks away from the Verdanza Hotel, halfway there, there is a busy street, but for some reason the cars stop when you try to cross, amazing. The location was great and close to lots of restaurants. We tried several restaurants in the area, from Coladas at the hotel, Ponderosa, The Outback and Mi Casita, which we loved the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mi Casita in strip mall down the block. It is worth the short walk. They serve Puerto Rican and American food, and it was packed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hurley, NY
Jul 15, 2010

DJ

Very Comfortable & Enjoyable. Will be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To take the bus to Old San Juan and go to dock #2 $.50@ take the ferry across and than take a Cab $3.00 @ to Bacardi it was Great Free to see the Largest Run distillery 2 free drinks @. Lots of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central, N.Y.
Jul 12, 2010

good, could be better

overall good experience. although not having an operable phone in room caused concern in my case as i was traveling with a senior citizen with diabeties and heart problems. it also created a problem with room service and housekeeping when you need towels or other amenities. especially if your on the top floor. it's a bummer too go downstairs to the front desk to ask for stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to a great diner for breakfast/dinner ( make left out of hotel and then right into plaza, place called "LA CASSITA".) ASK Herman the car rental guy. number one senior golfer on the island. great guy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Victim of Worst Hotel Experience EVER
Business
Southern California
Jul 8, 2010

The Verdenza Experience :(

The experience was horrible. The water was shut off SEVERAL times with no warning. The phones were completely down the entire time. Rooms are not maintained, walls looked like they had not been painted in years. Elevators were extremely slow. Air Conditioning in common areas was not turned on and it was stuffy. Fire alarm had false alarms and no one took the time to inform the guests that they were false alarms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol was a short walk down the main street towards the airport. The food was excellent. It is a Puerto Rican food restaurant with some standard choices as well. The service was great as well. I would highly recommend. They are reasonably priced too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2010

Great Hotel

I loved this hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top