$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
texas
Jul 31, 2010

verdanza hotel

[...].laundry service very expensive .we spent most our time outside the hotel driving and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

know the area and you can save a lot of money on food ,laundry and transportation

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
merrick, ny
Jul 26, 2010

The good, the bad

web site discribed as four star hotel, a three star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lanai Lover
Couples
NYC, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde

Isla Verde is not the nicest part of Puerto Rico. I suggest staying in Condado. If you do stay in Isla Verde, I would stay at the Intercontinental Hotel or el San Juan as these two hotels offer casinos, stores, restaurants, nice pools, bars, and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't wait around for the local busses. Puerto Rico's bus system is awful.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied New Yorker
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful experience for the price

Time spent at the Verdanza Hotel was truly wonderful. Facilities were clean, staff was extremely helpful and polite, and room was delightful. Restaurants inside hotel were pricey but fabulous. Enjoyed room amenities, which included iPOD dock, refrigerator, and safe. Location is extremely close to airport, beach, and places to eat. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston, Tx
Jul 21, 2010

Friends & Family vacation

Overall, we had a very good experience in Puerto Rico. My husband and I traveled with our two children and another couple. Our hotel and flight experience was great. If you plan to take tours the Verdanza hotel is a good choice because you are hardly ever in the room and it's a very reasonable price. While in Puerto Rico we took the bus to the downtown area but it got late and we took a taxi back to the hotel on the first day. The second and Third day we we rented a car and traveled around the island to El Yunque Rainforest, the Arecibo Observatory and to the beaches of Luquillo and Fajardo. The next day we went to the Bacardi Distillery and the Caves of Camuy. The fourth day we took the sailing and snorkeling tour to Icacos island and Tortugas. This was the best part of the trip. We love snorkeling and so does our 5 year old! We didn't get to eat local food because of the kids. One recommendation was Pinones but we didn't make it there. It is recommended to go during the day and not at night. There are regular fast food restaurants at walking distance from the hotel: burger king, pizza hut, churchs, wendy's, etc. Warning: if you plan to do shopping do it during the day while you are visiting el morro and the other castle nearby. This is where you will find great souvenirs. The shops close early @ around 6:00 p.m. It's kind of spooky afterwards so take a taxi back to hotel. Also, it didn't seem like there was any clubbing from what we could tell. We didn't buy souvenirs on that day; we figured we would go back and we didn't. We always came back late from sightseeing and when we tried buying souvenirs close to hotel and @ airport everything is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Buy your snorkeling tour @ hotel. But, it is cheaper to rent a car and experience on your own the others. The tours are very expensive but the snorkeling was worth it. To get to downtown you can take the bus. Everything else is far away.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Texas
Jul 21, 2010

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

We walked about a block to the beach, which was nice. It was easily accessible to different hotels and casinos. The phones didn't work and so we had to walk all the way to the front desk to inform them that we had a leaking faucet which they didn't fix. We had to go down there to ask for extra towels, toiletries, places to go at night, and for a late check in. Since this was our first trip to Puerto Rico it was memorable but not really for the good ones. My brother and my parents stayed at a different hotel and they had larger rooms, full breakfast, closer to the city life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like authentic foods then you need to eat at the hotel however if you're like my wife then you'll have to walk to find other places to eat around this hotel.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PattyFaye
Family
New Orleans, LA
Jul 17, 2010

Great trip

The beach was two blocks away from the Verdanza Hotel, halfway there, there is a busy street, but for some reason the cars stop when you try to cross, amazing. The location was great and close to lots of restaurants. We tried several restaurants in the area, from Coladas at the hotel, Ponderosa, The Outback and Mi Casita, which we loved the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mi Casita in strip mall down the block. It is worth the short walk. They serve Puerto Rican and American food, and it was packed.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hurley, NY
Jul 15, 2010

DJ

Very Comfortable & Enjoyable. Will be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To take the bus to Old San Juan and go to dock #2 $.50@ take the ferry across and than take a Cab $3.00 @ to Bacardi it was Great Free to see the Largest Run distillery 2 free drinks @. Lots of fun

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Central, N.Y.
Jul 12, 2010

good, could be better

overall good experience. although not having an operable phone in room caused concern in my case as i was traveling with a senior citizen with diabeties and heart problems. it also created a problem with room service and housekeeping when you need towels or other amenities. especially if your on the top floor. it's a bummer too go downstairs to the front desk to ask for stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to a great diner for breakfast/dinner ( make left out of hotel and then right into plaza, place called "LA CASSITA".) ASK Herman the car rental guy. number one senior golfer on the island. great guy.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Victim of Worst Hotel Experience EVER
Friends
Southern California
Jul 8, 2010

The Verdenza Experience :(

The experience was horrible. The water was shut off SEVERAL times with no warning. The phones were completely down the entire time. Rooms are not maintained, walls looked like they had not been painted in years. Elevators were extremely slow. Air Conditioning in common areas was not turned on and it was stuffy. Fire alarm had false alarms and no one took the time to inform the guests that they were false alarms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol was a short walk down the main street towards the airport. The food was excellent. It is a Puerto Rican food restaurant with some standard choices as well. The service was great as well. I would highly recommend. They are reasonably priced too.

Back to menu Return to top