Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I live 2 Travel
Dayton Ohio
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect holiday escape from the snow

This hotel was perfect! The staff was wonderful -- professional, helpful and courteous. The location was great -- an easy two block walk to the beach, easy acccess to the highway and a one block walk to a main road with restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the variety of eateries in the hotel. I gave the "room comfort" a 4/5 only because the AC was a bit chilly for my family (even with changing the temperature settings). If I have the opportunity to return to San Juan I will definitely reserve a room at the Verdanza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family enjoyed the Italian restaurant "Al Dente" in Old San Juan. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful !

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Gi
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Sep 15, 2010

Go Green(Verdanza)

Very close to the airport. You can see it from the airport, easy to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good places. Pizza Hut is right there. Spanish food is equally close at "Mi Casita"

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle, college student
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 28, 2010

Great location and great service

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in explaining nearby attractions. The hotel was in a great location, just 2 blocks from the beach. You could see the ocean from our hotel room. Within walking distance (maybe 5 minutes) of several great restaurants and other hotels, which saved us tons of money on taxi fare. All of the taxi drivers knew the location of our hotel so we didn't have to explain directions at all. All of the excursions and tours we went on had pick-up available from the hotel. The room was a great size and kept very clean. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. Each room had a mini-fridge and a safe. The only downside to the room was very little water pressure in the shower. The Puerto Rican restaurant inside the hotel "Coladas" had amazing food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must do a day excursion to go snorkeling. It was by far my favorite day of the trip. There is information available at the tour desk in the hotel. The boat is called The Barefoot IV. A driver picks you up from the hotel in the morning and drives you to the marina. You spend time sailing on the boat to a private island where you can swim or collect seashells. They serve you lunch and free drinks (including rum) and also fresh fruit. In the afternoon you go out to a reef to go snorkeling. The price was very reasonable (85 I think) and worth every penny. It was absolutely beautiful!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, Ma.
Aug 23, 2010

Fantastic couple or family getaway

Good trip, nice hotel, try to avoid saturdays and sundays. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any type of food places are around de corner.The bus stop to Old San Juan is less than 100 feet from hotel, it cost 75 cents if you avoid rush hours the buses are almost empty. Trip to El Yunque and Luquillo beach is the best value.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl, USA
Aug 20, 2010

Excellent Hotel

This hotel is located next to the airport, just 5 minutes away. Just one block from a nice beach. For me this hotel was perfect because it is in the north center of the island. The Staff was excelent and very polite. I will stay there next time. The pool is nice and it has a kid water park (small).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

30 to 45 minutes away from every attractions in Puerto Rico. Attractions: old san juan (10-15 min), el yunque (30 minutes), camuy cave (45 to 1 hour), Ponce (1 hour)

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Aug 18, 2010

OK stay

Overall the stay was fine....But the hotel tried to add on fees at the location. We had to pay taxes on the free nights we recieved, pay to park our car, pay for family to visit. The hotel also had fees for unreturned towels from the pool area. The pool area needed staff available to accommodate guest. Hot tub was the same temperature as the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Its better to drive yourself to the locations to save on the cost.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jul 31, 2010

verdanza hotel

[...].laundry service very expensive .we spent most our time outside the hotel driving and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

know the area and you can save a lot of money on food ,laundry and transportation

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
merrick, ny
Jul 26, 2010

The good, the bad

web site discribed as four star hotel, a three star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lanai Lover
Business
NYC, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde

Isla Verde is not the nicest part of Puerto Rico. I suggest staying in Condado. If you do stay in Isla Verde, I would stay at the Intercontinental Hotel or el San Juan as these two hotels offer casinos, stores, restaurants, nice pools, bars, and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't wait around for the local busses. Puerto Rico's bus system is awful.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful experience for the price

Time spent at the Verdanza Hotel was truly wonderful. Facilities were clean, staff was extremely helpful and polite, and room was delightful. Restaurants inside hotel were pricey but fabulous. Enjoyed room amenities, which included iPOD dock, refrigerator, and safe. Location is extremely close to airport, beach, and places to eat. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 21, 2010

Friends & Family vacation

Overall, we had a very good experience in Puerto Rico. My husband and I traveled with our two children and another couple. Our hotel and flight experience was great. If you plan to take tours the Verdanza hotel is a good choice because you are hardly ever in the room and it's a very reasonable price. While in Puerto Rico we took the bus to the downtown area but it got late and we took a taxi back to the hotel on the first day. The second and Third day we we rented a car and traveled around the island to El Yunque Rainforest, the Arecibo Observatory and to the beaches of Luquillo and Fajardo. The next day we went to the Bacardi Distillery and the Caves of Camuy. The fourth day we took the sailing and snorkeling tour to Icacos island and Tortugas. This was the best part of the trip. We love snorkeling and so does our 5 year old! We didn't get to eat local food because of the kids. One recommendation was Pinones but we didn't make it there. It is recommended to go during the day and not at night. There are regular fast food restaurants at walking distance from the hotel: burger king, pizza hut, churchs, wendy's, etc. Warning: if you plan to do shopping do it during the day while you are visiting el morro and the other castle nearby. This is where you will find great souvenirs. The shops close early @ around 6:00 p.m. It's kind of spooky afterwards so take a taxi back to hotel. Also, it didn't seem like there was any clubbing from what we could tell. We didn't buy souvenirs on that day; we figured we would go back and we didn't. We always came back late from sightseeing and when we tried buying souvenirs close to hotel and @ airport everything is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Buy your snorkeling tour @ hotel. But, it is cheaper to rent a car and experience on your own the others. The tours are very expensive but the snorkeling was worth it. To get to downtown you can take the bus. Everything else is far away.

Back to menu Return to top