$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I live 2 Travel
Dayton Ohio
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect holiday escape from the snow

This hotel was perfect! The staff was wonderful -- professional, helpful and courteous. The location was great -- an easy two block walk to the beach, easy acccess to the highway and a one block walk to a main road with restaurants and stores. We enjoyed the variety of eateries in the hotel. I gave the "room comfort" a 4/5 only because the AC was a bit chilly for my family (even with changing the temperature settings). If I have the opportunity to return to San Juan I will definitely reserve a room at the Verdanza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family enjoyed the Italian restaurant "Al Dente" in Old San Juan. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HAMDEN, CONN.
Mar 26, 2011

great vacation !!!!

SECOND TIME AT THE VERDANZA.STAFF AND LOCATION ARE THE BEST. REST. ARE VERY GOOD. 1 BLOCK TO THE BEACH, AND FINE LOCAL PLACES TO EAT. LOOKING FORWORD TO GOING BACK IN 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville TN
Mar 26, 2011

Good location, mediocre hotel

Ffrom the outside, the hotel is nice. The rooms themselves are unclean and barely stocked with supplies. Each night we had to call the front desk to ask for more towels, as they would only leave 2 sets for 6 people. The toilets clogged frequently and the vents for the rooms were filthy. Had to wait 2 hours to check in, due to bedding arrangement request that was priorly noted with the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 24, 2011

Quick Trip

We were there for just two days but had a very pleasant time. While at the hotel we took advantage of the pool, jacuzzi and restaurants (breakfast twice - one room service, one buffet). The hotel was also super close to the beach - just two short blocks away. Overall, we were happy based on the reasonable price we payed and the amenities and staff we dealt with (all staff were sweet and offered helpful suggestions on how to spend our time).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SVR
Business
NJ
Mar 23, 2011

Had a good time.

The Staff was very nice & helpful. over all a clean place located very nicely to many thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bduf
Business
Sunset Beach, NC
Mar 20, 2011

Nice place to stay

Dated but well kept. A block and a half from the beach. Nice area to take a walk. Staff was very pleasant. Excellent in house restaurant. Adjacent to the airport - five minute taxi rider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

One of the best in hotel restaurants that we have run into. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 19, 2011

Nice Place to Stay

The beginning of our stay started of rough, they marked us as a no-show and cancelled our room, so I was not pleased but after we got a room everything went up from there. We were on Spring Break and the hotel staff was really friendly, the hotel is right by the hotel, we got beach towels, room service was good, and there are restaurants downstairs. The hotel is clean, and the pool and jacuzzi area were all really nice. Overall the hotel was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nightlife was either within walking distance, or a 10/15 minute drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen HUcom
Business
Washington,DC
Mar 18, 2011

Verdanza Hotel San Juan

The hotel was conveniently located 5 minutes from the airport, so travel to and from is relatively cheap and easy. It is interesting to note that in the midst of many big name hotels in the area, the Verdanza is an overlooked gem, with kind and very helpful staff, 3 restaurants with a variety of food options, a great pool area, and good room accommodations. It is a great place for vacationers to stay, in terms of location because you can walk to several shopping plazas, the beach, casinos, other hotels and take buses to San Juan from within a 10 minute walk from the Verdanza. Overall I had a great time there, and was pleased with my stay and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining in the hotel is a bit up-scale, but for cheap eats in the area, a small diner called Piu Bello is about a 10 minute walk away near Isla Verde Mall. They have fast service, great food, and very reasonable prices as well as gelato and sorbet that are fantastic. They also stay open late for those who are hungry after 10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2011

Fine, but that's not good.

The pool was well kept. This is ideal for families, as there were many here. I would not recommend this for couples or singles - unless they really like loud children. The bistro had no local cuisine. But the bar did - and was quite good. There is no room service. The front desk staff was great. The area around the resort was loud and the maintenance men were clipping hedges for two days with a very noisy electric clipper - it should have taken an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus OH
Feb 24, 2011

Great Hotel for Kids, Average at best

The Hotel is overall not bad. I would recomend if your on a budget and want to enjoy the area not the hotel. We did enjoyed the bar and restraunt at the hotel. The lobby looks nice and staff is freindly, but the rooms are standard. They do have military discounts at the excursion desk. The pool area is designed for the kids though. We didnt even go to it. The very close beach is really nice and clean(1 block away), that we did frequent. There are plenty of Casinos(next door)near by. You can walk or take a short bus/cab ride to old san juan fairly inexpensive. The bus is by far way cheaper. The standard Mcdonalds and BK are close but I highly recommend hitting the local restraunts. There are plenty nearby and I dont remember spending more than $15 a plate $10 average. We went to a little restraunt a 1/2 block down the road toward the beach in a strip mall(shared a parking lot with ponderosa steak house) for breakfast every morning. They served huge omlets that were $4 and awsome. If your still reading I have one travel tip for the bracardi tour. Its free and if your in old san juan go to the cruise ship docks you can catch a water taxi for $1 a person. Then catch a cab that costs $3 a person. I turns out to be $8 round trip PP. Thats better than a tour company charging $25 PP. Overall We will go back to San Juan we just might pick a different hotel in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the local restraunts they were all great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
puerto rico
Feb 21, 2011

Really good

Everything ok,but in any moment clean my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top