$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
340 reviews
family trip

All vocation we are have a feeling this is a visit to ours friends. And Verdanza "family" happy to... See full review

  • Liliya W.
  • Dec 19, 2014
good hotel

this was a family getaway, and we had a great time. See full review

  • Elit122
  • Nov 26, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (340)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Relax
Business
San Juan, PR
May 30, 2011

The giod, the great, and the excellent

All we were looking for was for some relaxation time, this hotel offers that and much more. Great and confort rooms, always clean, vgreat food options> we couldn't ask for more. The only thing we did not like was CHECKING OUT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel offers different restaurants for different tastes> but, if you are not looking for dinning at the hotel, there are A LOT of options walking distances!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 15, 2011

Excellent price for the location

Personnel very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Chuck
Business
Atlanta, Ga
May 14, 2011

Was Ok, but for price it was fine

When we arrived on Tuesday the hotel looked very beautiful from the outside. Check-in was long because their printer was not working well. After securing room 1021 the bellman who was very good took our luggage to the room. Our room had no view, one tree and a construction site. The pool view rooms have NO ELEVATOR all and everything must be carried up and down stairs. We requested a room on the 1st level, they accommodated our request(very bad request)and moved us to room 1011.The rooms are very small, and this particular room smelled wet possibly some sort of previous flood damage. The bathroom has a separate room for toilet and shower, it smelled the worst. I was there to scuba dive, the heat did not work in the room so it was impossible to dry anything. The language barrier is very hard to overcome, but the staff was great. I was hit with a $13.50 unknown tax charge at check-out not much but when you pay for vacation package it's very unexpected. Read ALL FINE prints. Overall the trip served it's purpose. Will definately stay elsewhere next time. [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plato's restaurant was fantastic. Not a far walk, right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2011

Had An Enjoyable Stay

This was strictly a 5 days/5 nights R&R trip and we were pleased with the Hotel and its extremely helpful staff. The food was a bit over-priced but there were lots of great restaurants and night spots within walking distance of the hotel. The area around the hotel was completely safe (lots of uniformed police patrols). My wife and I spent most of our stay on the beach (1 1/2 blocks away) and even at 5:00 am when we photograped the morning sunrise we felt completely safe on the beach. On Saturdays & Sundays there are lots of lively action around the pool area (ideal for families with children & teens and lots of great salsa music). This was our 3rd trip to Puerto Rico and by far our best stay. We definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk or bell hop for assistance when deciding where to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
May 9, 2011

Great location

Great friendly staff.... hotel was just a block from the beach.... hotel, surroundings and beaches were kept very clean... food at the hotel were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2011

Great Stay

I was traveling with my 7 and 9 year olds who really only cared about the swimming pool. We moved to the Verdanza after three days at the Conquistador which is a fabolous resort, upon arriving at the Verdanza, I was hoping that my kids would not feel that it was a let down. We arrived about 8 o'clock that night and there was traffic everywhere, the parking lot was full and there was a LIVELY party going on in the lobby, we were assigned a room overlooking the lobby where we could hear the live music. I went to the staff and told them that just would not work for us and they immediately moved us to a room overlooking the pool, the staff was amazing, my kids loved the food choices at the restaurants, the pool, and everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Apr 26, 2011

Family getaway

Our stay at the Verdanza was really good. The Hotel staff was friendly from the front desk to housekeeping. They have several fast food restaurants nearby but I will recommend the asian restaurant and the 820 bistro restaurant both located in the lobby area. And if you like burgers you should try their big burgers they serve in the pool area. they are seasoned with sofrito and adobo(Puerto Rican seasoning) and there are very very good. They only thing I didn't like was that I requested a crib for my infant daughter and it wasn't in our room. They gave us a playpen instead of a crib. Other than that, Is a good hotel with good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a casino nearby located in the Embassy Suites resort located next to the Verdanza Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxime
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Puerto Ricco is the place to be

Really liked the Hotel we stayed in, very close to the beach (4min walk). Their pool is awesome too. I will definitely come back again !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend to go for the local food reastaurant and you'll feel the PR life style...Avoid all the junk food that you already eat at home :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livingston nj
Apr 23, 2011

Friendliest hotel in PR

Only problem was that we were supposed to have adjoining rooms and had to separate the family which was upsetting. Motel staff was friendly and eager to please. Pool was gorgeous and restaurants in hotel were excellent. Weather was beautiful - a virtual paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkeling trip to an island was a great day and well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kungen
Business
PA
Apr 14, 2011

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the chinese place. We went there with our 14 months old daughter and the server after taking our order did not bring the food out for one hour until I went up to him and canceled the food and we had to go somewhere else to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top