$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
fort myers,fl
Jul 13, 2011

it was okay for one night

refrigerator was not working. pool was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Aguadilla, PR
Jul 5, 2011

Good for family and couples

We went to the pool, rest in the room. rest in the pool area, and walked around Isla Verde. I think all is ok in the hotel. Is confortable and have 3 options to eat. The pool is comfortable and the yards are very preaty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Utah
Jun 29, 2011

Stay at Isla Verde

The area of Isla Verde is a crowded area, but close to beach. It's near many fast food restaurants. However, if you're looking for seclusion this is not the area to stay in. We were close to the bus stop to go to Old San Juan which is about a 45 minute bus ride. The hotel is nice, modern, and clean. The rooms were smaller than expected and the toilet was running, but not a real nuisance. We had a fridge which was nice and the pool was fun, the hot tub was hot. There are many families that stay here with little kids so the pool area was crowded. Be careful, they will charge you for any phone call so use a cell phone. Also, housekeeping starts cleaning at 8 or 9 in the morning and they are not quiet. But overall, the hotel was fine. It's also close to a supermarket. The highlight of our trip was a rainforest tour with the company Rocaliza. It was about 130$ to go hiking in a beautiful forest up rivers, repelling down waterfalls, and 3 zip lines. They provided transportation from the hotel and provide a authentic puerto rican lunch prepared by a local family. It was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rocaliza Eco Tour!!! Amazing hiking, repelling, and ziplining through the rainforest. We got the information from an ad in a magazine in the hotel room.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaction Time!
Single
Miami, Fl
Jun 19, 2011

Vaction Time!

The hotel was very nice, and Joann at the front desk was the BEST! There were minor issues along the way, but thanks to [...]they are not worth mentioning. They have a Bristrol within the hotel and the food there was great. The room was nice, the service was nice, and the over all stay was great! Thanks again to [...]and the rest of the staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenibesa
Couples
Detroit, MI
Jun 12, 2011

Great service, Poolside Room

Hotel was nice and clean. Our room was on the ground floor directly across from the pool and jacuzzi, which was very convenient. The pool and gardens area were well kept. The jacuzzi was very hot, almost too hot at times. We had a nice little fridge to keep snacks in, coffee maker, a hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and a CD alarm clock. The water pressure was really good in the shower and the temperature got nice and hot. The TV remote wasn't working properly and we couldn't control the volume with it, but that was a minor inconvenience. There is a fitness area on the top floor, which I definitely utilized while there. They had a couple treadmills, an elliptical machine, recumbent bike, incline bench with dumbbells, and several machines to work out the arms and legs (Sorry can't remember what) The staff was very friendly and helpful, and always greeting us when we passed them in the hotel. I was disappointed that some of the services advertised were not offered during our stay.. For example, they advertise poolside drink service, but I never saw a waiter anywhere near the pool, and the coffee shop was not open. They advertise free wi-fi, but that is only in the lobby area, although some poolside rooms can pick up the signal. Luckily my room was able to, but I would have been very displeased if not. They also advertise a pedi-cab that takes you to and from the beach and surrounding businesses. It was kind of hit and miss whether the pedi-cab was out there, but the beach is so close its not a big deal to walk there. I was kind of irritated that the lobby coffee/desert shop that was advertised is not officially open yet (I am a huge coffee nut). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants, because I had read in previous reviews that they are overpriced and the food is sub par, so I can't comment on that. We went out to eat most of the time. For the most part, the hotel was great, and we enjoyed our time there. The disappointments were minor compared to the great service we received. Will definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good 24 hr pizza joint that is open to the outside within walking distance of the hotel, near the beach, called Pizza City. Very simple, but good food and cheaply priced. Also lots of fast food options and a Walgreens within a block or two of the hotel. The pedi-cab will also take you there if you'd rather not walk.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Relax
Couples
San Juan, PR
May 30, 2011

The giod, the great, and the excellent

All we were looking for was for some relaxation time, this hotel offers that and much more. Great and confort rooms, always clean, vgreat food options> we couldn't ask for more. The only thing we did not like was CHECKING OUT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel offers different restaurants for different tastes> but, if you are not looking for dinning at the hotel, there are A LOT of options walking distances!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Miami
May 15, 2011

Excellent price for the location

Personnel very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Chuck
Family
Atlanta, Ga
May 14, 2011

Was Ok, but for price it was fine

When we arrived on Tuesday the hotel looked very beautiful from the outside. Check-in was long because their printer was not working well. After securing room 1021 the bellman who was very good took our luggage to the room. Our room had no view, one tree and a construction site. The pool view rooms have NO ELEVATOR all and everything must be carried up and down stairs. We requested a room on the 1st level, they accommodated our request(very bad request)and moved us to room 1011.The rooms are very small, and this particular room smelled wet possibly some sort of previous flood damage. The bathroom has a separate room for toilet and shower, it smelled the worst. I was there to scuba dive, the heat did not work in the room so it was impossible to dry anything. The language barrier is very hard to overcome, but the staff was great. I was hit with a $13.50 unknown tax charge at check-out not much but when you pay for vacation package it's very unexpected. Read ALL FINE prints. Overall the trip served it's purpose. Will definately stay elsewhere next time. [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plato's restaurant was fantastic. Not a far walk, right around the corner

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2011

Had An Enjoyable Stay

This was strictly a 5 days/5 nights R&R trip and we were pleased with the Hotel and its extremely helpful staff. The food was a bit over-priced but there were lots of great restaurants and night spots within walking distance of the hotel. The area around the hotel was completely safe (lots of uniformed police patrols). My wife and I spent most of our stay on the beach (1 1/2 blocks away) and even at 5:00 am when we photograped the morning sunrise we felt completely safe on the beach. On Saturdays & Sundays there are lots of lively action around the pool area (ideal for families with children & teens and lots of great salsa music). This was our 3rd trip to Puerto Rico and by far our best stay. We definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk or bell hop for assistance when deciding where to dine.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rockville, MD
May 9, 2011

Great location

Great friendly staff.... hotel was just a block from the beach.... hotel, surroundings and beaches were kept very clean... food at the hotel were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top