$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
336 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2011

Just OKay...won't go back

I was disappointed with the hotel because we had 3 people in the room and we were only given 2 bath towels...my daughter and I had to share a bath towel...housekeeping said they were only allowe to give 2 towels per room. We had 3 blackouts while we were there at night and they had no generator. The staff at the door were very helpful and curtious. I also didn't think that hotel guests should have to pay for parking! The hotel was very clean though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

different fast food places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort myers,fl
Jul 13, 2011

it was okay for one night

refrigerator was not working. pool was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aguadilla, PR
Jul 5, 2011

Good for family and couples

We went to the pool, rest in the room. rest in the pool area, and walked around Isla Verde. I think all is ok in the hotel. Is confortable and have 3 options to eat. The pool is comfortable and the yards are very preaty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jun 29, 2011

Stay at Isla Verde

The area of Isla Verde is a crowded area, but close to beach. It's near many fast food restaurants. However, if you're looking for seclusion this is not the area to stay in. We were close to the bus stop to go to Old San Juan which is about a 45 minute bus ride. The hotel is nice, modern, and clean. The rooms were smaller than expected and the toilet was running, but not a real nuisance. We had a fridge which was nice and the pool was fun, the hot tub was hot. There are many families that stay here with little kids so the pool area was crowded. Be careful, they will charge you for any phone call so use a cell phone. Also, housekeeping starts cleaning at 8 or 9 in the morning and they are not quiet. But overall, the hotel was fine. It's also close to a supermarket. The highlight of our trip was a rainforest tour with the company Rocaliza. It was about 130$ to go hiking in a beautiful forest up rivers, repelling down waterfalls, and 3 zip lines. They provided transportation from the hotel and provide a authentic puerto rican lunch prepared by a local family. It was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rocaliza Eco Tour!!! Amazing hiking, repelling, and ziplining through the rainforest. We got the information from an ad in a magazine in the hotel room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaction Time!
Business
Miami, Fl
Jun 19, 2011

Vaction Time!

The hotel was very nice, and Joann at the front desk was the BEST! There were minor issues along the way, but thanks to [...]they are not worth mentioning. They have a Bristrol within the hotel and the food there was great. The room was nice, the service was nice, and the over all stay was great! Thanks again to [...]and the rest of the staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenibesa
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 12, 2011

Great service, Poolside Room

Hotel was nice and clean. Our room was on the ground floor directly across from the pool and jacuzzi, which was very convenient. The pool and gardens area were well kept. The jacuzzi was very hot, almost too hot at times. We had a nice little fridge to keep snacks in, coffee maker, a hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and a CD alarm clock. The water pressure was really good in the shower and the temperature got nice and hot. The TV remote wasn't working properly and we couldn't control the volume with it, but that was a minor inconvenience. There is a fitness area on the top floor, which I definitely utilized while there. They had a couple treadmills, an elliptical machine, recumbent bike, incline bench with dumbbells, and several machines to work out the arms and legs (Sorry can't remember what) The staff was very friendly and helpful, and always greeting us when we passed them in the hotel. I was disappointed that some of the services advertised were not offered during our stay.. For example, they advertise poolside drink service, but I never saw a waiter anywhere near the pool, and the coffee shop was not open. They advertise free wi-fi, but that is only in the lobby area, although some poolside rooms can pick up the signal. Luckily my room was able to, but I would have been very displeased if not. They also advertise a pedi-cab that takes you to and from the beach and surrounding businesses. It was kind of hit and miss whether the pedi-cab was out there, but the beach is so close its not a big deal to walk there. I was kind of irritated that the lobby coffee/desert shop that was advertised is not officially open yet (I am a huge coffee nut). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants, because I had read in previous reviews that they are overpriced and the food is sub par, so I can't comment on that. We went out to eat most of the time. For the most part, the hotel was great, and we enjoyed our time there. The disappointments were minor compared to the great service we received. Will definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good 24 hr pizza joint that is open to the outside within walking distance of the hotel, near the beach, called Pizza City. Very simple, but good food and cheaply priced. Also lots of fast food options and a Walgreens within a block or two of the hotel. The pedi-cab will also take you there if you'd rather not walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Relax
Business
San Juan, PR
May 30, 2011

The giod, the great, and the excellent

All we were looking for was for some relaxation time, this hotel offers that and much more. Great and confort rooms, always clean, vgreat food options> we couldn't ask for more. The only thing we did not like was CHECKING OUT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel offers different restaurants for different tastes> but, if you are not looking for dinning at the hotel, there are A LOT of options walking distances!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 15, 2011

Excellent price for the location

Personnel very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sweet Chuck
Business
Atlanta, Ga
May 14, 2011

Was Ok, but for price it was fine

When we arrived on Tuesday the hotel looked very beautiful from the outside. Check-in was long because their printer was not working well. After securing room 1021 the bellman who was very good took our luggage to the room. Our room had no view, one tree and a construction site. The pool view rooms have NO ELEVATOR all and everything must be carried up and down stairs. We requested a room on the 1st level, they accommodated our request(very bad request)and moved us to room 1011.The rooms are very small, and this particular room smelled wet possibly some sort of previous flood damage. The bathroom has a separate room for toilet and shower, it smelled the worst. I was there to scuba dive, the heat did not work in the room so it was impossible to dry anything. The language barrier is very hard to overcome, but the staff was great. I was hit with a $13.50 unknown tax charge at check-out not much but when you pay for vacation package it's very unexpected. Read ALL FINE prints. Overall the trip served it's purpose. Will definately stay elsewhere next time. [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plato's restaurant was fantastic. Not a far walk, right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2011

Had An Enjoyable Stay

This was strictly a 5 days/5 nights R&R trip and we were pleased with the Hotel and its extremely helpful staff. The food was a bit over-priced but there were lots of great restaurants and night spots within walking distance of the hotel. The area around the hotel was completely safe (lots of uniformed police patrols). My wife and I spent most of our stay on the beach (1 1/2 blocks away) and even at 5:00 am when we photograped the morning sunrise we felt completely safe on the beach. On Saturdays & Sundays there are lots of lively action around the pool area (ideal for families with children & teens and lots of great salsa music). This was our 3rd trip to Puerto Rico and by far our best stay. We definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask the front desk or bell hop for assistance when deciding where to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top