$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pahdoo
Couples
Texas, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Satisfying Stay

Location of Verdanza is good; on Isla Verde about 2 blocks from Carolina Beach and next door to the Embassy Suites. Room was clean, A/C worked very well to keep the room cool, bed was comfortable. Hotel is showing some age in the rooms despite the renovations. Emphasis on improvements is on the restaurants and lobby area; not as much on the rooms. Pool and pool area was nice. It appeared to be a safe, well patrolled area to walk around. Enjoyed the the visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the public beach just north of the Verdanza.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Playera
Single
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Okay. Not bad, but not GREAT :/

The lobby, front desk, and entrance area are deceptively nice which is why I think the average holiday inn style rooms were sort of disappointing...I guess with such a pretty welcome I just expected a little bit more from the room. The lobby area is so nice that they were actually filming Puerto Rico Idol while we were there, but the rooms lack luster. They are perfectly fine if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night and leave your stuff during the day....but not for the price. The rooms are a little old and outdated but if you don't care about that stuff...it's okay I guess. The bathroom was annoying, every time we showered it was as if water leaked from everywhere...toilet, ceiling, walls...it was definitely due to the lack of ventilation and condensation but as someone who has spent plenty of time in PR and the rest of the Caribbean, it's unnecessary and would not be a problem with proper ventilation. I spent no time in the pool...why go to a pool when you're two blocks from the beach??? And when I checked it out, it looked small and crowded. The fitness center was small and run down (almost everything was broken), and on the website they say they have an outdoor running area but when I asked about it no one seem to know where it was....weird. Isla verde is very touristy and so there is A LOT (way too much) of fast food. There was this one coffee/sandwhich spot worth visiting though, 1 block away right on Tartak right before the beach. I never tried the hotel's food. Overall, there are better hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Playera
Single
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Okay. Not bad, but not GREAT :/

The lobby, front desk, and entrance area are deceptively nice which is why I think the average holiday inn style rooms were sort of disappointing...I guess with such a pretty welcome I just expected a little bit more from the room. The lobby area is so nice that they were actually filming Puerto Rico Idol while we were there, but the rooms lack luster. They are perfectly fine if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night and leave your stuff during the day....but not for the price. The rooms are a little old and outdated but if you don't care about that stuff...it's okay I guess. The bathroom was annoying, every time we showered it was as if water leaked from everywhere...toilet, ceiling, walls...it was definitely due to the lack of ventilation and condensation but as someone who has spent plenty of time in PR and the rest of the Caribbean, it's unnecessary and would not be a problem with proper ventilation. I spent no time in the pool...why go to a pool when you're two blocks from the beach??? And when I checked it out, it looked small and crowded. The fitness center was small and run down (almost everything was broken), and on the website they say they have an outdoor running area but when I asked about it no one seem to know where it was....weird. Isla verde is very touristy and so there is A LOT (way too much) of fast food. There was this one coffee/sandwhich spot worth visiting though, 1 block away right on Tartak right before the beach. I never tried the hotel's food. Overall, there are better hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Visit Culebra and get to the ferry dock early. If you are a beach bum...well worth it :)

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VALENTINO
Couples
KISSIMMEE,FL
Aug 17, 2011

OUTSTANDING HOTEL

WE MADE A PERFECT CHOICE FOR OUR LEISURE & BUSINESS TRIP WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL/RESTAURANTS(BURGER KING/PONDEROSA) ARE ALSO CLOSE BY/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CASINO IS NEXT TO THE HOTEL(ON YOUR RIGHT).ALSO,WHEN RENTING A CAR, CHARLIE CAR RENTAL(3 BLOCKS ON YOUR LEFT) IS THE CHEAPEST ONE AND AIRPORT SHUTTLE IS INCLUDED.NEW HIGHWAY TOLL SYSTEM IMPLEMENTED...NO MORE COINS ACCEPTED IN TOLLS/NEED TO BUY TOLL CARDS($20.00) OR HAVE DOLLAR BILLS ON HAND/MUST ASK YOUR RENTAL CAR COMPANY FOR FURTHER INFORMATION/EVEN ISLANDERS ARE GETTING FRUSTATED BY THIS NEW CHANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dazzled
Family
San Antonio, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Much needed vacation

The location was great...close to restaurants and a short distance to beach and 2 casinos. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to go. Car rental is a must to be enjoy other sites in the island of Puerto Rico. Enjoyed the pool after walking in Old San Juan. FYI --peak time is Oct/Nov when traveling to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrissie
Couples
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Nice for the price

My boyfriend and I took a trip to San Juan this past week. The hotel was nice, very great for the price. The staff was friendly and the location, although not right on the beach, was just a three-minute walk to the beach. The bed was very, very comfy. The carpets were stained, made the room look a little crummy, but other than that everything was great. I would recommend renting a car and venturing out of the San Juan area. We took our car to the west end of the island near Rincon and Isabela. Great views, beautiful beaches (though not for swimming, since the waves are pretty big), and almost all locals. Great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't take a cab to Old San Juan .. it costs 20 dollars. Take the bus instead, it costs 75 cents!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orlando, Florida
Aug 10, 2011

Simply Wonderful!!!1

The hotel overall is a good stay. We stayed in the outside tower overlooking the pool with a balcony. The room showed it's age; however, the staff was great and we had a wonderful time. There are several restaurants you must go to: Mi Casita Restauran whichi is within walking distance. Ask for the mofongo filled with shrimp. I would stay in this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you rent a car you must pay $10.00 a night to park or $12.00 for valet. There are a many restaurants within walking distance and the area appears to be safe as you will see many police cars driving in the area.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Vineland, NJ
Aug 2, 2011

Fabulous Staff

The hotel staff was awesome, friendly, helpful, and very professional! The room was bright and very clean. The bathroom was very small and cramped, our toilet was angled so the door was able to shut, but we have no complaints. About three hours after we checked out, I realized I left my jewelry, including my great-grandmothers antique platinum and diamond engagement ring in the room. We called immediately and they had all the jewelry and offered several options for us to get it back. We were snorkeling but as soon as we could we returned to the hotel. The valet guy recognized us right away and remembered we had already checked out, he immediately went to retrieve the jewelry for us. It took only two minutes from the minute we walked in to get it back. I have stayed here before and I cannot express enough how awesome the staff is. The restaurants our a bit pricey (aren't they always), but the decor is bright and upbeat and the hotel is very clean. I would definitely stay there again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on Snorkeling, you MUST book through Barefoot tours, its definitely the best bang for your buck, you can book the trip through the hotel and transportation is a little extra but well worth it! Also around the corner from the hotel, Pizza city, great food, low prices and fresh Pina Colodas.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsnkalu[@]
Couples
new york
Jul 22, 2011

family spot

This hotel was nice. Too far from the beach about a 1/2 mile. The pool was overcrowded. Vey small for the amount of kids. They did not have the accomadation I paid for our first night there. Worst of all they charge their guest to park at on the hotel parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay over at condado beach area

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Jul 21, 2011

Just OKay...won't go back

I was disappointed with the hotel because we had 3 people in the room and we were only given 2 bath towels...my daughter and I had to share a bath towel...housekeeping said they were only allowe to give 2 towels per room. We had 3 blackouts while we were there at night and they had no generator. The staff at the door were very helpful and curtious. I also didn't think that hotel guests should have to pay for parking! The hotel was very clean though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

different fast food places to eat

Back to menu Return to top