$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texasbabe
Business
Texas
Nov 2, 2011

Nice Place to Stay

Clean rooms, some of the staff could have been friendlier, good location near beach. Enjoyed stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gbjjct
Business
MA
Oct 24, 2011

recent trip

this hotel is a 5 minute drive to the airport, and a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, a casino, and a Starbucks. it's also walking distance to several restaurants, and a 24-hr walgreen's. i wouldn't mind staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Oct 10, 2011

Weekend Getaway

Lovely premises, however the room was small and very dirty. A/C vent needed cleaning, bathroom dirty and smelly. Room smelled very moldy, which triggered sinus attacks in my whole family, and the sheets and blankets were stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Falu
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Oct 7, 2011

Hotel Review

The hotel was ok but for the money it was a little short coming. Rooms are small and air conditioner was vert loud. I would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
flintdog
Business
Lorton, VA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

I expect to take showers in hot water. Well I didnt. The water was cold my entire duration. I put a trouble call to the front desk with no success. Also, I stayed for 3 nights and didnt get my room cleaned once. Of course I had my do not disturb sign, but when I depart my room at 5:00 pm and ask the front desk to please send someone to clean my room and I come back at 10:00 pm and my room is still not clean I find this to be a huge problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pahdoo
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Satisfying Stay

Location of Verdanza is good; on Isla Verde about 2 blocks from Carolina Beach and next door to the Embassy Suites. Room was clean, A/C worked very well to keep the room cool, bed was comfortable. Hotel is showing some age in the rooms despite the renovations. Emphasis on improvements is on the restaurants and lobby area; not as much on the rooms. Pool and pool area was nice. It appeared to be a safe, well patrolled area to walk around. Enjoyed the the visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the public beach just north of the Verdanza.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Playera
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Okay. Not bad, but not GREAT :/

The lobby, front desk, and entrance area are deceptively nice which is why I think the average holiday inn style rooms were sort of disappointing...I guess with such a pretty welcome I just expected a little bit more from the room. The lobby area is so nice that they were actually filming Puerto Rico Idol while we were there, but the rooms lack luster. They are perfectly fine if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night and leave your stuff during the day....but not for the price. The rooms are a little old and outdated but if you don't care about that stuff...it's okay I guess. The bathroom was annoying, every time we showered it was as if water leaked from everywhere...toilet, ceiling, walls...it was definitely due to the lack of ventilation and condensation but as someone who has spent plenty of time in PR and the rest of the Caribbean, it's unnecessary and would not be a problem with proper ventilation. I spent no time in the pool...why go to a pool when you're two blocks from the beach??? And when I checked it out, it looked small and crowded. The fitness center was small and run down (almost everything was broken), and on the website they say they have an outdoor running area but when I asked about it no one seem to know where it was....weird. Isla verde is very touristy and so there is A LOT (way too much) of fast food. There was this one coffee/sandwhich spot worth visiting though, 1 block away right on Tartak right before the beach. I never tried the hotel's food. Overall, there are better hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Playera
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Okay. Not bad, but not GREAT :/

The lobby, front desk, and entrance area are deceptively nice which is why I think the average holiday inn style rooms were sort of disappointing...I guess with such a pretty welcome I just expected a little bit more from the room. The lobby area is so nice that they were actually filming Puerto Rico Idol while we were there, but the rooms lack luster. They are perfectly fine if you just want a clean place to rest your head at night and leave your stuff during the day....but not for the price. The rooms are a little old and outdated but if you don't care about that stuff...it's okay I guess. The bathroom was annoying, every time we showered it was as if water leaked from everywhere...toilet, ceiling, walls...it was definitely due to the lack of ventilation and condensation but as someone who has spent plenty of time in PR and the rest of the Caribbean, it's unnecessary and would not be a problem with proper ventilation. I spent no time in the pool...why go to a pool when you're two blocks from the beach??? And when I checked it out, it looked small and crowded. The fitness center was small and run down (almost everything was broken), and on the website they say they have an outdoor running area but when I asked about it no one seem to know where it was....weird. Isla verde is very touristy and so there is A LOT (way too much) of fast food. There was this one coffee/sandwhich spot worth visiting though, 1 block away right on Tartak right before the beach. I never tried the hotel's food. Overall, there are better hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Visit Culebra and get to the ferry dock early. If you are a beach bum...well worth it :)

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VALENTINO
Business
KISSIMMEE,FL
Aug 17, 2011

OUTSTANDING HOTEL

WE MADE A PERFECT CHOICE FOR OUR LEISURE & BUSINESS TRIP WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL/RESTAURANTS(BURGER KING/PONDEROSA) ARE ALSO CLOSE BY/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CASINO IS NEXT TO THE HOTEL(ON YOUR RIGHT).ALSO,WHEN RENTING A CAR, CHARLIE CAR RENTAL(3 BLOCKS ON YOUR LEFT) IS THE CHEAPEST ONE AND AIRPORT SHUTTLE IS INCLUDED.NEW HIGHWAY TOLL SYSTEM IMPLEMENTED...NO MORE COINS ACCEPTED IN TOLLS/NEED TO BUY TOLL CARDS($20.00) OR HAVE DOLLAR BILLS ON HAND/MUST ASK YOUR RENTAL CAR COMPANY FOR FURTHER INFORMATION/EVEN ISLANDERS ARE GETTING FRUSTATED BY THIS NEW CHANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dazzled
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Much needed vacation

The location was great...close to restaurants and a short distance to beach and 2 casinos. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to go. Car rental is a must to be enjoy other sites in the island of Puerto Rico. Enjoyed the pool after walking in Old San Juan. FYI --peak time is Oct/Nov when traveling to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top