$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
336 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey 333
Business
Springville, Utah
Jul 17, 2012

Amazing!

The hotel is nice. The pool is amazing. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is walking distance to the beach. Everything was real nice. One day we did not get room service, but they gave us a free complimentary breakfast to make up for it! I would stay here again. This is a perfect place to stay if you have children because the pool is the BEST EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Bio Bay! The most amazing sight ever. I would also recommend going to Flemenco Beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nachwa
Business
Stford, ct
Jul 21, 2012

Baby Moon!!!

My husband and I stayed at the Verdanza for 5 days . Location was great not even 5 minutes walk to the beach, swimming pool nice and clean, room was big and clean. I did have little hard time sleeping but I am 8 months pregnant. Service and staff very nice and friendly helpful with directions and places we should visit while our stay!!! Enjoyed every part of our trip!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackMc
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 18, 2012

A good spot...

In short, I'd stay here again. Here's why. Prior to and after our cruise we stayed at the Verdanza and were very happy. Is it perfect, no. Is it a dive, no way. It's clean, located near the beach, and close to pretty much everything you could want. All the staff are very nice and helpful. The restaurants are good. The first room we had was close to the pool & we were there on a Saturday. So, there was a bit of noise from kids playing but they quieted down in the early evening. After the cruise our room was away from the pool in the "tower". There was no pool noise & the room was bigger and generally nicer. The internet's free and there's a good coffee bar inside. Location: 5 mins from airport and 5 min walk from beach & local bars. Nice & safe area. There's also a grocery store in walking distance. Restaurants: good local places($) and high end restaurants ($$$) in surrounding hotels makes the Verdanza ideally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short drive or cab to Pinones (10 mins) and eat. It's local, the food's really good, the beer's cheap and the people are super nice. We went there on the recommendation of the front desk clerk who said "it has Puerto Rican food at Puerto Rican prices." He was right. It's not like the Four Seasons but it's a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Dad 1278
Business
State College, PA
Aug 15, 2012

Good hotel for the money

Nice swimming pool, very close to beach, 3 restaurants, nice lobby. Our room was a bit tired. Service was good. Young kids enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IggMoney
Business
NYC
Sep 6, 2012

Verdanza Stay

Duration: 1 week Location: Was a close drive from the airport (about a 5 min), A block and a half from the beach, about a 20 min drive from Old San Juan, and not far from numerous night clubs, and restaurants. For great home made rican food check out Mi Casita which is located in a lot around the corner from the Hotel. Staff: Friendly and accommodating they welcomed me with a coconut Icy, and gave me options on different rooms. Somebody was always at the door to greeat/open it. Everybody speaks English in case you're not Espanol savy. Rooms: Rooms were comfy, and nice, and had everything you need, equipped with blow dryers Ironing board, Wi Fi, Phone. However, I don't see in spending too much time in the room when in PR unless you're sick, or sleeping. Amenities: Pool is nice, bar and food service running orders to you all day. POOL IS OPEN 24-7 which is aweome. Conference Center, Event Space, and 3 restaurants (Tapas Bar, Rican food, & Asian Fusion) complement the hotel Lobby, however they were a bit pricey. All in all a great hotel, good staff and amenities. Good place to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The San Juan Hotel just a short walk away throws some pretty good parties, in the lobby as well as numerous clubs within.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3Law Student
Business
San Juan, PR
Sep 18, 2012

Great place for a vacation

The Hotel is located 10 minutes from the San Juan, airport. The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job maintaing it that way. The beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect. Located in a great area to get around. You have to pay $10 for parking everyday. I would recommend renting a car because the taxis are very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom Diane C
Business
New York
Oct 7, 2012

Fantastic Place

Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and pleasant. I'm so glad I chose to stay at this hotel I have no complaint at all. If your looking to be near the airport and near all the best site seeing this is a great hotel to stay. You will be treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shakaib
Business
New york
Oct 9, 2012

Good buy

, stayed friday,sat,and sun in October cost $350 with taxes included. 5 to 8 minutes from the airport. Nice clean room with 2 queen bed, friendly staff, parking is $10 per night, I parked outside abt 5 to 10 minutes away. Couldnt do an early check in, a lil annoying cuz check out is at 12 so they should've been able to get me a room by 1:30 to 2:00 but I had to wait till 3...other than that everything went well... Oh n the pool is a decent size outside pool. I would reccomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El jibarito, very good food, not very expensive, just google the name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlessaju
Business
brooklyn, ny
Nov 7, 2012

Great Value..Family Friendly Child Friendly..Great Staff

I recently took a trip with my 9yr old son and as stated in prior review the location is great, just a few mins from the airport. I was shocked at how quickly we arrived at the hotel after leaving the airport took a few mins. Transportation in the area is great, the bus run like every 15 mins into Old San Juan. The hotel itself is very nice. The 8020 restaurant is a bit expensive for breakfast so we went off site exploring to have breakfast..which is also close by. I did like the Asian Fusion restaurant and thought it was worth it. The little snack deli on the location was expensive also 2 teas cost me at $6 bucks. The beach is one block away. The staff was SUPER Friendly and very nice to us. The rooms were moderate but nice..the bathrooms could use a bit of a upgrade. The pool was nice and I definitely felt like the hotel was family\child friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Restaurants in the area that are inexpensive. Close to Taco Bell, Burger King, Ponderosa, Walgreens, KFC, and Pizza Hut. All practically on one block. Even the super market is two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Padrino
Business
Seattle
Nov 15, 2012

Good pool and waterpark for kids.

The kids had a great time playing in the water park. The hotel was quite loud on Saturday night, and the noise appeared to be coming from a band on the second floor. As we were on the third, I would recommend a high floor in this hotel if noise is a concern. One block to beach. Don't go to Mi Casita restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dancing at El San Juan hotel on Saturday night is the best decision you can make.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top