$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
335 reviews
Great Time!

I booked this trip for my daughters (7 & 15yrs) and myself and we had the best time ever! The hotel... See full review

  • Bklyn Girl
  • Jul 12, 2014
Weekend getaway

Awesome stay. The only thing they can improve is the parking. Sometimes the automatic gate didnt... See full review

  • Manny cabrera
  • May 12, 2014
Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.
Key facts
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4412 -66.0216
Area served
Carolina, San Juan, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Bayamon, Guaynabo
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - Estimate driving time from airport is 10 minutes.
Area description
Located a mile from the airport but away from the noise and only a short taxi ride away. The Verdanza Hotel is steps away from a bus stop. Visit our concierge desk for information on routes and itineraries. In addition to a bus stop across the street and a car rental office on the property, a trolley service courtesy of the Municipality of Carolina takes guests around and about the Isla Verde area. Called SiTrac, the distinctive red trolley bus completes its route every 25 minutes from 6 am to 5 pm. Taxis are also easily available at the hotel, day and night.
The Verdanza Hotel, Carolina enjoys a superb location in the heart of Isla Verde, Puerto Rico only steps away from one of the Caribbean's liveliest white sand beaches and other great area attractions. At night, Isla Verde comes alive with a wide range of nightlife choices, from live entertainment, to dance clubs, casinos, and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Featuring one (1) king bed in Executive Club accommodation, inclusive of continental breakfast daily at the Club Lounge. King-bed accommodation only. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Coladas
It's the first authentic Puerto Rican eatery to become a signature restaurant for a major local hotel, the Verdanza Hotel in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
Reminiscent of a 70's tavern and featuring a stylish dcor in a rich palette of jewel-tone colors, the walls in the bar are covered with album jackets from local pop artists and other stars from Puerto Rico's 'Nueva Ola' music - as well as from legendary salsa performers: Fania All Stars, Hector Lavoe, and La Lupe, among others. A shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the nightlife Isla Verde, Puerto Rico.
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRMOM Love to travel
Puerto Rico
Jul 9, 2012

Great location and hotel - Issues with room

Great location and hotel for its price. Excellent service from hotel employees. Rooms were a little dated but comfortable, bathroom looked like it needed a refurbishing asap. Main issue was the A/C that made a horrible noise everytime the compressor started, and it was almost every 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackMc
Rochester, NY
Jun 18, 2012

A good spot...

In short, I'd stay here again. Here's why. Prior to and after our cruise we stayed at the Verdanza and were very happy. Is it perfect, no. Is it a dive, no way. It's clean, located near the beach, and close to pretty much everything you could want. All the staff are very nice and helpful. The restaurants are good. The first room we had was close to the pool & we were there on a Saturday. So, there was a bit of noise from kids playing but they quieted down in the early evening. After the cruise our room was away from the pool in the "tower". There was no pool noise & the room was bigger and generally nicer. The internet's free and there's a good coffee bar inside. Location: 5 mins from airport and 5 min walk from beach & local bars. Nice & safe area. There's also a grocery store in walking distance. Restaurants: good local places($) and high end restaurants ($$$) in surrounding hotels makes the Verdanza ideally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short drive or cab to Pinones (10 mins) and eat. It's local, the food's really good, the beer's cheap and the people are super nice. We went there on the recommendation of the front desk clerk who said "it has Puerto Rican food at Puerto Rican prices." He was right. It's not like the Four Seasons but it's a lot of fun.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PuertoRicoTraveler
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2012

Exactly what I needed :)

This hotel was the last stop on our journey of traveling around Puerto Rico before we went home. The amenities it offered were great, as was the service. Our room gave us the much needed comfort that we needed after our long trip. Very happy that I chose to stay here and will definately stay here again. Only con was the resturants located inside were too pricey $$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for a resturant that will provide you with good food for cheap then Galluzo is your best bet. Good breakfast and lunch for your value and it is only one block down the street from hotel.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOLY
NEW YORK
Jun 1, 2012

HELO

Verynice, I did Like it and also I in joy it to evrything was just find the staff all the people around it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr. Martinez
Hartford, CT
May 26, 2012

Extreamly Impressive

The location, the super attentive, friendly staff made our stay there so much more pleasant than other hotels that we have stayed in the past. Its all about the staff. Can't thank them enough... If you stay in any other place, your missing out .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One can not be any closer. We rented a car and it sat in the parking lot...

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arch Travel Review
Durham, North Carolina
May 22, 2012

Verdanza

We stayed at the Verdanza for 3 nights. Pros: - Great staff support - car rental available at hotel - shuttle to and from airport - Good breakfast(worth buying breakfast deal with hotel booking) Cons: - Not ocean facing(5 minutes walk to the ocean) - No free parking We enjoyed our stay at verdanza over all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to the old city, the rain forest and the camuy caves. The maximum you might have to drive is about 40 minutes. Don't forget to bring your GPS with you. If you are from continental USA your GPS will work in PR.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr.V
Carolina, PR
May 8, 2012

An Average Stay

The location was good, but the room was sub par. I would look to stay in a different hotel my next stay in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Special K
New Jersey
May 4, 2012

Hospitable Staff

The staff were very personable, and willing to assist when needed. On our second night there, the hot water in our room stopped working. We were provided another room temporarily, and immediately upgraded to a better room on the following morning.... I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and will book there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ordered breakfast from the Bostro within the hotel. The food was delicious, and we were given a very generous amount of food. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeasonedTraveller968
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 30, 2012

A Great Hotel, In an OK Spot

This hotel is very good. I had a nicely laid out room. Attention to detail in free WiFi, towel presentation, etc. However the towels in the bathroom were dirty and the ice machine, 2 rooms distance away from me kept me awake absolutely all night. If they gave up a room on each floor to house the noisy thing they would have a lot happier customers! I did not eat at the bar/dinner restaurant but did have breakfast which while not cheap was nicely done. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, except when the hot water shut off at 7am and I had a flight to catch and no-one could give me a better answer than to have a cold shower for the next 2 hours - surely resorts of this standard should have backup systems for something as important as the boilers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach while not directly accessible from the hotel really is just one block away and it really does make it better value than paying up for the 200metres!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on location
Business
New Britain, CT, USA
Apr 30, 2012

good value!

First floor rooms by the pool are not the best; high traffic, noise, and bathrooms are very small. I requested a change and it was perfect. The location is great (nearby the airport, restaurants and casinos). Plus a taxi to San Juan/Condado is a 15 mins ride! The staff was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Embassy, San Juan, and Intercontinental are minutes away walking. They tend to have great activities during the weekend (live music and dancing)... stay at Verdanza, enjoy the activities and save $$$.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search