$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
394 reviews
First Time in Puerto Rico

This is a really great hotel and the staff whether they are at the front desk or in the hallways... See full review

  • dimery r.
  • Jun 16, 2015
Excellent Staff

We stayed here after a week long cruise for 2 nights before heading home. It was magical! The staff... See full review

  • Lindsey M.
  • May 7, 2015

Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at the Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.

Location

Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.

Highlights
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Policies

Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Club Room with King Bed features arched ceilings and includes daily deluxe continental breakfast in the Club Floor Lounge. Perfect for executives and couples. Choice upon availability of city view or partial ocean view. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Burger Bar
The Burger Bar is our take on the classic burger joint. It features handcrafted gourmet burgers and artisanal beers in a laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Sports enthusiasts will love watching major sporting events live on flat screens monitors while sipping on their favorite brew or nibbling on great grub! Meanwhile, outdoors, a shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the Isla Verde nightlife. Daily happy hours | Game Day Specials Open daily from 4:00pm
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Divino Wine & Tapas
A stylish and cozy wine bar for connoisseurs and novices alike to explore the world of wines. It features over 40 wine labels available by the glass and a menu of tapas designed to perfectly complement the wines. Life is too short to drink bad wine! DiVino is available daily from 6:00pm.
Ristretto Cafe
And for gourmet Puerto Rican coffee prepared by professional baristas visit Ristretto Caf, where you will also find a selection organic teas, freshly-baked pastries, and deli sandwiches, among other treats. Did you know? In 2013, Ristrettos Mariarosa Gmez was named National Barista Champion of the Year, the first woman to win this recognition on the island. Ristretto is open daily from 6:30 am to 7:00pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Its not business as usual when you host your meetings at Verdanza Hotel. Verdanza offers more than 16,000 square feet of versatile indoor and outdoor meeting space with room for up to 400 guests. With options ranging from an executive boardroom to a rooftop terrace with panoramic views, Verdanza focuses on its strengths as an independent " greater flexibility, faster turn-around time and more direct contact with clients " to offer a new brand alternative.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loved South Beach
Business
Michigan
Feb 20, 2014

Great hotel

This was a very nice hotel to stay at and I would definitely recommend. Quite a few restaurants on site. Great continental breakfast. Pool was very nice. Staff was accommodating and quite pleasant. The workout facility had a great view and you could walk out and take pictures from the top floor. I enjoyed the spacious layout of the room, especially the bathroom area. It makes it a lot easier for two people to get ready to go out at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Brava and other bars/restaurants all within walking distance.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snf getaway
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

Great experience, will come back!

Wonderful experience. Friendly staff, clean rooms, yummy food from asian bistro, great view from hotel! Will definitely come back. Thanks again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boonan
Business
hamden,conn.
Mar 15, 2014

4th times the best

we just got back from 4th stay at the verdanza hotel. we look forward to booking our 5th trip in march 2015. thestaff and owners make you feel very comfortable. the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach. the rest. are all very good. pool area is great. hotel and grounds are very well maintained. the best value is isla verde!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DiannandBill
Business
Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

Great for staying before and after a cruise

The location is great, close to the airport, and a short cab ride to Old San Juan and the cruise ship port. It only takes 5 mins. to walk to a wonderful ocean beach. There are 3 restaurants on site that are great. The staff is wonderful also, they are friendly and very accommodating . We've stay at the Verdanza 7 years now and will go back whenever visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant is wonderful. We also enjoy eating outside at the 80-20.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aracelia
Business
Chicago, IL
May 1, 2007

Friendly staff

Very friendly staff. There was a great little bar that was open late. Beautiful lobby and pool. All around clean. Great location. We were a walk away from the ocean and restaurants. We had a most wonderful experience.We will definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great little nightclub just a short walk away.Good music and drinks.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose's
Business
Denver,Co
May 7, 2010

Great Hotel for the price

We enjoy our stay at this hotel,The staff was very friendly,helpful,and very professional.The customer service we received was way above our expectations.At checkout time,the clerk noticed that we had been charged extra for parking,we got credit back from the hotel,to us that's been honest with your customers.I recomend this hotel.The only thing we didn't like was the El Yunke and Luquillo beach tour.We purchased a tour from the Tour desk at the hotel,which is totally separate from the hotel,The El Yunke tour was fine,the Luquillo Beach tour,was a rip off,the Beach was nasty,dirty,and we had to pay to use the bathrooms and dressing rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend the restaurant called MI CASITA,is a tradidional puerto rican food restaurant.The service was awful and over priced.If you want good puerto rican food the hole's on the wall kind of eatery's are better.Go to old San Juan for good puerto rican food.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Virginislander
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 30, 2010

Great Service!

We were on a family vacation from the Virgin Islands and decided to stop off in Puerto Rico for a couple days. The service was excellent! From the time I arrived from the airport in a taxi there was someone at the door to greet me and open the door. This first class service only continued during my stay. We arrived a couple hours before check in, but the clerk assured me that they would provide us with a room immediately if one was available. One was available and the bell man was gracious enough to carry my luggage to our room. Taxi service and island tour information was available for us if we wanted to go sight seeing. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. My only dissapointment is that our room was not equipped with a microwave, and traveling with small children this was important for reheating those left overs. It was not much of an issue for me as I am sure one would have been provided had I asked. The light switches also did not connect to the lamps in the room. Coming in at night meant walking in the dark to a lamp to turn on the light. I definitely would stay there again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the fast food restaurants are in walking distance and provide many choices.

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelT
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 18, 2010

Unbeatable for great price loved it

Loved the hotel. We were greeted by a very friendly staff. They have car rental and tourist packages all in the hotel so you can book everything right from the lobby.. Very clean, kid friend as the pool area has a small little waterplayground area. Restaurants inside the hotel were a plus as well. I would recommend it and i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Raises Restaurant the best Puerto Rican food ever!!! Delicious and lunch specials and great prices!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glory
Business
North Carolina
Dec 12, 2010

San Juan Trip

Verdanza Hotel and staff provided the best service to my and my friend. As soon as we hit the doors, a staff member was waiting to greet us. I HIGHLY recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy their stay in PR, without any hassles. The location is great (Isla Verde) and the beach is a block away. If and when I return, I WILL definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

My friend and I split every single meal, so we ate for essentially $5 a meal. Granite, we did drink water instead of ordering drinks, but the best spot was Mi Casita. The food was great, and the pricing was right!

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicea
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

we had a great time

We had a good time in San Juan. The service at the hotel was excellent. I recommend this hotel when staying in San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top