$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 8020 Tartak Street, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
315 reviews
Wonderful stay before and after cruises

We've stayed here about 5 years now and have recommended the Verdanza to friends. This year we hope... See full review

  • DiannandBill
  • Aug 21, 2015
great stay in San Juan

I arrived late and was happy to find my room in excellent condition so I could crash and feel... See full review

  • retiredCMH
  • Aug 13, 2015

Enjoy the local beauty and culture of San Juan nestled within a contemporary atmosphere at Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts, perched just moments away from Puerto Rico's famous Alambique Beach. Relax with a clear conscience, as the hotel's commitment to responsible business practices includes rainwater-catching for its gardens, and serving locally-roasted coffee. Kids will have hours of fun in the water spray park, while grownups take a dip in the pool or unwind in the whirlpool. Guests have many food choices, with three signature restaurants all serving up continental cuisine. Wine fans will appreciate the Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar, and its many varietals on offer.

Location

Puerto Rico's lively Isla Verde district is known for its exciting dining, entertainment and casino options. Guests are just minutes away from the Puerto Rico Museum of Art and the Caribbean's largest shopping mall, the Plaza Las Americas Mall. Visit the Mozaik World Village Bazaar for global fair-trade products, and Casa Bacardi to learn more about (and sample) their famous rum. For those either seeking a party or some quiet time near the water, a series of beaches stretching for miles offer both.

Highlights
  • Pool with food and beverage service
  • Water spray park
  • Fitness center
  • 3 restaurants: J.H.Yee's, Eighty20 Bistro and Home
  • Di Vino Wine & Tapas Bar
  • Self-service business center
  • 5,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 222 guest rooms with public Wi-Fi
  • Pet program (inquire for details; fees may apply)
Policies

Take advantage of the car rental service right on the hotel grounds, or use the nearby taxi or bus service to truly explore San Juan. Use the boarding pass printing service when you're ready to leave, and save some time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

★★★
$109
3.6 / 5 165 reviews
★★★★
$130
4.2 / 5 150 reviews
★★★
$116
4.1 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 241 reviews
★★★★
$120
4.0 / 5 528 reviews
★★★
$116
3.6 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 374 reviews

Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Superior Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in traditional city-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Deluxe Room
Featuring one (1) king or two (2) double-beds in deluxe garden-view accommodation.Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed. King or 2 beds assigned upon check-in, based on availability. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted in a king bedded room. A maximum of 4 guests in a double bedded room - additional guest charges may apply.
Executive Club
Club Room with King Bed features arched ceilings and includes daily deluxe continental breakfast in the Club Floor Lounge. Perfect for executives and couples. Choice upon availability of city view or partial ocean view. Each room is equipped with modern conveniences such as free wireless internet access, iPod docking station, flat screen TV with premium cable programming and movies-on-demand, working station, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker and premium Puerto Rican coffee, two bottles of mineral water. As a guest of Verdanza Hotel, you also enjoy free WiFi in public areas (including poolside), as well as unlimited access to the fitness and computer rooms. No rollaway permitted. A maximum of 2 guests permitted.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.3 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.1 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.1 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.4 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.5 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.5 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.6 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.6 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.6 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.6 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.6 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.6 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.3 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.8 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.5 mi

Dining

Eighty 20 Bristo
Against the backdrop of a minimalist dcor in shades of black, white, and orange, this South Beach-inspired bistro features a cuisine that ranges from modern interpretations of classics, such as the Baby Kobe Burgers, to full on fusion dishes such as the Grilled Caribbean Jerk Shrimp with Coconut Risotto and Pineapple 'Pico de Gallo'.
In the bistro tradition, a great variety of salads, sandwiches, and tapas are among the menu offerings at this San Juan restaurant at the Verdanza Hotel.
Damin Hernandez, Chef de Cuisine, is a classically-trained chef who has mastered the art of blending 'haute cuisine' with his own homegrown spin using locally-grown ingredients such as root vegetables, fresh fruits and herbs. Chef Damin oversees the kitchen for the Eighty20 Bistro.
Burger Bar
The Burger Bar is our take on the classic burger joint. It features handcrafted gourmet burgers and artisanal beers in a laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Sports enthusiasts will love watching major sporting events live on flat screens monitors while sipping on their favorite brew or nibbling on great grub! Meanwhile, outdoors, a shaded veranda allows clients to sit outdoors as the sunset gives way to the Isla Verde nightlife. Daily happy hours | Game Day Specials Open daily from 4:00pm
J.H. Yee's Asian Bistro
Three-time winner of the Chef's Hat Award by Tables Magazine.
A popular dining spot among local residents, J. H. Yee's offers eclectic Asian dining for lunch and dinner daily, in beautifully appointed surroundings in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Divino Wine & Tapas
A stylish and cozy wine bar for connoisseurs and novices alike to explore the world of wines. It features over 40 wine labels available by the glass and a menu of tapas designed to perfectly complement the wines. Life is too short to drink bad wine! DiVino is available daily from 6:00pm.
Ristretto Cafe
And for gourmet Puerto Rican coffee prepared by professional baristas visit Ristretto Caf, where you will also find a selection organic teas, freshly-baked pastries, and deli sandwiches, among other treats. Did you know? In 2013, Ristrettos Mariarosa Gmez was named National Barista Champion of the Year, the first woman to win this recognition on the island. Ristretto is open daily from 6:30 am to 7:00pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Its not business as usual when you host your meetings at Verdanza Hotel. Verdanza offers more than 16,000 square feet of versatile indoor and outdoor meeting space with room for up to 400 guests. With options ranging from an executive boardroom to a rooftop terrace with panoramic views, Verdanza focuses on its strengths as an independent " greater flexibility, faster turn-around time and more direct contact with clients " to offer a new brand alternative.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
History buff wi
Couples
Mazomanie, wisconsin
Dec 29, 2012

Perfect christmas vacation

The building was beautiful and one block off the beach.The restaurants in the hotel were all great and the staff at the hotel were some of the best around.We would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DiannandBill
Couples
N/A
Aug 21, 2015

Wonderful stay before and after cruises

We've stayed here about 5 years now and have recommended the Verdanza to friends. This year we hope to return and have 2 new sets of friends joining us. We love the restruants in the hotel and it's a close walk to the ocean. the pool is always nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
George C.
Family
N/A
Aug 19, 2015

Overnight

Hotel was fine. Pool looked good but due to time was not used. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. However, I have a few complaints. #1 Booked 2 rooms through a travel web site. The room type (2Doubles or King) is at the discretion of the hotel. Had 5 people and all they had available were 2 King rooms. Staff was understanding but could not find us 2 double rooms. Since we where only staying 1 night (leaving for a cruise in the am) and it was late we made due. #2 WiFi was terrible. #3 The level of service at the Burger Bar Restaurant near the front desk stunk. Took over an hour to get food from the kitchen. Never stopped by to check on us. Completely ignore us. On the plus side the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle P.
Couples
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

First Time in Puerto Rico!

This was our first time in Puerto Rico and already I know we will be going back! My girlfriend and I stayed in the Verdanza Hotel for 4 nights. The staff here was excellent, the front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. The maids not only made the bed but also cleaned and organized the room each time, placing all our shoes in a row against the wall and tidying up our clothes we left strewn around the room. I would like to especially like to give a shout out to the bellhop Saul. He was fantastic! He gave us numerous recommendations on activities, places to eat, how to get around, and much more. The location was perfect too, 5 minute drive from the airport, 5 minute walk from the beach, ~20 minute drive to Old San Juan, and ~45 minute drive to El Yunque. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel so I can't comment on them but overall I don't really have anything negative to say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
retiredCMH
Single
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

great stay in San Juan

I arrived late and was happy to find my room in excellent condition so I could crash and feel refreshed for the remainder of my stay. Soaps and shampoos were really nice as were the towels and shower. Evening reception on the roof was a fun way to meet other vacationers. I have stayed at this hotel twice and would eagerly do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p shah
Couples
Hopewell junction
Aug 10, 2015

place is good

nice, but pricey. the amenities were good but was with weird settings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLF81
Friends
Wilmington
Jul 17, 2015

OK, but SJ, PR has better places

This hotel looked great in the pics and had decent reviews.. and it was decent. The pool area was the highlight, and the short walk to the beach. The room itself was OK too, nothing special, but no complaints. The staff was not the best, they double charged my card for a PREPAID room! And it took the entirety of our stay for them to figure out what had happened then another several days after I returned home for the refund to appear. The housekeepers were rude when you asked them nicely to return a little later. Also, the restaurants on site are quite expensive and they were rarely open anyways. I will not stay here again when in PR. There are much more appealing places to stay that are cheaper and more friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dimery r.
Couples
Dorchester
Jun 16, 2015

First Time in Puerto Rico

This is a really great hotel and the staff whether they are at the front desk or in the hallways they always greet you and ask you what plans you have that day! Out hotel room was clean and well kept. I had no problem and enjoyed my stay. The location on the strip is perfect and I enjoyed the pool area. The pool area was clean and spacious as was the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marjorie
Family
Bronx
Jun 3, 2015

2 day stay

Hotel was nice, but check in took longer than what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindsey M.
Couples
Riverview
May 7, 2015

Excellent Staff

We stayed here after a week long cruise for 2 nights before heading home. It was magical! The staff exceeded our expectations and were extremely attentive and helpful. One of the door men gave us great suggestions on what to do and how to do it. We ended up doing old San Juan, the fort, and the Bacardi factory mixology tour! So much more we wanted to do but too little time to explore it all. Would stay there again and recommend it to anyone in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Verdanza Hotel, A Member of Summit Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanessa D.
Couples
Bronx
May 3, 2015

vacation

hotel itself was really nice, the staff was helpful especially the woman at the concierge desk, she helped make our trip more adventurous. the 80 20 bistro was my go to place to eat, the breakfast buffet had the best oatmeal. pool and hot tub were enjoyable, i loved being able to just sit outside. the beach was just 2 blocks away and we were by a lot of fast food, if you wanted something more authentic you would have to go out a little farther. all in all it was an awesome stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top