$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
381 reviews
RITZ CARLTON SAN JUAN

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY. THE STAFF WERE EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL WITH ANYTHING... See full review

  • JECOKER
  • Oct 23, 2014
great romantic vacation

Perfect! Stayed here 4 nights with my boyfriend and had the times of our lives - we can't wait to... See full review

  • DrDonut
  • Oct 21, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (381)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 381
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
Business
nyc
May 1, 2014

Fun times

Had a great time due to staff I would definetly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
single world traveler
Business
Georgia
Jan 4, 2014

Nice getaway for warm weather.

I had a nice time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The pool and beach are nice. The room is a standard, clean room. The gym is a bit small and the locker room areas could use a bit of updating. However, I still will return to this property for the sunny weather and good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sampac67
Business
New Jersey
Feb 4, 2013

Awesome!

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and each time I do, I am reminded why. The staff is very courteous, remembered me and made me feel at home. The spa is amazing…had the best massage and best pedicure of my life. If you are a tennis pro, Kamil Assad is very passionate about the game. I watched him play with well seasoned tennis players as well as beginners and was equally enthusiastic about the lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Tennis lessons with the pro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eurodpt
Business
Maryland
Sep 6, 2012

Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico

The hotel is great! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay and would return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
santa p
Business
tenn
Jul 8, 2012

great

the people was very nice i could not have been treated any better.the housekeeping of the room was great great great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

need a little more info . cab fare , dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc annual vacation trip
Business
Blue Ridge, VA
Aug 8, 2011

Nice Getaway

Nice location. I arranged day adventures/tour prior to my vacation via the internet. The casino is very small. The BLT Restaurant was the very best value for your money. Taxi service is VERY expensive. Usually $20 into old San Juan, and of course $20 upon return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All Drinks are excessively expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHGOGATORFAN
Business
Chicago Illinois
Jun 6, 2011

Oustanding Hotel and Service

The service and hospitality were 2nd to none. As soon as I arrived on the property, the valet, the concierge, the front desk staff, were all very welcoming and made sure to address me by name. Everyone employee at the hotel really understands what delivery of outstanding customer service means and I never felt neglected one bit. The pool attendants always made sure I had plenty of towels or if I needed anything were quick to address. Very engaging and they made me feel like they were genuinely interested in what I had to stay. They gym and spa were great. A bit crowded in regards to space but full service none the less. The spa attendant was very informative and gave me great tips on do's and don'ts if I was planning on any treatments. I love the availability of fresh fruit all over the hotel. As a Weight Watchers subscriber, this was great to see. My only complaint if any, was that the food servers by the pool area need to focus on making the rounds to the guest a bit more. I could have easily ordered a few more cocktails had I seen my server a bit more frequently. Definitely planning on coming back to San Juan and will only stay at the Ritz Carlton. Thanks for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for authentic Puerto Rican or Cuban Cuisine, take the shorrt 500 ft walk over to the Metropol Restaurant and Bar. Outstanding Mojitos and the food was great. Went twice for dinner and once for lunch and I could have probably gone more. Prices were better than resonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asiancatnyc
Business
New York, NY
Oct 30, 2010

Spot-on service at Ritz Carlton

Loved the hotel...clean, spacious room, attentive staff, and the beautiful private beach. It would've been nice if they have a restaurant that is more geographically influenced. They have Il Mulino and BLT Steak, and I am from New York, and we ave those two restaurants where I live. I was in Puerto Rico, and I wanted to taste Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lanina
Business
New York
Jun 16, 2010

Meh. Super loud, spotty service

When I got there, they were very friendly and welcoming. The room was OK, facing the pool. I have to say, though, my bed at home is much more comfortable. Just not what I would expect from a Ritz. The rooms are a little out-dated, but maybe I just have more modern taste. I didn't particularly like the shampoo and conditioner they give you either. Bring your own if you care about your hair.The pool, especially over the weekend, was VERY loud. Lots of kids and even teens who I suspect are locals and who the staff just let play in the pool. I kept my headphones on most of the time. The pool is lovely and warm, but again, lots of kids playing around.The bar at the pool was OK. I wouldn't say the service was very good and they should have had more people to take orders at the pool. I had to flag people down constantly just to get service.The hotel food in general is ridiculously expensive as well.I got 2 massages and a facial while there which were nice but not out of this world.I ate at Il Mulino which I thought was also not amazing and very expensive. The people who worked there were super nice though. And I actually only went at like 10PM because I called for room service and literally no one answered...after 15 rings! Really, at a Ritz? I was woken up at 11PM one night and 10AM one morning by staff knocking on my door or ringing my phone and I'm not sure why. They just said, "oh, sorry" after I answered the door or picked up the phone. And it was not to make up my room. Weird.I also ordered food on my last day in the bar area near the entrance and they basically forgot about my order. After 45 minutes I asked where my crab cakes were and they said they'd burned them and were making new ones. The new ones weren't amazing. They looked like they'd come from a freeze dried package. And that was 20 bucks. The Berry Mojito was pretty yummy, though.All in all if I had to go back to PR I probably wouldn't stay at the Ritz unless I was going as a family which I think it's probably good for. I'd probably prefer a more modern and quiet hotel. I got a good per night deal but with all the other expenses I think it would be cheaper elsewhere if you just paid more for the room initially. And going in to Old San Juan you can get an amazing 3 course meal for 20 bucks instead of 3 tiny, carboard-like crab cakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SJU Chica
Business
Bowie, Maryland
Dec 23, 2009

Fabulous!

This hotel is definitely 5-stars. The service, rooms, location, atmosphere, spa and restaurants were all top shelf. There is no evening Salsa band or club at the Ritz but there is plenty of entertainment at other nearby hotels. Staff always greeted me by name which is incredible given the number of guests. I will definitely stay at the Ritz Carlton on my next visit to San Juan. Fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is none. Single travelers must find their nightlife at other nearby hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top