$419 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
View map of 6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
401 reviews
Amazing Hotel!

I decided to treat myself for my birthday and stay at this hotel. The pictures displayed are actual... See full review

  • Elise S.
  • Mar 21, 2015
long weekend get away.

The hotel was super nice. The staff were more than helpful. Not a lot of night life at the actual... See full review

  • Rachel B.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges a deposit of $50 to $150 USD per night. 
  • Breakfast fee is approximately $34 USD per person. 
  • In-room Wi-Fi access and Wi-Fi access in public areas are included in the resort fee.
  • Self parking fee is 21 USD per day. Valet parking fee is 28 USD per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 401
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra n.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Getaway weekend

Hotel was lovely - the pool and beach area were great. The staff were all extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samna
Business
Riyadh
Jan 5, 2015

family trip

we injoy our stay in the hotel it is on the beatch and very big swiming pool nice resturant ner the city and airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the moon light
Business
san Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 5, 2014

this hotel is great

Great hotel, great staff, once you r in u don't want to go out of it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamprony
Business
bayside, new york
Sep 30, 2014

great quick family getaway

The staff and hotel itself were excellent. The location of the hotel is extremely close to airport and highway, but not in thriving or good location to shop or just walk around. Nothing to do outside the hotel except for a few restaurants. The hotel grounds, beach, and resort were all beautiful, well maintained and worth staying at the Ritz! Very family friendly and accommodating. My 3 year old didn't want to leave Puerto Rico and literally forced him onto the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Metropol across from the hotel to avoid the expensive restaurants in the Ritz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Onolulu55
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 26, 2014

Good, but could be better

For the price we paid, we were expecting more......it doesn't have "Ritz-Carlton quality".......the room were very tight and doesn't have ventilation anywhere.....the staff were very kind and helpful, not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Blue Burger.....they are actually BLUE and very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarenJB
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 6, 2014

Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50 a night. Nowhere in our booking did it mention that. When I asked to speak to a manager the charge was immediately removed. We had adjoining rooms with our kids. Rooms were very clean, sparsely decorated but with style which I prefer anyway. The staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful. Concierge have us great restaurant recommendations for offsite. The pool was a nice size but could do with some renovating which they were definitely about to take care of because they had some construction evaluators checking it out one day. Pool bar was great, food was delicious. The beach area was Perfect for he kids and we felt safe letting our teenagers take the younger ones alone. My only suggestion would be some activities or poolside games etc organized by staff for the children. Overall a fantastic family vacation, we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within walking distance, a few are typical Puerto Rican and cheap good food especially if you have kids. Ask concierge for other recommendations, they really do know what they are talking about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gemgem
Business
pembroke pines , fl
Jun 23, 2014

yearly beach vacation

this is a very elegant hotel with all the perks of being a 5 star. The service was impeccable . one day we left the hotel for a boat trip with friends at 6 am the front desk gave us 8 towels and many water bottle so we could be comfortable. Service with a smile !!!! It doesn't get any better then this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street metropole has Puerto rican food and the best drink!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NVGJVG
Business
Oyster Bay, New York
May 19, 2014

A truly wonderful experience1

Just got back from a 4 night vacation at the Ritz Carlton and everything was great. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Prices for hotel amenities are reasonable considering where you are and their are varied complimentary items such as dried fruit and oranges poolside. The staff also brings around ice water which hits the spot on those hot days. On top of everything, the weather was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
Business
DC
Apr 22, 2014

Not a typical Ritz property for the money

We went to PR this year after having spent last years spring break in Mexico. PR is easier to get to and the people are just as friendly. We pre-booked 2 excursions through the hotel concierge desk and that was very easy to do via email. the rainforest trip was good and the snorkeling catamaran tour was absolutely fabulous. We snorkel on every beach trip and my 11 and 10 year olds especially enjoyed it! The hotel itself wasn't really as luxurious as most RCs are and the rooms were tiny and not cleaned to 5 star standards. The hotel food wasn't as good either for lunch. They only had 2 salads choices that were average. I usually look forward to fresh seafood options for lunch and was disappointed with the offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in Fajardo if you want to be on a boat snorkeling or hike in the rainforest. We ended up driving 45 min each way to excursions and I wished we stayed closer to them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
Business
DC
Apr 21, 2014

Not the regular service of a Ritz

While we enjoyed our 3 night stay and liked the location and beach we noticed that the service was spotty. Some people like Frederick the concierge were fabulous but far too many were average. We did not feel like they shared the Ritz Carlton standard of superior service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top