$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
557 reviews
Amazing getaway

Staff was amazing !everytime we ran into the front desk employee who helped us remembered our name.... See full review

  • Val12
  • Jul 18, 2014
Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50... See full review

  • KarenJB
  • Jul 6, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (557)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 557
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarenJB
Orlando, Florida
Jul 6, 2014

Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50 a night. Nowhere in our booking did it mention that. When I asked to speak to a manager the charge was immediately removed. We had adjoining rooms with our kids. Rooms were very clean, sparsely decorated but with style which I prefer anyway. The staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful. Concierge have us great restaurant recommendations for offsite. The pool was a nice size but could do with some renovating which they were definitely about to take care of because they had some construction evaluators checking it out one day. Pool bar was great, food was delicious. The beach area was Perfect for he kids and we felt safe letting our teenagers take the younger ones alone. My only suggestion would be some activities or poolside games etc organized by staff for the children. Overall a fantastic family vacation, we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within walking distance, a few are typical Puerto Rican and cheap good food especially if you have kids. Ask concierge for other recommendations, they really do know what they are talking about.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gemgem
pembroke pines , fl
Jun 23, 2014

yearly beach vacation

this is a very elegant hotel with all the perks of being a 5 star. The service was impeccable . one day we left the hotel for a boat trip with friends at 6 am the front desk gave us 8 towels and many water bottle so we could be comfortable. Service with a smile !!!! It doesn't get any better then this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street metropole has Puerto rican food and the best drink!!!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NVGJVG
Oyster Bay, New York
May 19, 2014

A truly wonderful experience1

Just got back from a 4 night vacation at the Ritz Carlton and everything was great. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Prices for hotel amenities are reasonable considering where you are and their are varied complimentary items such as dried fruit and oranges poolside. The staff also brings around ice water which hits the spot on those hot days. On top of everything, the weather was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
DC
Apr 22, 2014

Not a typical Ritz property for the money

We went to PR this year after having spent last years spring break in Mexico. PR is easier to get to and the people are just as friendly. We pre-booked 2 excursions through the hotel concierge desk and that was very easy to do via email. the rainforest trip was good and the snorkeling catamaran tour was absolutely fabulous. We snorkel on every beach trip and my 11 and 10 year olds especially enjoyed it! The hotel itself wasn't really as luxurious as most RCs are and the rooms were tiny and not cleaned to 5 star standards. The hotel food wasn't as good either for lunch. They only had 2 salads choices that were average. I usually look forward to fresh seafood options for lunch and was disappointed with the offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in Fajardo if you want to be on a boat snorkeling or hike in the rainforest. We ended up driving 45 min each way to excursions and I wished we stayed closer to them.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
DC
Apr 21, 2014

Not the regular service of a Ritz

While we enjoyed our 3 night stay and liked the location and beach we noticed that the service was spotty. Some people like Frederick the concierge were fabulous but far too many were average. We did not feel like they shared the Ritz Carlton standard of superior service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KatieR
New York
Mar 24, 2014

PERFECTION!!!!

After 3 days of this fabulous hotel all I can say is it is a must stay. Before I left I was already looking for my return trip to come back. The amenities are perfect. Location is amazing. The cleanliness of the entire resort was outstanding. The staff could not have been more caring and nice. The value was unbelievable. This was my first time staying in a Ritz resort and I am sold forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos restaurant was a block away and very good.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarolnSavannah
Memphis, TN
Mar 21, 2014

Fabulous Resort Experience

This pricey resort hotel was well worth it. The staff is exceptionally attentive. 24 hour/day they will get what ever you need/want and with a smile. The pool and beach service is amazing (and covered by the resort fee). Fresh fruit and great water available all the time. We didn't need to explore Puerto Rico. We had everything we needed at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Souvenir shops are in walking distance.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Synnott Mom
Massachusetts
Mar 14, 2014

Family Vacation

The service at the Ritz and the amenities like chairs and umbrella's with comfortable pads for the pool and beach free of charge. Beautiful grounds and very attentive staff everywhere. Room was clean but rugs were stained. Room view was looking at a flat roof. Surprise at checkout was an additional 18% room tax that wasn't expected! Very expensive to stay so all the free things weren't really free!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The El San Juan Hotel has a younger crowd and a large beautiful lobby to dance and drink.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gkbb
ny,ny
Feb 26, 2014

Feb. Vacation

We loved our stay at the Ritz. Our only complaint, which we knew to expect, was the pricing on food. Very pricey so we went out of the resort for a few meals. Service was wonderful at the hotel. Would def go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patmikjonmik
Woodland Park NJ
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful travel experience

Great customer service , friendly , & helpful staff . the hotel was clean , beautiful , unbelievable pool & beach. Can't wait to Return to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car to see the National rainforest Park Il yunque. Easy drive with a gps for $35.00 rental fee.

Back to menu Return to top