$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
558 reviews
GREAT EXPERIANCE!!

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL ARE FIRST CLASS! VERY HELPFUL AND POLITE. THEY WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO... See full review

  • ISLAND BUD
  • Jul 25, 2014
Amazing getaway

Staff was amazing !everytime we ran into the front desk employee who helped us remembered our name.... See full review

  • Val12
  • Jul 18, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (558)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
558 out of 558
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Texas
Jul 23, 2010

I was not a happy camper !

Please read my hints. Lousey service in the lounge, wouldn't expect their own handed out coupons for a drink, because some [*] about tearing off the stub before the did its common sense. The employees run around with their head cut-off and do a VERY POOR JOB waiting on customers and/or not getting waited on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel was nice as depicted. The staff was very good. [...] Have fun I did enjoy myself just not my reservations. Back to the Four Season when offered for relaxation and pampering. I'd would have had just as a good stay at the Hampton aanother reviewer stated. I didn't see what the others saw.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Texas
Jul 23, 2010

I was not a happy camper !

Please read my hints. Lousey service in the lounge, wouldn't expect their own handed out coupons for a drink, because some [*] about tearing off the stub before the did its common sense. The employees run around with their head cut-off and do a VERY POOR JOB waiting on customers and/or not getting waited on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel was nice as depicted. The staff was very good. [...] Have fun I did enjoy myself just not my reservations. Back to the Four Season when offered for relaxation and pampering. I'd would have had just as a good stay at the Hampton aanother reviewer stated. I didn't see what the others saw.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
woh15
Marietta, Ga
Aug 7, 2012

Disappointed that my reservation was not right!

I reserved a disabled hotel room with 2 double beds and there was none available when we got to the hotel. I ended up having to help my mother into and out of the tub everyday while she showered as the bench that was provided did not look very sanitary to be using and she is disabled. When I asked for a discount for our troubles I was told that none was available since I prepaid for the week but there were over $300 of additional, unexpected charges on my final bill. The 2 days of breakfast that was supposed to be discounted because of the trouble was on the bill and I was not told that I would be billed a resort fee or what was included in the resort fee until I was checking out. Had I known what was included I would have used the services instead of feeling like I got robbed. I didn't know that I could use the gym and attend the classes as part of the fee since I was being charged $22 a day for them anyway. No one seemed to really care about all of the problems that we'd had or the dissatisfaction that I felt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RAY B.
New York, NY, USA
Jun 14, 2014

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

NO ENTERTAIMENT AT ALL, ALL THEY HAVE IS THE CASINO,YOU HAVE TO GO INTO OTHERS HOTELS IN THE AREA FOR ENTERTAIMENT,FOR THAT YOU STAY AT ONE OF THE OTHER HOTELS AND PAY MUCH LESS.THIS HOTEL IS FOR PEOPLE IN THE 90'S,JUST TO LAY AROUND AND DO NOTHING,IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY THEY CHARGE YOU, BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THE EXTRA CHARGES AND TAXES,THEY CHARGE DOUBLE OF WHAT THE OTHER HOTEL CHARGE,WE MADE A MISTAKE CHOOSING THIS HOTEL, NEVER AGAIN,WE TRAVEL A LOT,NEVER THIS BAD,I NEVER COMPLAIN BUT THIS TIME HAD TO WRITE A COMMENT SO PEAPLE DONT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

MARRIOT HOTEL SAN JUAN HOTEL INTERCONTINENTAL HOTEL

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cjmumms
boston
Jun 7, 2011

Resort Fee????

having been charged $225/night for a smelly, damp room, i resent also being charged $25/night for a "resort fee." we knew about the fee at time of booking, but that doesn't make it any less deceitful. why not just charge more for the room? check-in time is 4pm, check-out noon. leaving no time on first or last days to utilise the 'resort' facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

metropol

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GARY LAGACE
CAPE CORAL FLORIDA
Nov 5, 2013

NOT AS GOOD AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE

HOTEL IS GETTING AGED.PRICE IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY.16% RESORT FEE,RIDICULIOUS FOR WHAT?STAFF IS GREAT! THOUGHT I WAS COMING TO A LUXURIOUS HOTEL.NOT!SAN JUAN IS GREAT,HAVE BEEN COMING FOR YEARS,AND WANTED TO STAY IN LUXURY.NOT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cjmumms
boston
Jun 7, 2011

Resort Fee????

having been charged $225/night for a smelly, damp room, i resent also being charged $25/night for a "resort fee." we knew about the fee at time of booking, but that doesn't make it any less deceitful. why not just charge more for the room? check-in time is 4pm, check-out noon. leaving no time on first or last days to utilise the 'resort' facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

metropol

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
nyc
May 1, 2014

Fun times

Had a great time due to staff I would definetly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sheri'ssodissappointed
Phila
Aug 27, 2012

Poor in Operations. Needs Much Improvement

IMy first impression was finding our room was not available as booked. They told us no balcony is available,however another non-balcony room is-we arrived at our rm and found 1 bed for a party of 4..They accomodated us by giving us a suite but the coffee maker poured all over the fl. I had to lay towels down everytime when I made coffee to catch the drips. The resort was on lockdown due to a hurricane, no affordable restuarants, activities or events. Average meal bill is well over 100.00 even for breakfast at Mares. To costly for mistakes and inconsitancies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago Illinois
Dec 27, 2010

Don't be swayed by the name on the door!

We planned our trip after some reseach and relied on the "Ritz" name for accomodations because we expected a certain level of service and accomodations. We like nice hotels and vacation and prefer not to go to chains except Westins. We could not have been more disappointed in this Ritz Hotel. Tired lobby area and barren -no welcome (flowers and decor and staff all VERY impersonal); Room windows don't open and 2/3 of rooms have NO balconies; Room decor also very tired and worn....too heavy and old fashioned for a tropical location; Terrible wait in only casual restaurant...at least 40 minutes for soup and a salad; breakfast is worse with no other options; Other two hotels outstanding, but expensive (NYC prices) and only for dinner; Property needs another spot to lounge besides lobby or near pool where outside cafe is very greasy and dirty. Needs a good scrub. A Starbucks would be welcome; None of the staff engaged with any personality, although wait staff was very well trained and polite. It felt like a hotel which has alot of turnover, so staff just move on to the next task without any personality; Hotel needs to create a shuttle service to Old San Juan. A modest charge would be acceptable but the hotel itself is not interesting enough to be stuck for days on end. (See above for commentary on cab fare.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

BEWARE: cab fare to Old San Juan or Condado are $50 roundtrip.....San Juan is not the easiest place to navigate by car as parking is terrible, so rentals are risky. Prepare to add that amount on to any bill. NO getting around it as the hotel does not offer shuttle service as many of the others provide.

Back to menu Return to top