$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
555 reviews
Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50... See full review

  • KarenJB
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect!

Perfect location, staff was so accommodating and grounds were beautiful and spotless. I stayed for... See full review

  • Smarie Bklyn
  • Jul 2, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (555)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelpphia
Feb 3, 2011

Ritz carlton

Spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

BTL in Hotel Expensive, but worth it.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Justol2
Miami, FL.
Jun 25, 2012

Family Tropical Vacation

Great price. Super Hotel and staff.Very convinient. Near airport,shopping centers.Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Near airport and attractions.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Fantastic, Relaxing location

The Ritz-Carlton was amazing! The hotel is clean and very upscale. Staff was super-friendly and very knowledgable. The hotel is at a perfect location. The hotel is directly on the beach and, despite being a public beach, is very private. The beach in front of the hotel is clean and perfect for swimming. During the day, lounge chairs were available with food/drink service directly on the beach. The pool is open 24-hours which is a plus! It is heated and clean. It was fun to relax in during the evening hours. Outside the hotel, there are several restaurants within walking distance. All have good food. The hotel offers a touch screen computer with restaurant information surrounding the hotel. They provide you with walking directions and menus so you can decide in advance where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan your trip in advance. Renting a car can save lots of money on taxi's and having to purchase guided tours. Most, if not all attractions, can be done on your own. Don't waste money on fancy tours. Driving was a bit confusing, bringing a navigation system was VERY helpful.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2010

Four Seasons - San Juan

From the minute we arrived, we were treated like VIPs. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was terrific and just as promised. The hotel had a fantastic pool and beach, great restaurants and a fun casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens around the corner from the hotel which is a great lower-cost alternative than the hotel if you need water, sodas, snacks, sundries, etc.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noeline
San Juan
Nov 15, 2013

Room

When we first checked-in, we were given a very nice room, but no balcony. We had assummed that a 5 star resort would have all balconys. The staff was very nice and explained hat there would be a room avaailable the next day with a balcony. Early the next day we were moved to a room with a balcony. Also a very nice birthday cake setup was delivered to our room on my birthday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rested and Relaxed in CT
Hartford, CT
Jan 26, 2010

Wonderful Get Away

Hotel service was what we expected from the Ritz - excellent. Not a single complaint. All the the staff were nice and pleasant. Hotel was very clean. Check in was prompt, even when we asked to change our room to a double bed instead of a king bed. Any requests we had of guest services were promptly handled - more room towels, additional coffee and cream. Pool was great and the beach was immaculatley cared for. Other hotel beaches along the strip full of sea weed and did not supply chairs or umbrellas. On check out day, we were encouraged to hang out until we had to leave for our flight. So we stayed at the pool and beach and showered in the fitness facility when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To avoid the higher priced menus at the hotel restaurants, we would walk to several close by restaurants. All were within a 5 to 7 minute walk. There are several local restaurants very close and a Chilis and an Outback. There is also a Denny's that we visited for a great big breakfast. There is also a Walgreens within 5 minutes walk. Of course we forgot a few things and having the Walgreens so close was great.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Class "A"
Tri-State (NY/NJ/CT)
Oct 19, 2009

Very Nice-Great Staff-Awesome Location

Overall Enjoyable & Relaxing. Very Good Staff & Above Par Food. Beach Location is Very Good. Close Proximity To Airport-Yet Far Enough Away from the Hustle & Bustle of Downtown Old San Juan. 3 Thumbs Up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pool Side & Lounge Food is Very Good. BLT for Steak & Service-Exceptional

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattiPuff
Manchester, NH
Feb 7, 2011

Luxury All The Way

My best friend and I decided to celebrate our 50th birthdays in style. The Ritz was just what we had hoped it would be. The restaurants were wonderful, the beach and pool spectacular! We barely left the resort. The staff were amongst the friendliest & most helpful I"ve encountered. Everyone really bent over backwards to make our stay the very best it could be. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spent the day in Old San Juan - not to be missed! Quaint cafe's with authentic food & drink. Some high end shopping mixed with local artisans. If you love jewelry, this is the place for you!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Nov 15, 2010

in a class by itself

beautiful property, top-notch service, beautiful beach- nicest property we saw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

il mulino pasta

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirley
Saxonburg,Pa
Aug 12, 2011

We had a great. I would tell any one to go to this hotel...

The staff was woderful from the time you got there till the time you left. They talked to you like they realy cared,they even used your name when they talked to you. When we left they came shook you hand thanked you for coming and ask again if everything was ok and hope to see you next year, always using your name.The room was beautifull CLEAN large with the most wonderful view. You could not have ask for more. The food was great ,the people were nice but they were Fun .It was a short trip but a Fantastic family getaway.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Zip line in the rain forest... GREAT

Back to menu Return to top