$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
View map of 6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
410 out of 410
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mobo66
Business
Boston
Feb 4, 2014

Great weekend getaway

Went for a quick long weekend & it was great. Ritz Carlton was close to airport, easy to get to and a beautiful hotel. Staff was fantastic! Everyone was SO friendly. BLT steakhouse @ Ritz Carlton was pricey, but worth it, food & service were phenomenal! Service on beach also fantastic. Would definitely return here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben Rachwal
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Jan 22, 2014

Winter Escape

The Ritz is the best but you will have to pay for it. Service and grounds were the best. As we expolred other hotels in the area we realized the Ritz is the one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy Kelsey
Business
Dallas Texas
Jan 15, 2014

Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing! The staff is so wonderful! It was a perfect venue for our honeymoon but the location of the hotel was not within walking distance of anything worth seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking a taxi to Old San Juan is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
single world traveler
Business
Georgia
Jan 4, 2014

Nice getaway for warm weather.

I had a nice time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The pool and beach are nice. The room is a standard, clean room. The gym is a bit small and the locker room areas could use a bit of updating. However, I still will return to this property for the sunny weather and good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linn1
Business
ny
Dec 10, 2013

wonderful trip

hotel is very nice, staff friendly. if you like Puerto rico, this is the hotel to stay at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great dancing and night life next door at el san juan, but stay at ritz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noeline
Business
San Juan
Nov 15, 2013

Room

When we first checked-in, we were given a very nice room, but no balcony. We had assummed that a 5 star resort would have all balconys. The staff was very nice and explained hat there would be a room avaailable the next day with a balcony. Early the next day we were moved to a room with a balcony. Also a very nice birthday cake setup was delivered to our room on my birthday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine Dodson
Business
Isla Verde, PR
Nov 8, 2013

Necessary time away!

Our experience was truly what we expected and more, Staff were more than accommodating and went out out their way to ensure that our vacation was just that... A great time away! This was especially true of Laura and other staff at the spa!!! A mistake was made in an appointment that I had planned out and was quickly rectified and more!! Staff more than made up for the inconvenience. GREAT is what we have to say.... We have been to PR many times but stayed elsewhere in other high end hotels. We will now call The Ritz our Home when in PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a side trip to Culebra!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metzalot
Business
New York
Nov 5, 2013

Easy Peasy

Just got back from a quick trip to Puerto Rico and staying at the Ritz makes it super easy and comfortable, The hotel is located 7 minutes by cab from the airport. So transit time is kept to a minimum. Once you get there you have a great hotel, with comfortable rooms, super nice staff, a good pool and beach and some fine dining options. The only draw back is the dining options are limited and the casino is small with limited stakes games for those of you who gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Going to see the rain forest is definitely worth renting a car. And if you do rent a car, I would do it on a day to day basis from the Enterprise located in the hotel's parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allison and Brian
Business
Jacksonville, fl
Nov 5, 2013

Great stay!

My husband and I are not your typical Ritz Carlton customers, but we found a GREAT deal at the one in San Juan, PR. We travel a fair amount and typically stay at more economical hotels, but we will definitely be back to this one!! The service was excellent, but not too invasive. The staff were accommodating and the facilities excellent. We did not upgrade our room to a pool/ocean view, so we were not surprised to see a slightly run down condominium out our window, but Ironically, we did have a fairly good view of the ocean. The only negative of our trip was the location. Not for the fact that it's very close to the airport, but because it took a $20 cab ride each time to get into old San Juan. Aside from this, I cannot say enough good things of our room/pool/staff/food and will definitely be returning to this hotel!! Happy travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The metropol across the street is a surprising find. We went for lunch after trying it for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GARY LAGACE
Business
CAPE CORAL FLORIDA
Nov 5, 2013

NOT AS GOOD AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE

HOTEL IS GETTING AGED.PRICE IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY.16% RESORT FEE,RIDICULIOUS FOR WHAT?STAFF IS GREAT! THOUGHT I WAS COMING TO A LUXURIOUS HOTEL.NOT!SAN JUAN IS GREAT,HAVE BEEN COMING FOR YEARS,AND WANTED TO STAY IN LUXURY.NOT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top