$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
View map of 6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
411 out of 411
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jae the Explorer
Business
NJ
Jul 30, 2014

Clean, Great Service, Direct Access too beach

Stayed here with around 10 friends. Very clean, great customer service, and direct access to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest Preserve & Bioluminescent Bay

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agamb
Business
NYC
Jul 28, 2014

Great getaway

Great place great staff excellent service, but very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

meat market in the el san Juan hotel... Amazing!!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaryL D
Business
Garfield, New Jersey
Jul 28, 2014

Not What I thought it would be

My stay began with the manager forgetting she was checking me in and leaving me at the front desk for about 15 minutes waiting until someone else asked if I needed help. They required a $200 per night hold for incidentals. I asked for an ocean view room when I made my reservation and when finally entering my room after the longest check in ever the ocean was nowhere to be seen. I was on the 6th floor all I saw was the trees because they were at my level and I saw the pool and between all that a little sneak peak of the ocean. The gym was nice the pool was not deep enough it's all 3 to 3 and a half feet and a bit over crowded. The food at the outside bar was not good my shrimp were cold and far from "Mexican" (as they were called). The drinks at this bar however were great. They had free lemonade all over the pool beach area which was great and the staff at the entire hotel was extremely friendly. The beach was fabulous the chairs and towel service was 5 star for sure. The casino was empty only about 3 tables to play in and after staying at the hotel next door because I didn't want to pay $700 to stay there one more night , the casino was so much better and my entire stay was only $200 here. I stayed at the ritz for the name and it's too uptight for my liking. The soap and shampoo etc came from "London" it smelled terrible and left my skin dry so the Walgreens came in handy, the toothpaste was minuscule they knew I was staying 3 nights I don't understand why they would think it was ok to leave that tiny toothpaste by the sink. My boyfriend says he would come again just because of the gym and beach but I who pay attention to detail would not do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores near by like Walgreens which comes in handy.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ISLAND BUD
Business
WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Jul 25, 2014

GREAT EXPERIANCE!!

THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL ARE FIRST CLASS! VERY HELPFUL AND POLITE. THEY WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP US FIND THE BEST PLACES TO EAT AND DIRECTIONS TO ALL THE EXCURSIONS WE ENJOYED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Val12
Business
New Jersey
Jul 18, 2014

Amazing getaway

Staff was amazing !everytime we ran into the front desk employee who helped us remembered our name. Every employee greeted us asked us if needed anything. Amazing staff esp at front desk, pool area, cleaning crew, and beach area were amazing . The beach area crew remembered where we sat eveyday n how many ppl we were ,very impressed. Beach waitress would bring us water right n help us right away ,amazing experience. There waS not one negative thing I could say about our exp. I have never exp such a nice crew like the ritz we will def be back ! Our room was cleaned twice a day, room service was delivered so quickly amazing ! If we needed anything it was deliveryed so quickly ! Lobby is beautiful and if u need anything guys outside helped w cabs, suggestions on where to go they were all amazing ! Amazing time !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chefcore
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 11, 2014

A solid, predictable experience

Went to PR for a last-minute trip and got a good rate at the Ritz. The name carries with it the connotation of an excellent facility, impeccable service, security and full resort amenities. In all, I believe this property performed well, although there were done minor niggles that keep this from being a 5-start review. 1) Service: outstanding. The concierges were knowledgeable, the sommelier was good, you couldn't make it past a single staff member without a smile and friendly comment. The only interesting thing I saw, but did not experience, appeared to be that they had a computer for you to make your own restaurant reservations. If that's right, that doesn't really scream Ritz to me, but I didn't need any help there. 2) location: good. At first blush, the beach didn't really look "Caribbean" enough for me; however, after driving around the island, we discovered that it actually is one of the nicest beaches in PR. 3) facility: excellent. Grounds were wonderfully maintained. Property has 4 restaurants, a full-service spa, 24-hour pool, 2 tennis courts, and a small but well-stocked exercise room. Since it backs onto the beach, there is chair/umbrella service, and they will deliver food/drinks to your beach chair, which is a nice touch. Don't think that's cheap, however. 4)Room: just Ok. I thought the bed was a bit uncomfortable, and we had a slight problem with ants one morning. There was also no refrigerator, which is somewhat annoying. Finally, we were on the 8th floor, right below the club floor, and could hear a loud family above us far too well for my liking. However, it is a beach hotel, so you're not really hanging out in the room that often. 5) Value: good. But bring your wallet. Ultimately, I would go back to the Ritz again; but probably not for full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol; great for local cuisine and unusually-fast service for PR.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarenJB
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 6, 2014

Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50 a night. Nowhere in our booking did it mention that. When I asked to speak to a manager the charge was immediately removed. We had adjoining rooms with our kids. Rooms were very clean, sparsely decorated but with style which I prefer anyway. The staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful. Concierge have us great restaurant recommendations for offsite. The pool was a nice size but could do with some renovating which they were definitely about to take care of because they had some construction evaluators checking it out one day. Pool bar was great, food was delicious. The beach area was Perfect for he kids and we felt safe letting our teenagers take the younger ones alone. My only suggestion would be some activities or poolside games etc organized by staff for the children. Overall a fantastic family vacation, we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within walking distance, a few are typical Puerto Rican and cheap good food especially if you have kids. Ask concierge for other recommendations, they really do know what they are talking about.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Posh partier
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 3, 2014

Paradise . But

Lovely hotel . Staff was wonderful , service and facilities top notch , however lots of hidden fees. Who knew there was something called a "resort fee" which you pay every day of your stay . In addition, food and drinks are very expensive . Be prepared to shell out the cash upon arrival .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smarie Bklyn
Business
New York
Jul 2, 2014

Perfect!

Perfect location, staff was so accommodating and grounds were beautiful and spotless. I stayed for 4 nights with my husband for our baby moon and absutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann the Traveler from DC
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 30, 2014

Incredible Service

The hotel is a lovely property, but what really sets it apart is the attentiveness of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top