$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
555 reviews
Family getaway

Upon arrival and check in when we requested double beds we were told that it would be an extra $50... See full review

  • KarenJB
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect!

Perfect location, staff was so accommodating and grounds were beautiful and spotless. I stayed for... See full review

  • Smarie Bklyn
  • Jul 2, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (555)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine Dodson
Isla Verde, PR
Nov 8, 2013

Necessary time away!

Our experience was truly what we expected and more, Staff were more than accommodating and went out out their way to ensure that our vacation was just that... A great time away! This was especially true of Laura and other staff at the spa!!! A mistake was made in an appointment that I had planned out and was quickly rectified and more!! Staff more than made up for the inconvenience. GREAT is what we have to say.... We have been to PR many times but stayed elsewhere in other high end hotels. We will now call The Ritz our Home when in PR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a side trip to Culebra!

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GARY LAGACE
CAPE CORAL FLORIDA
Nov 5, 2013

NOT AS GOOD AS I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE

HOTEL IS GETTING AGED.PRICE IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY.16% RESORT FEE,RIDICULIOUS FOR WHAT?STAFF IS GREAT! THOUGHT I WAS COMING TO A LUXURIOUS HOTEL.NOT!SAN JUAN IS GREAT,HAVE BEEN COMING FOR YEARS,AND WANTED TO STAY IN LUXURY.NOT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allison and Brian
Jacksonville, fl
Nov 5, 2013

Great stay!

My husband and I are not your typical Ritz Carlton customers, but we found a GREAT deal at the one in San Juan, PR. We travel a fair amount and typically stay at more economical hotels, but we will definitely be back to this one!! The service was excellent, but not too invasive. The staff were accommodating and the facilities excellent. We did not upgrade our room to a pool/ocean view, so we were not surprised to see a slightly run down condominium out our window, but Ironically, we did have a fairly good view of the ocean. The only negative of our trip was the location. Not for the fact that it's very close to the airport, but because it took a $20 cab ride each time to get into old San Juan. Aside from this, I cannot say enough good things of our room/pool/staff/food and will definitely be returning to this hotel!! Happy travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The metropol across the street is a surprising find. We went for lunch after trying it for dinner.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metzalot
New York
Nov 5, 2013

Easy Peasy

Just got back from a quick trip to Puerto Rico and staying at the Ritz makes it super easy and comfortable, The hotel is located 7 minutes by cab from the airport. So transit time is kept to a minimum. Once you get there you have a great hotel, with comfortable rooms, super nice staff, a good pool and beach and some fine dining options. The only draw back is the dining options are limited and the casino is small with limited stakes games for those of you who gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Going to see the rain forest is definitely worth renting a car. And if you do rent a car, I would do it on a day to day basis from the Enterprise located in the hotel's parking lot.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina and Bob
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 22, 2013

A Great Way to Celebrate My 60th B-Day

My husband and I spent four glorious days at the Ritz Carlton to celebrate my 60th birthday. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Everything was top notch as far as the facilities, staff and restaurants. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny world traveler
New York, NY
Oct 9, 2013

Most relaxing long weekend getaway!

My boyfriend and I came here for a long weekend because we got such a great reasonable deal and we were blown away by how amazing our stay was! The staff was incredible, the grounds were gorgeous and the hotel was so clean you couldn't even find a crumb! I would 110% come back here, prices are high though for drinks and food so just get ready to splurge on that. Overall we had a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a grocery store walking distance from the hotel so stock up on some snacks for the pool and the hotel offered some great happy hour specials and early temptations dinners so it was extremely reasonable for great food

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seaoener
Miami, florida
Sep 29, 2013

Romantic hotel

Clear water and clean beach area,and super Staff attention !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patmikjonmik
Woodland Park NJ
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful travel experience

Great customer service , friendly , & helpful staff . the hotel was clean , beautiful , unbelievable pool & beach. Can't wait to Return to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car to see the National rainforest Park Il yunque. Easy drive with a gps for $35.00 rental fee.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkah
Boston
Aug 21, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel is beautiful and the beach is right there which means you don't have to plan beach trips. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the service was amazing. As expected the food and the drink at the hotel were really overpriced. It's right next to the airport so occasionally you hear jets taking off and landing but most of the time it's not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBNJ
New Jersey
Aug 21, 2013

Gorgeous Hotel - Beware of Construction

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend. The only true complaint I had was the construction that was going on throughout our stay. It seems they are updating their outdoor restaurant near the beach, and boy was it loud! Jackhammers going ALL day long. From what I am told construction will be going on till November. Also the actual pool needs updating too, missing tiles, etc. It did affect our pool experience significantly, and had we known, we would have opted for another hotel. That being said, the staff at the RC, every one of them, was WONDERFUL and ATTENTIVE. This is a very family friendly resort with a ton of kids, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, you may want to look elsewhere. Restaurants, Spa services, and casino on premise are all top notch. Again the staff is what impressed me the most. Not sure if we will return soon, as the price of the resort for the lack of serenity was a turnoff. Puerto Rico is not my favorite island in the Caribbean, as it is very populated. I prefer a less hectic destination, such as Barbados or Turks & Caicos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top