$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
364 reviews
Quick getaway

Everything was amazing!!! I definitely will be staying with the Ritz Carlton again. See full review

  • Bunny's Mom
  • Aug 22, 2014
Amazing experience!

The ritz Carlton San Juan was beautiful! The staff was so sweet and very attentive! We met so many... See full review

  • Michi from miami
  • Aug 19, 2014
Immerse yourself in total luxury and relaxation at The Ritz Carlton, San Juan, with two miles of sandy beaches to enjoy. Modern and sophisticated decor makes the 416 rooms both stylish and comfortable. Spa treatments include The Ritz Carlton Signature Massage and Sea Body Wrap, and you can take a dip with the kids in the beach-view swimming pool. Up for a game of tennis? Get practicing on one of the two oceanfront tennis courts. Culinary delights from the hotel's five locally-inspired restaurants will please your palate before you roll the dice at the elegantly decorated casino.
Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 5 restaurants: BLT Steak, Il Mulino New York, Mares, Ocean Bar & Grill and The Lobby Lounge
  • 12,000-square-foot spa with 11 treatment rooms
  • Casino
  • Swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the beach
  • Overnight laundry service available
  • 2 oceanfront tennis courts
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The beach is a short stroll from the hotel, tours of the Bacardi Rum Distillery are a short drive away, and visitors can brush up on their history at the El Morro Fortress. Shoppers can find a variety of goods and gifts to take home at Historic Old San Juan, home to outlet stores, restaurants, art galleries and museums.
Hints and tips
Looking to feel like a VIP for the duration of your stay? The Ritz-Carlton Suite offers panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Poolside dwellers are well equipped with the hotel's pavilions, cabanas, lounge chairs and towels. Attentive servers will also bring out ice cold beverages and food to enjoy while you soak up the sun.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4425 -66.0134
Area served
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU)
Area description
Located on the Northern coastal plains of Puerto Rico, San Juan is the nation’s capital and largest city. With a storied past and a folklore as vibrant as any in the Caribbean, San Juan has been the focal point of Puerto Rico for centuries.
Though formally settled in 1521 by Spanish colonists, San Juan was first discovered in 1508 by famed explorer Ponce de Leon who named the city in honor of St. John the Baptist.
Since the 16th century, San Juan has been a major point of departure for expeditions to the New World. Today, San Juan’s vibrant culture calls to millions of tourists who arrive on its shores annually in search of its tropical atmosphere and cultural treasures. And whether your passion is history or surfing, shopping or bird watching, with so many things to do in San Juan, Puerto Rico, you will enjoy an unforgettable experience.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (364)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
364 out of 364
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria06
Miami, Florida
Jun 4, 2014

Great, relaxing

The hotel amenites, such as the pool, jacuzzi, spa were great, not to mention the restaurants, first class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tyler Travelllllllls
San Juan, PR
Jun 1, 2014

Great, but not quite 5 stars

I've never stayed at a ritz Carlton, but I know it's renowned as one of the best hotels in the world. I've been to plenty of 5-star hotels, so my expectations were very high. I was never let down in my experience-the staff was attentive and friendly, the amenities were more than ample, but it fell short of my experiences in places like the langham and the w elsewhere in the Americas. That said, great value. Just don't expect a true, over-the-top 5-star experience. And don't forget about the 30$ daily resort fee (unavoidable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos restaurant was incredible

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May Honeymooners
griffin, georgia
May 20, 2014

Anniversary

Great place to stay! The staff was very pleasant, hotel was clean, room was clean. We enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NVGJVG
Oyster Bay, New York
May 19, 2014

A truly wonderful experience1

Just got back from a 4 night vacation at the Ritz Carlton and everything was great. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Prices for hotel amenities are reasonable considering where you are and their are varied complimentary items such as dried fruit and oranges poolside. The staff also brings around ice water which hits the spot on those hot days. On top of everything, the weather was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reef Robert
Raleigh, NC
May 19, 2014

Fantastic Trip

Pampered was the best way to describe the treatment by the staff. The team at the Ritz went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
nyc
May 1, 2014

Fun times

Had a great time due to staff I would definetly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
DC
Apr 22, 2014

Not a typical Ritz property for the money

We went to PR this year after having spent last years spring break in Mexico. PR is easier to get to and the people are just as friendly. We pre-booked 2 excursions through the hotel concierge desk and that was very easy to do via email. the rainforest trip was good and the snorkeling catamaran tour was absolutely fabulous. We snorkel on every beach trip and my 11 and 10 year olds especially enjoyed it! The hotel itself wasn't really as luxurious as most RCs are and the rooms were tiny and not cleaned to 5 star standards. The hotel food wasn't as good either for lunch. They only had 2 salads choices that were average. I usually look forward to fresh seafood options for lunch and was disappointed with the offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in Fajardo if you want to be on a boat snorkeling or hike in the rainforest. We ended up driving 45 min each way to excursions and I wished we stayed closer to them.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family that travels a lot
DC
Apr 21, 2014

Not the regular service of a Ritz

While we enjoyed our 3 night stay and liked the location and beach we noticed that the service was spotty. Some people like Frederick the concierge were fabulous but far too many were average. We did not feel like they shared the Ritz Carlton standard of superior service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AM CMon
Columbus, OH
Apr 7, 2014

Suggestions for a great day

The room, hotel, and grounds are impeccable and beautiful. This is one of the nicest rooms I have ever had and certainly much nicer than even the more upscale San Juan hotels. And the room was incredibly quiet (10th floor, facing pool/ocean) and superbly climate controlled. The gym was very nice. The attitude of the employees is a step above other nice hotels as well. And I never had need of anything while there. I enjoyed the beaches in Condado and Luquillo better than Isla Verde - but Isla Verde is still 8.5 out-of 10. Luquillo was the most tranquil, perfect beach I have been on. The Isla Verde beach was consistently windy while we were there over 5 days - enough so that umbrellas could rarely be used, and we were pelted with a steady sandy silt. However, the currents and waves were not too strong in Isla Verde as they are in Condado. My suggestion - get up after sunrise (6:30am) - it's warm at 7am, stop by the hotel coffee bar (not cheap, but superb coffee drinks and they have a chart of all different types of coffee drinks) and head down to the beach for a glorious day. They have food service on the beach - share a dish for $15-$20 and then go out after sunset for a nice dinner. Metropol was a great restaurant within walking distance - excellent food significantly cheaper than most nice restaurants in the area. A nearby diner, Piu, also had great food, at diner prices. But I find Condado to be much more walkable, though the restaurants are a bit more expensive, and the Ritz-Carlton is within walking distance of the El San Juan which has a shopping/coffee area and night life. Overall, I'm not crazy about the walkability of the area, or the beach conditions compared to other areas, but they are still near-paradise level and the hotel itself is tops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KatieR
New York
Mar 24, 2014

PERFECTION!!!!

After 3 days of this fabulous hotel all I can say is it is a must stay. Before I left I was already looking for my return trip to come back. The amenities are perfect. Location is amazing. The cleanliness of the entire resort was outstanding. The staff could not have been more caring and nice. The value was unbelievable. This was my first time staying in a Ritz resort and I am sold forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos restaurant was a block away and very good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search