$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
386 reviews
OUTSTANDING HOTEL AND STAFF!!!!!!

JUST A WONDERFUL HOTEL. EXTREMELY SAFE. BEACH IS GORGEOUS AND VERY CLEAN. STAFF IS UNBELIEVABLE.... See full review

  • JAY CORP PILOT AND DAD
  • Nov 15, 2014
RITZ CARLTON SAN JUAN

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY. THE STAFF WERE EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL WITH ANYTHING... See full review

  • JECOKER
  • Oct 23, 2014

Enjoy a leisurely stroll down the Avenida Isla Verde, as your senses delight in crashing ocean waves, gentle sea breezes and the welcoming sights of our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Ideally located on eight acres of prime beachfront property in beautiful Isla Verde, and just minutes from historic Old San Juan, The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan offers:
416 well-appointed guestrooms; including The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, one Ritz-Carlton Suite, five one-bedroom Executive Suites, and four Garden Suites. Other property amenities:
Oceanfront pool and Jacuzzi
24-hour casino
Fitness center and luxury spa
5 dining experiences including BLT Steak and Il Mulino New York
Complete concierge services
Full childcare facility (babysitting services upon request)
The Ritz-Carlton Signature Shop
Overnight laundry service
Twice daily housekeeping service including nightly turndown
Safe deposit boxes on property
24-hour room service 24-hour valet parking
Complimentary overnight shoeshine
Complimentary morning Times fax.

Escape to a Puerto Rico spa where the soothing, ever-present rhythm of the ocean inspires renewal. The Spa at The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan features 11 treatment rooms offering the most advanced skin and body therapies and salon services. Ladies' and gentlemen's steam rooms and soothing relaxation areas, a co-ed sauna and a whirlpool further enhance your Puerto Rico spa-salon experience. A complete Fitness Center features weight training and cardiovascular equipment, an aerobics studio and the services of a personal trainer. A Spa boutique featuring products and accessories from Natura Bisse, Laboratory of Flowers, June Jacobs and Skin Ceuticals offers distinctive at-home attention.

The Casino at Ritz Carlton San Juan - Take a chance at courting Lady Luck at our grandly elegant San Juan hotel and casino.
Open 24 hours a day, The Ritz-Carlton's Puerto Rico casino features: Elegant décor evocative of a bygone era Traditional casino games such as Blackjack, Roulette, Caribbean Stud Poker, Three Card Poker, Texas Hold'em Poker - Nightly Tournaments, Mini Baccarat and Let It Ride & more than 380 slot machines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Rooms

Club Level
Club Room / Club Ocean View / Club Executive Suite - The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level redefines the luxury hotel experience, combining intimacy, comfort and exclusivity with the personalized service and attention to detail that are the hallmarks of The Ritz-Carlton. This oasis is often referred to as a hotel within a hotel, where a dedicated concierge attends to individual needs in a well-appointed, relaxed lounge environment. With continuous culinary offerings throughout the day (breakfast, light snacks, hors d' oeuvres, beverages and sweets) and access to a computer station - it is the ideal place to conduct business, plan a family outing or simply unwind.
Rooms
Superior Room / Pool View / Ocean View Room / Balcony Ocean View Room - Indulge yourself with the luxurious tropical surroundings of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan. To best fit your needs we offer a variety of options.
Plush tropical décor accented with fine fabrics and carpets
Courtyard and pool views
Luxurious bathrooms with marble tiles
Choice of one king or two double beds*
Connecting rooms available*
* Subject to availability, and double bedded rooms cannot fit a rollaway

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 4.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 5.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 6.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 6.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 7 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 7 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 7.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 7.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 7.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 7.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 7.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 8.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 49 mi

Dining

BLT Steak
BLT, which stands for 'Bistro Laurent Tourondel,' has redefined steakhouse dining with its modern décor and infusion of classic French techniques. The restaurant integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. A palette of chocolate browns and golden ambient lighting suggests comfort and luxury. The eye-catching bar at the front of the restaurant features toffee-colored bar stools, while the relaxed dining room combines Macassar ebony tables, deep caramel-colored banquettes and walnut floors to create warmth amid modernity. **Dinner is served everyday from 6P – 11P.
IL Mulino New York
Savor a taste of Italy in the Caribbean as you dine in the elegant, old-world atmosphere of Il Mulino New York and linger over the vibrant flavors inspired by the cuisine of Italy's Abruzzi region.
Signature dishes include Spaghettini Bolognese, Rack of Lamb, Veal Chop, and legendary Langoustines
Impressive wine list
Professional wait staff skilled in the classic European tradition of tableside cooking
Mares
Forged and inspired by the natural abundance of tropical life, Mares is a casual dining destination offering a range of the Atlantic and Caribbean’s finest cuisine. Chef Simon Porter’s cuisine reflects his island experiences and appreciation for purity and simplicity. Mares’ design is warm and bright with subtle allusions to its Caribbean heritage. Café-style atmosphere Indoor dining or al fresco overlooking the pool and gardens, Monday to Sunday, breakfast 7 a.m. to 11 a.m., lunch 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Capacity: 134 inside, 60 on the terrace
The Ocean Bar & Grill
Take in ocean views as you experience the pleasures of the hotel's most casual restaurant - The Ocean Bar & Grill. Al fresco lunch specialties, sandwiches and salads, exotic drinks available in the restaurant and beach or poolside, views of the white sand beach and the Atlantic Ocean; located beachfront with direct access to the beach and pool.
Hours of operation: Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. / Monday and Tuesday
Cocktails (Bar) - 10:30 a.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Lunch (Restaurant) - 11:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. / Daily
Dinner (Restaurant) Sushi Menu - 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. / Wednesday through Sunday
Food and Beverage service at the pool and beach area - 11:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. / Daily.
The Lobby Lounge
The Lobby Lounge immerses the senses in the wonders of Puerto Rico's cuisine and culture. Puerto Rico's diverse cultural influences- Spanish, Taino and African- are reflected in the music, cuisine and rums.

Our menu is designed to allow the sampling of many flavors through tapas style food portions and beverage flights including martinis, wines and rums.
Our Rummier will be pleased to guide you in sampling and selecting from our extensive rum list, while providing an understanding of each rum and its historical and cultural place in Puerto Rico.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (386)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloSki
Business
Greenwich, ct
Oct 5, 2014

Birthday weekend

Hotel was nice, staff was great except 1 guy with the bow tie. Would return, food could've been better for the price at the pool, and the extra charges are a bit much but overall happy with my stay. Beach is nice and private and relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jose Enrique, best restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the moon light
Business
san Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 5, 2014

this hotel is great

Great hotel, great staff, once you r in u don't want to go out of it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamprony
Business
bayside, new york
Sep 30, 2014

great quick family getaway

The staff and hotel itself were excellent. The location of the hotel is extremely close to airport and highway, but not in thriving or good location to shop or just walk around. Nothing to do outside the hotel except for a few restaurants. The hotel grounds, beach, and resort were all beautiful, well maintained and worth staying at the Ritz! Very family friendly and accommodating. My 3 year old didn't want to leave Puerto Rico and literally forced him onto the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Metropol across from the hotel to avoid the expensive restaurants in the Ritz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LillianP
Business
New York
Sep 26, 2014

Romantic getaway

From the moment we checked and were welcomed with complimentary guava mimosas (yummy) to the moment we checked out, we were thoroughly impressed by the attentive, accommodating and friendly staff. The decor and ambiance was just right for our romantic trip, especially the 24-hour access to the beach. Their in-house dining and drink options are delicious and sizeable portions, so you get your money's worth in quality and quantity. Despite that, it is a bit pricey. But there are more affordable options with more traditional Puerto Rican cuisine in walking distance, which gave our wallets a nice break. We look forward to coming back and highly recommend to anyone considering a luxury stay in San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos is a black away and offers more traditional Puerto Rican cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Friends Trip
Business
Chicago
Sep 15, 2014

Friends Trip

The hotel has everything you can think of - amazing pool, right on the beach, casino, you name it. Location wise, it's right next to the airport (you can hear jets flying all day if you're outside but does not disturb the rooms). My only one bad experience at the hotel was during a night swim (the pool is open 24/7). We were outside having a good time and one of the security guards kept harassing us to quiet down even though we were not that loud. Although it was a small part of the trip, it left a bad memory to what was otherwise a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sydney888
Business
NYC
Sep 14, 2014

Great Hotel

Stayed for a couple of days for business and enjoyed the resort after work. Great staff members and excellent pools. The beach is rigth there with staff always ready to serve and help. I will stay at the Ritz again for my next business and vacation trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol is across the street, its a great dining and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BranDMB36
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 14, 2014

Incredible. Perfect. Can't wait to come back.

We visited this hotel on our honeymoon. We came in with high expectations and these were consistently met or exceeded by the staff at the Ritz Carlton. Starting with check in- we were greeted not only with friendly faces, but also with the hotel's signature Guava Mimosas. These were delicious and my wife found herself ordering them throughout our stay. Each day, we spent lots of time at the beach, pool, and poolside bar/restaurant. The staff at the beach were so gracious in setting up our chairs / towels and made it a point to get to know us. Joshua, in particular, was extremely friendly and helpful in making us feel right at home. The food and drinks and the poolside bar were exceptional. I had the best mojitos of my entire trip at this bar. All fresh ingredients and generous portions of alcohol expertly concocted. The food was also excellent. The staff was great about accommodating a food allergy of mine. My wife and I did a couples massage at the Spa. The whole experience was incredible. Very luxurious and so relaxing. The resort itself was everything we could have asked for and more. We ate at Il Mulino and BLT Steak and went to the on-site casino every night. It was the perfect setup. We plan to return next year to celebrate our 1-year anniversary and there is no other place that we would stay other than the Ritz Carlton San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Il Mulino and BLT Steak are both top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David waz
Business
Carolina
Sep 4, 2014

Best place to be in p.r

Best place to be , food good . The stuff is the best ever!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Blt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brett proud
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 3, 2014

Great Stay

Staff was great, helpful and very attentive. beautiful hotel and amazing beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayesha
Business
Newark, nj
Sep 1, 2014

The great ritz

It was a great experience. I hope to come back to this location in the near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top