$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

5 stars
View map of 6961 Avenue of the Governors, Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seaoener
Business
Miami, florida
Sep 29, 2013

Romantic hotel

Clear water and clean beach area,and super Staff attention !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Platos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patmikjonmik
Business
Woodland Park NJ
Aug 25, 2013

Wonderful travel experience

Great customer service , friendly , & helpful staff . the hotel was clean , beautiful , unbelievable pool & beach. Can't wait to Return to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car to see the National rainforest Park Il yunque. Easy drive with a gps for $35.00 rental fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkah
Business
Boston
Aug 21, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel is beautiful and the beach is right there which means you don't have to plan beach trips. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the service was amazing. As expected the food and the drink at the hotel were really overpriced. It's right next to the airport so occasionally you hear jets taking off and landing but most of the time it's not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBNJ
Business
New Jersey
Aug 21, 2013

Gorgeous Hotel - Beware of Construction

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend. The only true complaint I had was the construction that was going on throughout our stay. It seems they are updating their outdoor restaurant near the beach, and boy was it loud! Jackhammers going ALL day long. From what I am told construction will be going on till November. Also the actual pool needs updating too, missing tiles, etc. It did affect our pool experience significantly, and had we known, we would have opted for another hotel. That being said, the staff at the RC, every one of them, was WONDERFUL and ATTENTIVE. This is a very family friendly resort with a ton of kids, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, you may want to look elsewhere. Restaurants, Spa services, and casino on premise are all top notch. Again the staff is what impressed me the most. Not sure if we will return soon, as the price of the resort for the lack of serenity was a turnoff. Puerto Rico is not my favorite island in the Caribbean, as it is very populated. I prefer a less hectic destination, such as Barbados or Turks & Caicos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlosh40
Business
White Plains, NY
Aug 17, 2013

Excellent

Great hotel, the location is perfect, amazing staff always ready to help they don't give you any excuse they go and try the best to help you and make your stay perfect. Congrats to everybody at the Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Maz
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 10, 2013

Beautiful and Relaxing

Great experience. We've stayed here before (this was our fifth stay.) Staff is attentive, hotel and facilities are beautiful, restaurants are great. Very relaxing. Old San Juan is a great shopping experience. The Barcardi factory tour is fun. The rainforest is great. Hotel is not inexpensive and the restaurants are rather costly, but we treated ourselves. Well deserved vacation and the Ritz did right by us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi2013
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Aug 5, 2013

Good Weekend Getaway

We chose this location because of the Ritz brand and were moderately happy with it. The location beachwise is good with a long and hard-packed beach great for walking and sunbathing. The local area outside the hotel, however, is very shabby and overly commercialized with fast food chain restaurants; more urban than great vacation getaway. If you ask for an oceanview room make sure it's floor 7 or above otherwise the palm trees completely block your view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Platos for dinner; a short walk from the hotel they have delicious local cuisine, plus live music and a great atmosphere. Then, head over to the El San Juan hotel (a few blocks away) for a live salsa band in the lobby on Friday nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luis ny
Business
NY
Jul 25, 2013

weekend getaway

very good experience had a great time could not ask for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy world traveler
Business
Tulsa
Jul 16, 2013

Hidden Fees

The hotel charges resort fees and a enormous amount for incidentals. Would not stay there again! Stayed July 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
broke and tired
Business
herndon, va
Jul 13, 2013

needs more

After staying at several other hotel chains, Ritz-Carlton seems not to be interested in competing for business. The only thing they offer is water. Even a morning cup of coffee, free at most other chains, costs over $3. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top