$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 19, 2014 Check-out: May 21, 2014

The Condado Plaza Hilton

4 stars
999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
394 reviews
great getaway

Our getaway was for girls only, my daughters and me. We were able to fulfill many of our wishes.... See full review

  • mom w
  • Apr 9, 2014
First Date/First Getaway

This hotel was amazing!!!!! Not only were the staff helpful but being surrounded by all the helpful... See full review

  • Candye The First Timer
  • Apr 1, 2014
San Juan waterfront hotel in the Condado district with casino, kayaking
The Condado Plaza Hilton imaginatively blends the lavish comforts of a contemporary San Juan hotel and the colorful and effervescent magic of the island of Puerto Rico. Located on the vibrant Condado Strip and the only elite San Juan retreat overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, The Condado Plaza Hilton hotel in San Juan offers easy access to renowned museums, historic landmarks, shops and nightlife venues.  Conveniently located, the property also boasts of cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets and shimmering protected cove. The San Juan, PR hotel & resort combines contemporary accommodation, sophisticated event venues, four refreshing pools, superb dining, 24-hour casino and vibrant nightlife in exceptional settings. Other recreation facilities include day and night tennis, 24-hour fitness center, kayaks, standup paddle boards, bike and snorkeling equipment.
   
Highlights
  • Six on-site restaurants and bars plus a Starbucks and a Grab-'N-Go
  • Protected beach
  • Gelato parlor
  • Water slide and toddler wading pool
  • 12,500-square-foot 24-hour casino
Rooms

Stylish rooms are awash in cool Caribbean colors with lemon-hued walls and lime and turquoise accents or vibrant combination of red, orange and pink. This hotel's 571 rooms include 61 swanky suites, all of which have city, lagoon or ocean views and most with private balconies. Rooms have either one king or two queen beds, ergonomic chairs, oversized workstation, premium-cable television and in-room movies, 26-inch flat-screen LCD TV, bathroom amenities, coffeemaker with coffee and tea, mini refrigerator and electronic safe deposit box. Every guest room has broadband Internet access.

Features
  • Self parking and valet parking are available for a fee.
  • Boarding pass kiosk
  • Airline departure monitor
Dining
There are five on-site restaurants. Pikayo fuses European, African and Puerto Rican flavors with dishes such as lobster empanadillas. Pikayo's decadent dining room has rich red accents and is open for dinner. Denny's full-service family restaurant serves classic American food all day.  Eight Noodle Bar offers innovative Asian cuisine and sushi bar, perfect spot for dinner or late-night bites. Cafe Caribe offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean  in addition to a refreshing ice cream parlor.  Aqua Bar & Grill is a casual bar and poolside grill for lunch, early dinner, cocktails and tropical drinks. More options are available at Starbucks, Eternal Lobby Lounge, and Viaggi Grab-'N-Go.
Entertainment

This elegant, art deco casino has a variety of gambling tables and more than 350 slot machines ranging from one cent to $25 denominations. This is open 24 hours a day. There are also three bars that spread throughout the vibrant lobby.  A live spinning DJ plays every weekend.

Recreation

Guests can relax on the double-sized hammocks in a sandy cove outside the hotel. Plush lounge chairs and umbrellas surround a saltwater pool, two freshwater pools and two Jacuzzis. Wi-Fi extends to the pool and beach areas. Active travelers can rent kayaking and snorkeling equipment as well as paddle boards at the hotel. Rotating activities including Zumba classes, aqua volleyball, bingo, power walk, yoga class, fish feeding and chess tournament among others. The fitness center is open 24 hours, with cardio and weight-training equipment. Reservations can be made for the lighted tennis court, and lessons are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (7 mi/11.26 km)
  • Taxi and bus service available
Attractions
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.45 km)
  • Museo de Arte Contemporano (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Cruise ship piers (3 mi /4 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Plaza Las America, largest shopping mall in the Caribbean (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Access throughout the property
  • 24-hour business center with printing, copying and faxing
  • 41, 000 square feet of flexible meeting space plus waterfront outdoor venues
  • Audio/visual equipment rental on site
  • Close to Hato Rey and Guaynabo business districts

    Policies and fees
    Self-parking costs $18.19 per night while valet parking is $24.61 per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Casino
    Tennis
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Condado Plaza Hilton also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    18.4608 -66.081
    Nearby airports
    Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.00, MI, E; Ferdinando Luis Ribas Dominicci Airport, (SIG), 2.00, MI, W; Mercedita Airport, (PSE), 71.00, MI, S;

    Nearby points of interest

    • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.3 mi
    • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
    • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
    • Bellas Artes: 1 mi
    • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
    • Port of San Juan: 1.9 mi
    • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2 mi
    • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2 mi
    • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
    • Fortaleza Street: 2.3 mi
    • Plaza de Armas: 2.4 mi
    • Parque de las Palomas: 2.4 mi
    • Calle del Cristo: 2.5 mi
    • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.5 mi
    • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.3 mi
    • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 0.8 mi
    • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.8 mi
    • San Juan Gate: 0.9 mi
    • Bellas Artes: 1 mi
    • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
    • Port of San Juan: 1.9 mi
    • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2 mi
    • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2 mi
    • Ocean Park: 2.1 mi
    • Fortaleza Street: 2.3 mi
    • Plaza de Armas: 2.4 mi
    • Parque de las Palomas: 2.4 mi
    • Calle del Cristo: 2.5 mi
    • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.5 mi
    • Museo del Nino: 2.5 mi
    • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.5 mi
    • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.5 mi
    • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.5 mi
    • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.4 mi
    • Museo de Las Americas: 4 mi
    • Isla Verde: 4.2 mi
    • Jardin Botanico: 4.4 mi
    • Arecibo Observatory: 44.8 mi

    Dining

    Restaurant
    onsite

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (394)

    Ratings and reviews for The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    60 out of 394
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    3.6

    73% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    2
    tennisgurl
    Mobile, AL
    Apr 12, 2014

    5 night stay

    The staff at this hotel needs some work on hospitality! They seem to be annoyed by the guests asking for something and the bar and restaurant prices here and everywhere in San Juan are too high!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    The Yunke zip line is worth it! Great guys and much fun. That was the highlight of our trip.

    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    5
    Trina H
    Hartford CT
    Mar 14, 2014

    A great hotel

    The hotel was awesome. The room was nice with a beautiful view from the balcony. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The restaurants were pretty pricey but you can always go out and grab a meal. All and all the hotel was fantastic.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

    You can go to Plaza las Americas on the bus for 1.75 or you can take a taxi for $15 if you're looking to get there quicker.

    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    4
    kittymac
    New York, NY
    Mar 8, 2014

    OH YEAH!!

    A six day getaway with childhood friends [we are now in our 60's!]. Did not know what to expect, with the vague reviews, but this hotel was perfect for us. The Ocean view room is a MUST [and THANK YOU Michelle Burns, guest relations, for getting us this...totally awesome!!!!] The room was beautiful, with a great baloney overlooking the ocean, housekeeping right on target [and we are self described as totally "disorganized slobs"...so sorry staff, but thank you for getting it back in shape!] The pools and adjacent beach were perfect after suffering through a terrible NYC winter..we would have settled for 60 degree weather but the sun shined through out, at 85 degrees and we were in heaven! The front desk was polite and accommodating..and quick! EVERY employee we meet was so polite and informative. TIPS: Eight noodle Bar, although a littler over priced, was one of the best Asian places I have been too.!..highly recommended! Bus to Old San Juan: Just outside the hotel [literally], for 75 cents. Unfortunately, they seem to be in a strike slowdown when we were there..frustrating...but hopefully things have changed now. Better than a $20 ride to the old town. Rent a car for a day or two: Enterprise is on the hotel property. We looked at tours to the rain forest and Luquillo beach..about $70 a person. Rent a car, for about $40 a day, and with 3 people.a bargain, and you travel at your own pace...and an adventure! Isle Verde: A BIG disappointment...wow, so "Jersey Shore"..glad we did not stay here, but great restaurants,,,LOVED the Metropole...go!! Down the block was a place called Rojas Viques [totally not their name],,but WOW, what great food and service...GO!! Literally one block...to the left. So go...I am a tough New Yorker but LOVED this place!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    3
    GIRLS FROM CHICAGO
    CHICAGO ILLINOIS
    Jan 10, 2014

    Vacation 12/26/2013-01/04/2014

    First thing if you like room service, they do not have it, pick up only. This is for sure a hotel not a resort, plan accordingly. YOU WILL NOT BE PAMPERED HERE!! Also, this hotel does not tell you that there is another building to this hotel that sits across the street on Ashford Avenue. There will not be an ocean view. The hotel claims 3 pools, which it does have however the one in the other building is super small. The other two are in the main building and one of the pools is salt water. Additionally, if you like to be in the sun, the main pool is limited to sunlight, plan on 10:00 am to 3:00 pm MAX, depending on were you sit! Make sure you request to be in the main building for your room. The inside is updated and the outside needs a little TLC. I had a chance to go over to the Caribe Hilton and it was beautiful, should have stayed there. Open air lobby, spectacular pools and sunlight all day!! More stores and things to do on the property. The front desk staff was wonderful, The Concierge Staff was bubbly, happy, knowledgeable and ready to help. The Doormen were super friendly and spot on. The Dealers at the Casino were friendly as well. The Housekeeping Staff was awesome. The bartenders at the Pool, were super sweet!! The BEST was Yeleni, (my apologies if I spelled her name incorrectly) from the Pool Service Staff. A super sweetheart of a person and a server. While other Pool Staff Servers were constantly seen together in corners talking, she was running her self to death. Other than that Hilton needs to re-examine who they have in charge of Food and Beverage Management, Bar Management, general staff management and security. Over a holiday week and weekend the pool bar runs out of Corona with no stock replenish date??? The Pool Manager did not assist customers with questions or food orders, something I witnessed myself. He simply pointed to a pool server, he did not even speak one word to the customer. EVERY bartender I encountered at the "circle bar" off of the lobby was rude, did not say hello or thank you. Additionally, once they were done talking to each other, THEN they attended to customers. Very slow at that bar. The Pool Concierge staff was sweet however every day there were a different set of 'rules'????? There were also two weddings that took place while I was there and it took the hotel 2 days to clean up from that. Chairs and a water table were left out on the ocean side grass area for 2 days. Do we really need to look at that??? For the amount of money I spent there for nine days, it was a pure waste. I have family that works for Hilton in Management and they were horrified to know the level of service that I received. The hotel is located close to many places and if you like to walk, Old San Juan is great little walk to see so many things, shop, eat and see the ships ports. Make sure you stop and eat at El Hamburger, great place. A total diner with great burgers and silly staff. Also Cafe De Angel in Condado on Ashford has great Puerto Rican Food. If you are a foodie and you know your Chef's, make sure to visit Pikayo in the hotel, delicious food!!! Why the name is at the bottom of the Marquee, is beyond me??? For two people to get from the Airport to this location was $19.00 which included $1.00 for each of our pieces of luggage.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    3
    Meli23
    Forest Hills, NY
    Nov 21, 2013

    OK hotel

    The hotel could have been better for the price. Looked outdated, the rooms were nice but you can see the cracks and paint peeling. The patio furniture and the pool furniture were horrendous, rusty and old definitely needs an update. Not worth the price, but if you share a room with 4 people then yes, but the price for 2 is not worth it, pay a little extra and stay somewhere 10x better or even less and its still 10x better.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    5
    krisztinastar
    seattle, wa
    Sep 18, 2013

    amazing pool

    amazing 24 hour pool and hot tub, small private beach, lovely decor and the rooms were beautiful - ocean front room had a nice sized balcony with a beautiful sunrise view. Park next door in the cheap er lot, the hotel overcharges for parking. There was a resort fee per day that included wifi, but also should have included parking.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    2
    CAAvidTraveller
    California
    Aug 27, 2013

    Not a 4-star hotel

    In my opinion, this hotel is definitely not a 4-star hotel. It's more like a 3-star, and I would prefer to pay accordingly. I suppose if you are lucky enough to get a good room, you might have different experience than I did. Appearance: It has seen its good day, and in need of revamping. The hotel looks tired. Quality: The air conditioning is too noisy, the roof leak in the outside dining area, etc. Service: service at the desk front desk is not up to par. the employees looked as though they are over-worked. All-in-all it's a less than a good experience considering the price, location, and expectation for a 4-star hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    4
    John M NYC
    NYC
    May 6, 2013

    Near perfect

    Great hotel at a really good value point. The hotel has a nice little beach just passed the nice pool area to swim in, SUP in, and lounge. The hotel has two bars, a pretty good casino, and everything you would expect for a Conrad. No complaints at all aside from a long check in line on Friday and Saturday am (we saw the line but Thursday when we checked in there wasnt one). The hotel is nicely situated between San Juan and Old San Juan, but the $15 taxi add up if in and out alot. But they do have their own shuttle to use too. I liked being in between SJ and OSJ. Old SJ is cool for a couple days to explore, but OSJ is more authentic PR exp.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Use your free $5 vouchers at the casino on a $10 hand.

    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    4
    chelez68
    Madawaska, ME
    Apr 24, 2013

    Awesome stay

    The Conrad was wonderful for the trip we had planned. The concierge was very helpful in setting up our excursions. Besides the hotel restaurants, there were plenty of other options within walking distance. Not the best beach available, but that wasn't a top priority for us. We had an ocean-side room, and the view was worth the upgrade in my opinion. Ask the concierge for the guide to daily hotel activities. And we could have used a guide or floor plan to help us know what was where. They may be available, but not in the room book.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    The bottled water and munchies are a budget-buster. We learned quickly to pick those items up while on our daily excursions.

    Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

    Reviewer score

    4
    Skippys moma
    Long Island, NY
    Apr 1, 2013

    Surprisingly Lovely Place, with nice views

    We loved the hotel for its location,the pools were nicely laid out. Lagoon beach pretty. Hotel Casino was great, so fun and friendly staff. Clean, lovely, boutique hotel... Great location to hop over to Old SJ Only thing that was problem was mirror in bathroom, with the reflective lights around mirror. Couldn't see well putting on makeup...and should have been a mirror in bedroom if few gals are trying to get ready.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Google Restaurants, Look at Menu, then make reservations. We found Marmalade, Pamelas, Koco, Dragon Fly and they were all an experience and delicious. Researched it for days.

    Back to menu Return to top