$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Condado Plaza Hilton

4 stars
View map of 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Condado Plaza Hilton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajskfhoeiroire
Business
Minnesota
Apr 26, 2014

Nice Place

Stayed here two nights before going to Fajardo. Beach area is nice. Beach chairs are old and many broke or uncomfortable. The room was nice and clean but nothing special. The walk to Old San Juan was VERY long and would need to take a cab. Overall, average stay and place was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonGirl22
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2014

Condado Plaza Hilton

The location of this hotel was perfect for us. Just outside Old San Juan and on Ashford Avenue which has a lot of restaurants. The hotel itself was very busy and the staff was very friendly and attentive. It could use some rehab/updating but overall it was nice. The negatives were: (1) the carpet in the room had not been vaccumed when we arrived and had pieces of trash and paperclips on it from the previous guests. (2) the climate control in the room only seemed to work on "cold". The AC seemed to always be on high which made our room very cold. We actually shut it off. (3) the free wifi only worked for a few minutes at a time, regardless of where you were on the property (4) the shower leaked because the shower door did not shut all the way. We had to keep everything off the floor (closet is in the bathroom). Positives: (1) friendly staff (2) amazing ocean views (3) great saltwater pool. Overall, it was a decent stay. There are many other hotels on Ashford Avenue so if we go back we may stay at one of those but I would also stay at the Condado Plaza Hilton again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom w
Business
queens,ny
Apr 9, 2014

great getaway

Our getaway was for girls only, my daughters and me. We were able to fulfill many of our wishes. The hotel's location made it easy to walk to Old San Juan. The staff was very attentive, advising us how to have a day trip when the regular business wasn't able to accommodate us, holding doors, hailing cabs, and advising us on safety and smart traveling. Restaurants abound on Ashford and we walked to many of them. This is a great spot to moor with the waves heard over the a/c as we drifted off to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A walk to el Morro, past gardens, and beautiful buildings and sights.

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candye The First Timer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 1, 2014

First Date/First Getaway

This hotel was amazing!!!!! Not only were the staff helpful but being surrounded by all the helpful locals was great. We had a city view room on the 7th floor which over looked the lagoon and city. The view was spectacular. We didn't dine at any of the restaurants but we were definetly surrounded by many amazing places to dine. "Wakiki" and "Perurrican" to name a few are just a 10 minute walk down Ashford Ave. I recommend this hotel to any first timers in Puerto Rico. The pools and beach were just what we were looking for. Although the beach was small there is a larger one just a minutes walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmart55
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 24, 2014

great couples getaway

We had a great time at this hotel! Perfect for a couples vacation. We ate at the pool restaurant, and also at Pikayo. Pikayo was delicious! The tuna entrée was one of the best tuna dishes I have ever had. Also the cheese & chocolate soufflés were amazing! Also about a block away, we had an amazing meal at Ropa Vieja. For delicious drinks with a view, I would recommend the Vanderbilt hotel - also a short walk. At the hotel we paid the upgrade fee to have a room that overlooked the ocean in the main building - WELL worth the upgrade. Beautiful view from the balcony! The room was spacious and clean - the bathroom was also really nice. After reading some of these other reviews, I have to admit we were a little skeptical - but all of the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The location was pretty good - not much beach, but we live near a beach so that wasn't a priority to us. We did walk through Condado and explore some of the restaurants in the area. If anything, all the hotspots were a short cab ride away. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Jose Enrique... about 10 minute drive. Hands down the BEST food we ate on our trip to San Juan. Well worth the wait!!

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kittymac
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2014

OH YEAH!!

A six day getaway with childhood friends [we are now in our 60's!]. Did not know what to expect, with the vague reviews, but this hotel was perfect for us. The Ocean view room is a MUST [and THANK YOU Michelle Burns, guest relations, for getting us this...totally awesome!!!!] The room was beautiful, with a great baloney overlooking the ocean, housekeeping right on target [and we are self described as totally "disorganized slobs"...so sorry staff, but thank you for getting it back in shape!] The pools and adjacent beach were perfect after suffering through a terrible NYC winter..we would have settled for 60 degree weather but the sun shined through out, at 85 degrees and we were in heaven! The front desk was polite and accommodating..and quick! EVERY employee we meet was so polite and informative. TIPS: Eight noodle Bar, although a littler over priced, was one of the best Asian places I have been too.!..highly recommended! Bus to Old San Juan: Just outside the hotel [literally], for 75 cents. Unfortunately, they seem to be in a strike slowdown when we were there..frustrating...but hopefully things have changed now. Better than a $20 ride to the old town. Rent a car for a day or two: Enterprise is on the hotel property. We looked at tours to the rain forest and Luquillo beach..about $70 a person. Rent a car, for about $40 a day, and with 3 people.a bargain, and you travel at your own pace...and an adventure! Isle Verde: A BIG disappointment...wow, so "Jersey Shore"..glad we did not stay here, but great restaurants,,,LOVED the Metropole...go!! Down the block was a place called Rojas Viques [totally not their name],,but WOW, what great food and service...GO!! Literally one block...to the left. So go...I am a tough New Yorker but LOVED this place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew from North Carolin
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Mar 7, 2014

Great place to relax and see San Juan

Wonderful hotel. Great staff. Good location. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DavidMN
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 6, 2014

A decent value

The Condado Plaza Hilton is getting a little rough around the edges, but it's priced appropriately for it. Our room was average for a decent hotel, and the location was excellent; close to the old part of San Juan, but still in the Condado district where there is good shopping, beaches, and restaurants. The Casino, if you like that sort of thing, is better than the casinos in some of the other hotels in terms of roominess and nice atmosphere. I wasn't a fan of the $50 per day resort charge (what is it for, exactly, when no services are provided for free?), but my understanding is that all the large beach hotels in the area do the same thing, so I can't really ding them for it. Drinks at the pool are small and expensive ($9 for a Piña Colada in a 10 or 12oz cup), and the bar staff were a little abrupt. The desk, door, and house staff were great, and the bartenders in the lobby bar were super friendly. The pool area plays extremely loud dance club music all day, so you'll want to get a hammock on the sea side of the hotel if you want to be able to talk to your companions while outside. It's nice on that side anyway, so that's not a huge issue, and some people like that sort of thing anyway I suppose. The Pikayo restaurant was vey nice, although expensive for what you get. The Ribeye I ordered was drowning in a very strong sauce that overpowered, rather than complimented, the meat, and my companion ordered medium but got medium rare (almost rare, in fact). It was a good meal, but worth perhaps $100, instead of the $150 we paid for two of us. A couple of times we asked the desk or door staff questions about the area, and we got excellent, helpful information about how to get where we were going, or what to do or see in the area. In summary, if you're looking for a high-quality hotel, you might want to pick something a little newer, but if you're looking for a decent hotel that is priced appropriately for what you get, in a good location, the Condado Plaza Hilton might be a good choice for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamalou421
Business
staten island, ny
Mar 5, 2014

valentines week getaway for two

our experience at this hotel was ok. i was surprized to see not much nightlife on the condado strip near hotel..we called housekeeping for additional bedding.. never came..bathroom didn't have vent fans, also found bathroom a bit small.. the .concierge, and front desk staff, very helpful & friendly..although- we were NEVER INFORMED that the self parking daily vouchers( that we had to get validated) for supposedly free parking ..we found out at check out that we were billed almost $20 a day for parking -along with an additional "surprise" daily hotel fee!! nice time but sorry to say- i don't think we will be going there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

go to isla verde.. for dining.. nightlife..and beaches..beautiful..

Review of The Condado Plaza Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papai do Brasil
Business
Washington, D.C.
Feb 25, 2014

the best place for a 5 year old and parents

This is our second visit to the Condado Plaza; it's comfortable, affordable, perfectly located, and all the right stuff for a 5 year old and parents. The laguna side beach for kids, the pool, the water slide, all perfect for small children. The staff is simpatico and responsive; and throw in a cold Medalla, well it's cielito lindo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Angel for the best authentic Puerto Rican food at affordable prices and a great wait staff; yeah if you want all the pomp and circumstance, go to Lola's, but you will be feliz para siempre at Angel's down the street in front of the La Concha hotel.

Back to menu Return to top