$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location.... See full review

  • wine loving traveler
  • Jun 23, 2014
On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff... See full review

  • Jwmuff
  • Dec 14, 2013
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Merrick, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Stay Away!

Two 23 year-old friends looking for a vacation spot with a young clientelle. There was not very much going on at the hotel. No music. Bar closed early. Rooms need alot of attention. Bathroom door didn't close & the door to the room needed to be slamed in order to close it. Would definately NOT stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Merrick, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Stay Away!

Two 23 year-old friends looking for a vacation spot with a young clientelle. There was not very much going on at the hotel. No music. Bar closed early. Rooms need alot of attention. Bathroom door didn't close & the door to the room needed to be slamed in order to close it. Would definately NOT stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCDR
Vienna, VA
Dec 20, 2009

Should have checked out the hotel room

I was drawn to this hotel initially because of the cheap price and the beautiful pictures of the beach that it is located on. Now I know why it was so much cheaper than everyone else. It's a two story hotel which should've warned me from the beginning. The hotel rooms are extremely small and just have an overwhleming scent of pine sol. We checked out 2 ours after checking in, only due to a change of flight plans, but was extremely thankful. I didn't get my money back either, or even a slight portion, which I'm extremely upset about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PCDR
Vienna, VA
Dec 20, 2009

Should have checked out the hotel room

I was drawn to this hotel initially because of the cheap price and the beautiful pictures of the beach that it is located on. Now I know why it was so much cheaper than everyone else. It's a two story hotel which should've warned me from the beginning. The hotel rooms are extremely small and just have an overwhleming scent of pine sol. We checked out 2 ours after checking in, only due to a change of flight plans, but was extremely thankful. I didn't get my money back either, or even a slight portion, which I'm extremely upset about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yonkers, New York
Sep 2, 2009

very dissapointed

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were very disappointed. The service desk is outdoors and there was no one there to receive customers. The hotel was very dirty and the rooms were very small. The sheets and bedspreads were old and looked dirty. There were no trash cans and none of the amenities promised in their ad. The hotel looked nothing like the on-line pictures. To make a long story short this was a serious case of false advertisement. Thanks to Orbitz we were able to obtain a new room that very day but still had to pay some money to the Beach house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best dining was in Old San Juan places such as Raices and in the Calle La Fortaleza (around the corner form Raices)the Blue Parrot and many more on that street. There is also live entertainment while you dine.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yonkers, New York
Sep 2, 2009

very dissapointed

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were very disappointed. The service desk is outdoors and there was no one there to receive customers. The hotel was very dirty and the rooms were very small. The sheets and bedspreads were old and looked dirty. There were no trash cans and none of the amenities promised in their ad. The hotel looked nothing like the on-line pictures. To make a long story short this was a serious case of false advertisement. Thanks to Orbitz we were able to obtain a new room that very day but still had to pay some money to the Beach house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best dining was in Old San Juan places such as Raices and in the Calle La Fortaleza (around the corner form Raices)the Blue Parrot and many more on that street. There is also live entertainment while you dine.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta. GA
Aug 27, 2009

VERY NICE STYLISH HOTEL

I was only there for one day, but I really enjoyed the interior design of the rooms. Not a big chain hotel, but a grat place to getaway from it all. I would return on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta. GA
Aug 27, 2009

VERY NICE STYLISH HOTEL

I was only there for one day, but I really enjoyed the interior design of the rooms. Not a big chain hotel, but a grat place to getaway from it all. I would return on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jun 30, 2009

Worst Hotel I've stayed in

The rooms were terrible and should have been free considering the state of that motel. Our door was so old and rotted that a small animal could have crawled under the door. I was afraid that I might bring home bed bugs. Most disappointed that Orbitz would even sell a room that is in such disgusting shape. I'm not so sure I would ever book with Orbitz again after this nightmare. I paid almost $200.00 for 1 night to sleep in a pit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jun 30, 2009

Worst Hotel I've stayed in

The rooms were terrible and should have been free considering the state of that motel. Our door was so old and rotted that a small animal could have crawled under the door. I was afraid that I might bring home bed bugs. Most disappointed that Orbitz would even sell a room that is in such disgusting shape. I'm not so sure I would ever book with Orbitz again after this nightmare. I paid almost $200.00 for 1 night to sleep in a pit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top