$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
93 reviews
Great location

Rooms outdated ... Need renovation ... Major one.... But the location it's great ... Right on the... See full review

  • Pacoal76
  • Oct 18, 2014
Great getaway!

Great staff, excellent location! Beach front property+++ See full review

  • Will2065
  • Oct 14, 2014
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 2, 2008

Good location, needs improvements

Great location, nice beach and beach bar. Rooms are ok, but staff needs to pay attention to details like clean sheets and water preasure. Also, the guy in charge of beach towels was very rude and simply told us we have no towels, they were stolen. 2 days after that, a new guy gave us the towels right away and was very helpful. So I guess it was just that one guy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

beautifull beach front, not so great hotel rooms

The outside of the hotel was nice, and the beach beds were nice. The beach front was not crowded at all. The hotel rooms were small. The showers didn't work. We switched rooms 4 times and finally left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of fast food and sit-down restaurants were nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscon, AZ
Aug 2, 2008

My review of The Beach House

The rooms are small, uncofotable and and not too pleasant. the restaurant Manager was rude. I was having some beers at the beach and it started raining, so I went and sat down on the restaurant with my own beer from my ice chest. She told me in a rude way that I couldn't drink beer from the outside there. The only reason that I went inside, was because it was raining. Also I had to pay for the parking. They had a party there, and there were so many cars, that I couldn't get my car out to go visit Old San Juan. it was way too expensive for the quality of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richardson
Jun 12, 2008

For young people

This hotel is very much geared toward the younger crowd. The rooms are just what you need if you are going to the beach...our trip was not to hang out in the room. We had 3 complaints...the shower had no pressure so it was hard to shower, then they were doing renovations and there was a jackhammer during most of the trip (therefore the bar and restaurant was closed for a few days). That being said, I think once the renovations are complete I would definitely return. The staff was friendly and tried to make it up to us because of the inconveniences. The beach location was amazing and the bar, bed and patio made the beach experience great. Our friends that were staying at a resort spent the days on the beach at our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Walgreens was only a few blocks, so we could get any item that we didn't pack or needed (ie tylenol, gatorade). We went to the Walgreens EVERYDAY :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moline, IL
May 3, 2008

Stay Away

The only good thing about this hotel is the fact it is on the beach but the coastline is full of hotels along the beach front. To say the room was small is an understatement. The shower ran the entire stay and there was no consistancy with the cleaning schedule. Several time the cleaning staff took it upon themselves to rearrange our personal belongings in both the bath and sleeping areas. Each day was an adventure to see what towels we would be left with. You would assume two each since there were two of us but...no. We actual;ly have to go to the front desk and ask for a roll of toilet paper which they handed to us from there. Both the food and the bar were expensive beyond reason. It was to our favor that there were numerous dining places close to the hotel. All were a much better value than the hotel itself. This hotel offers no attractions or ammenties. The toilet paper was not an isolated situation. This hotel cares more about its nightlife than the actual guests staying at the hotel. We saw this over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, ME
Feb 24, 2008

Excellent location, wonderful staff, very cooperative

This is a lovely little boutique hotel on the beach with terrific bartenders and very clean anlthough small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Cockfight arena - Hotel San Juan and Casino within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint, MI
Feb 24, 2008

Great Beach - Bad Room

The Beach House has a wonderful beach. The hotel room only had a bed (very uncomfortable) and a nightstand. The floor was covered with sand upon arrival. The ice maker for the bar was right outside the window of the hotel room and so were the garbage cans for the bar and restaurant. The hotel workers were retrieving ice and throwing trash away until the early morning hours. After that the ice machine dumped ice every half hour on its own. I travel often, and I have NEVER stayed at a place like this especially for the amount I spent on it. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

If you plan to spend a ...

If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, maybe not for you- the rooms are smaller and I did feel could have been better on the up keep...BUT I really loved this place. It has a very open island concept which was great!! We stepped off off the back deck onto the beach and looked up to see the entire beach lined with big named hotels that towered over everything and then looked back at the little villa like building below. You can stay at a huge hotel anywhere you go, but to stay somewhere that gave you the feel of the islands was really cool!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a hotel in the restaurant as well as the normal chain food places right down the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 23, 2008

Worst Value

The Beach House was the worst value for the money I have ever experienced!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The night club makes enough noise to keep you awake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Dec 16, 2007

Nice for young couples or party people

This is definitely a place for a party. Upon arrival we noticed this was not a quiet place. There were a few people all dressed up and hanging out by the front desk, which is also right in front of the hotel?s night club. We thought we would be up all night with the noise, and it was already midnight. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our room. Not only could you not hear a sound from the club, but whoever decorated the place did an awesome job! It's very modern and clean. There were really nice bath products as well. The beds and linens were very comfortable, and chosen with great taste of style! The front desk was very friendly and let us stay a little extra without a charge, being that we were there only for a night to go on a cruise and weren't supposed to be at the port until 2pm. We were expecting a full breakfast, but that was not the case at all, so be prepared to eat elsewhere. The ?continental breakfast? left a lot to be desired. The beach area is gorgeous with beautiful beach beds and a very tranquil atmosphere during the day. All in all, this is a very nice place, and if nothing else, gave us some great ideas as far as decorating. Make sure to check out the club. I can't say enough about how beautiful it was...As for food, we were really hungry when we checked in and as I mentioned before it was really late. We ate at a little Mexican place just to the left as you walk out of the parking lot. It was really excellent, both in taste and price? We were again pleasantly surprised, as the place looked a little iffy... If you have never been to Puerto Rico, and aren't sure about it....Go! It's absolutely beautiful, with a ton of things to do! Have a safe trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top