The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location.... See full review

  • wine loving traveler
  • Jun 23, 2014
On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff... See full review

  • Jwmuff
  • Dec 14, 2013
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Lone Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Not your 5 Star place but cool!

So the rooms are small, the staff small, the hotel itself small, but I wouldnt want it any other way. Locals come to hang here. The staff very cool, like first name basis cool. The food? Delicious!! And you CANNOT beat the beach at all. I loved that you can walk from the deck straight onto the beach. The pictures of that are VERY accurate. I also got a massage on the beach which was great! My room was only for sleep so it didnt need to be grand and huge. I reccommend the BEACH HOUSE especially for the young and trendy and on a budget lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel San Juan had Salsa dancing at night.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luv2travel1976
las vegas
May 20, 2010

our favorite

We really enjoyed are stay at the beach house. We loved the beach side pool furniture and bar/restaurant. A lot of the hotels on the beach don't offer this. The night life at the hotel beach side was good if we didn't want to venture out for the night. The night life beach side is a little loud but we could sleep though it if we needed to. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luckydiscovery
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2010

Beach view awesome, room view horrible..

When we arrived, they did not have our reservation. The hotel has beautiful views next to the beach but hotel itself needs attention. My bed was old and broken and room floor had dirt all over it. not a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to a few bars and beach. Best place to go while there is the club in the hotel (intercontinental). they charge 10 bucks. aside from that, theres really nothing else to do around isla verde.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J & N
Portland Ore
Apr 29, 2010

Don't go to this hotel

We were booked and paid for 4 days but left after first night. We arrived late so stayed one night and left next AM. They placed us in their other hotel which was not noisy but was very old. For our breakfast we had to ask for silver ware to eat. The bar nosie lasted until 5:30 AM. We will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Very loud bar. Noise all night

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J & N
Portland Ore
Apr 29, 2010

Don't go to this hotel

We were booked and paid for 4 days but left after first night. We arrived late so stayed one night and left next AM. They placed us in their other hotel which was not noisy but was very old. For our breakfast we had to ask for silver ware to eat. The bar nosie lasted until 5:30 AM. We will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Very loud bar. Noise all night

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Florida
Apr 26, 2010

Horrible Place to Stay

Booked Hotel after visiting website and seeing pictures. when arrived at the hotel discovered the website was nothing like the actual Hotel and was very misleading. i checkd in the hotel and checked right back out walked 2 blocks with my luggage and booked another hotel. The Beach House Hotel was very disturbing the shower curtain was mildewed and rod was rusted, no hot water, Bed Sheets smelled, ice bucket was also rusted not to mention the dirty PLASTIC CUPS they give you, walls were peeling paint and cracking with a hole in the corner covered with tape, door to room did not close good, and very noisey. I would not have my dog sleep in this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Florida
Apr 26, 2010

Horrible Place to Stay

Booked Hotel after visiting website and seeing pictures. when arrived at the hotel discovered the website was nothing like the actual Hotel and was very misleading. i checkd in the hotel and checked right back out walked 2 blocks with my luggage and booked another hotel. The Beach House Hotel was very disturbing the shower curtain was mildewed and rod was rusted, no hot water, Bed Sheets smelled, ice bucket was also rusted not to mention the dirty PLASTIC CUPS they give you, walls were peeling paint and cracking with a hole in the corner covered with tape, door to room did not close good, and very noisey. I would not have my dog sleep in this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 19, 2010

Mellow

The hotel is literally connected to the beach. Breakfast is served between the palm trees. It is a very friendly little spot. There is a long stretch of beach great for a walk. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Virginia
Apr 19, 2010

Mellow

The hotel is literally connected to the beach. Breakfast is served between the palm trees. It is a very friendly little spot. There is a long stretch of beach great for a walk. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2010

Don't Expect Too Much

I want to start off with the good. This hotel has a FABULOUS LOCATION!!! Your room is literally yards away from the Puerto Rican sand! However, I planned this trip as a romantic getaway and if I had to do it over again I WOULD NOT stay at The Beach House. Despite the great locale, the rooms were EXTREMELY SMALL. Our room had a full size bed in it, and surprisingly enough, that's all that could fit in the room! If I could do it over again, I would much rather have a room that could fit more than one piece of furniture in it. Also, we had the unfortunate luck of being there during the rainy season. After one overnight rain, we woke up to about 3/4 inch of rainwater in our room. To make things worse, the rain caused the power in the hotel to go out for about 2 hours. I will say that the hotel is fairly clean, the staff is nice and helpful and it is in great proximity to a lot of delicious restaurants on Isla Verde. Although the price is optimal, I would much rather pay a little bit more and stay somewhere slightly more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MI CASITA (a must!)

Back to menu Return to top