$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location.... See full review

  • wine loving traveler
  • Jun 23, 2014
On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff... See full review

  • Jwmuff
  • Dec 14, 2013
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jan 27, 2011

Great little hotel!

I loved the "beds" on the beach. Very relaxing, just to lay back and enjoy the view. Rooms are your basic, simple rooms, but the atmosphere and setup on the beach is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jan 27, 2011

Great little hotel!

I loved the "beds" on the beach. Very relaxing, just to lay back and enjoy the view. Rooms are your basic, simple rooms, but the atmosphere and setup on the beach is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
Oct 30, 2010

The Beach House

The Beach House Hotel is more for a couples trip and I would not recommend for children. It's in a great location and I would defitnetly return. The rooms are small, I recommend you get a bigger room if available. Ask and they will be more than happy to accommodate you. The staff is very friendly and always happy to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in Puerto Rico make an effort to go see the Bacardi Factory, its a free tour and at the end of the tour you get two complimentary drinks!! They have a Bacardi store and you can buy Bacardi at the factory prices!! A bottle of Bacardi is $12.00!!!

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
Oct 30, 2010

The Beach House

The Beach House Hotel is more for a couples trip and I would not recommend for children. It's in a great location and I would defitnetly return. The rooms are small, I recommend you get a bigger room if available. Ask and they will be more than happy to accommodate you. The staff is very friendly and always happy to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in Puerto Rico make an effort to go see the Bacardi Factory, its a free tour and at the end of the tour you get two complimentary drinks!! They have a Bacardi store and you can buy Bacardi at the factory prices!! A bottle of Bacardi is $12.00!!!

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I WAS A TRUSTWORTHY FOOL
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2010

Horrendous Hotel

We reserved the room for 3 nights and ran off after the first because of the hotel conditions. The pictures that falsely represent their hotel are nothing like the real thing. As I stated about all of the checked conditions applied. When I approached the front desk about my concerns they did nothing, they did not offer to change the room and all I was told was " I am sorry you feel that way" [...] I told the front desk my concerns and informed them why I wanted to cancel the additional days and they REFUSED to refund my money back to me!!! We should have known not to continue with registration when we overheard a prior guest checking out the very same day she checked in. She told us to beware and suggested we go to another hotel. We didn't listen to her and proceeded with reservation. Little did we know what she meant by her comment! SHE WAS RIGHT! This hotel is the type of hotel where quickies happen. It is a wambam thank you mama/sam type of hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patrisa
Cape Cod. MA
Sep 29, 2010

beautiful vacation

The best location, hotel is on the beach. People are friendly and helpful. The nights are amazing with live music

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patrisa
Cape Cod. MA
Sep 29, 2010

beautiful vacation

The best location, hotel is on the beach. People are friendly and helpful. The nights are amazing with live music

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
east haven CT
Aug 30, 2010

fantastic romantic getaway

freindly personel. fantastic sea view, conviniet near shopping, major highways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Doha, Qatar
Aug 27, 2010

Cool Place for Couples

We totally enjoyed this! Probably better for couples than for families just b/c it's joined to a bar/ restaurant and the rooms are quite small. Was great to be able to walk out the room and have the beach 10 meters away, with couches and four-poster beds right on the sand - a sophisticated and fun way to relax. We ate a lovely dinner there (on the beach couch!) under the stars, then waded in the ocean before heading to bed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbuck's down the street to the left at El San Juan Hotel (5-10 minutes walk).

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Doha, Qatar
Aug 27, 2010

Cool Place for Couples

We totally enjoyed this! Probably better for couples than for families just b/c it's joined to a bar/ restaurant and the rooms are quite small. Was great to be able to walk out the room and have the beach 10 meters away, with couches and four-poster beds right on the sand - a sophisticated and fun way to relax. We ate a lovely dinner there (on the beach couch!) under the stars, then waded in the ocean before heading to bed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbuck's down the street to the left at El San Juan Hotel (5-10 minutes walk).

Back to menu Return to top