$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
88 reviews
Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location.... See full review

  • wine loving traveler
  • Jun 23, 2014
On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff... See full review

  • Jwmuff
  • Dec 14, 2013
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dixbarn
CT
Jan 18, 2013

CONVENIENT LODGING

Nice stopover the night before our flight out of Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henry traveler
Sau Paulo, brasil
Jan 5, 2014

great staff

the staff is great, very friendly and helpful. The lounge is the best part of the guest house . If your plan is just relax at the beach and have some drinks , this is the place . But if the plan is to enjoy with family and kids, better to look for another place . The rooms are very simple , only to sleep .No internet connection in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lulu1989
Business
Houston
Dec 21, 2013

Beach house!!!

Don't pick this hotel!!!! My room was so dirty. The sheets we're stained, floor was disgusting! And it smelled like bleach.. I was counting the hours to leave that awful hotel. I got sick from their food.!!!! The NLT good thing is the beach.. Do yourself a favor and look for another hotel! It's not worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Santicruz
Chicago, Il
Dec 17, 2013

Quick overnight stay

Perfect for needing a quick overnight stay near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwmuff
North West Pennsylvania
Dec 14, 2013

On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff were courteous and friendly. The breakfast was acceptable with fruit bagels, cereal , ham , cheese, coffee and milk. You were within a fifteen minute walk of restaurants, grocery stores and fast food. The room was small and didn't have much but the AC worked well and the TV was good. For the price and if you are not concerned with the room this is a great place to stay...we went to spend time on the beach to get out of the cold, so for what was provided the room met our needs. The parking is limited also, we did not get a rental on this trip so it wasn't a concern. They do have a small parking lot. Isla verde beach is awesome, we love this beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DuckOne
NY, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Less Than Satisfied

The only thing nice about this hotel was the beach. it was dirty and dingy. i went in with low expectations of this place because of what i paid. but they seem to fall below even that. i was very generous with my ratings of this establishment. with the exception of checking in, there was never anyone at the front desk. we literally waited long periods and had to physically walk around to find someone to help us (always wait staff from the restaurant). the wait staff would then go into the back and find someone to help us. we found and killed several bugs (what looked to be roaches). some of the linen was badly stained. We used others. There is no refrigerator or microwave for guest. i was advised to nicely ask the wait staff and maybe they would warm up an item for me. I only rated the staff so high bc of Marco. hes amazing. Even though we spent most of the day out on excursions the time we did spend at the hotel wasnt comfortable. we ended up checking out early and going to one of the larger hotels in Condado with a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disabled teacher
Business
florida
Oct 22, 2013

Business Trip

It was a nightmare for us...First , Our room was not ready, got charged on my credit card for 2 rooms, The music was so loud I got sick . Found a dog tick on the bathroom wall.I had to called my travel agent to cancel my reservation, im still waiting for my refund ...I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.It was too expensive and was not too clean , At least the staff was good and tried to help ...They haven't got paid either by their employer for what I heard...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tc vacation
Coulmbia SC
Oct 15, 2013

Poor- smelled like bleach

The hotel was old and out dated, room was very small. The smell of bleach was so strong it burned out eyes and throat, as if they were trying to cover something. We open the window to try to get fresh air, but it didn’t help. We requested to be placed away from the extra loud music, so we were put in room #15. The room was nothing like the pictures. The room was like an old Motel 6. The restaurant was pretty good, the beach area was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krisztinastar
seattle, wa
Sep 17, 2013

very nice patio/bar/lounge area and good value

very nice patio/bar/lounge area and good value. location could be a little bit closer to the isla verde center, but the amenities and price definitely make up for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The trucker
Lakeland fl
Sep 7, 2013

nice

Small, quaint, no pool but who needs it when your right on the beach with a cabanna area and a beach bar. no phones in the room but that was ok. We had a very nice time, and the people we're very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

casino nearby

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teeitsmybirthday
temple hills md
Aug 28, 2013

MY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND STAY

We arrived a bit early and the room wasn't ready we finally checked in room #15 it smelled like a clean up crime scene...like bleach, like a pool when there was no pool on the property at all. I then called the agency and they cancelled my room reservations and I checked out...But we came back and partied with the beach house on Saturday night they threw the best parties on the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza De Americas

Back to menu Return to top

Change search