The Beach House

2 stars
View map of Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

2.7/5

Overall score

51%

Would recommend

Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
4
Value:
2.9
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pgh Proud
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 24, 2014

Could be great!

Amazing beach, too bad the hotel needs so much work. Friendly staff, but it needs a lot of updating. It really has potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pacoal76
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 18, 2014

Great location

Rooms outdated ... Need renovation ... Major one.... But the location it's great ... Right on the beach !!!! We love it because of the location ... If u look for butler service this is not the one!!! Food was great too ( and presentation ) They even entertain you with there huge iguana !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will2065
Business
Alabama
Oct 14, 2014

Great getaway!

Great staff, excellent location! Beach front property+++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark1977HaveFun
Business
Fairfax, VA
Oct 6, 2014

Horrible Advertisement & Promotion by "O"

I read an article posted by "O" nearly one year ago titled "hidden Hotel Gems around the World". After reading the list of recommended hotels and hidden gems with good prices, I earmarked this hotel property for travel on Oct 1-5 2014. What a complete disaster!!! I arrived and the first thing that surprised me was that the taxi cab driver at the airport had not heard of the hotel. Not shocking looking back on it. Arriving at this hotel at night, the place was not very well lit and I felt uncomfortable. The place looks nothing like the pictures on "O" nor does the article I previously read describe the hotel. The place looked like a 1950's motel that has never been renovated. It's a chicken coop. After checking in, the person gave me a room key, not a card. This dingy door could have had the door lock picked in 5 minutes. There is no internal secure door latch on the inside for added protection. The hotel is in a good location in isle verde, but if you know, sometimes Puerto Rico isn't the safest country and things happen. I am a 37 year old 6"2' male that felt uncomfortable staying here, yet alone complain to the front desk afraid that I would have stuff missing from my belongs when gone during the day. The hotel states that maid service will not occur unless requested. What is this?! I left the lights on at all time, placed the do not disburb sign on the door knob and cranked the 1980 television up to make it appear that I was there when I went to other resort hotels to hang out during the day or night. I really am shocked that I paid any money to stay in this place. I am livid! There was no hot water for the shower for two of the 4 days, then it suddenly started getting hot water for the shower. The shower pressure was like a level 3 pressure out of a scale of 1-10 with 10 being high. You had to hold down the handle for the a complete toilet flush the entire time. There is not one thong I could say good about this place. I guess if you are unemployed, live in rural part of the world and have a house that doesn't have all the modern luxuries I. Life, then this place might be for you. I live in Washington, D.C. And live a life of above average a accommodations. The free breakfast took 20 seconds for me to look at it, then walk directly out the door. I'm definitely contacting "O"after I finish with this review. I'm so upset for my decision to trust "O" with this article I read. The "o"corporation needs to have a quality assurance department evaluate these places to adhere to certain standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unnamed Source
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2014

Misleading ad

The photos on the travel site (which craftily prohibits the use of its name in this review) are way way out of date. It would be an understatement to say they provide a misleading impression of the current conditions at the hotel. It's run down and while the staff is nice, nobody takes any responsibility for the conditions. For instance, we were told continental breakfast would be served from 8 to 10 a.m. Unfortunately the person in charge of the breakfast did not show up, so no continental breakfast. Nobody from the staff to explain the situation. No discount or refund or even a much of an apology. Also no coffee maker in the room, among the other promises that did not turn out to be true. Next time, we will not reserve using the travel site (with a name that begins with the same letter as organic and ends with the middle initial of actress Cathrine Zeta Jones).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caligirl77
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2014

Great location, cute bar in the back

We arrived after a tropical storm so the bar in the back was closed which was disappointing but not their fault. Room was clean and basic (no-frills). Location was great- it is right on beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wine loving traveler
Business
portland, OR
Jun 23, 2014

Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location. Perfect spot to drop in for a couple of days kiteboarding or any other beach activity. The beach there is great! It is only 10 minutes from the airport. The cab ride cost $12. No need for a car if you only want to hang on the beach. The low price was also attractive. Note that they charge an additional "resort fee" when you show up so it is not as cheap as it seems. You get free beach towels and chair/umbrella. Restaurant is a little overpriced (e.g. $10 for a teeny mojito). The food is pretty good -- I had a roast lamb shank that was tasty. There are lots of other restaurant choices in easy walking distance. I would not recommend for families with children or single women or anyone else who might have concerns about security. The locks on my door were very cheap and I imagine a good push would break the door down. My room (# 14) was large and the air conditioning worked. The bed was good for just me or would have been fine for a couple. Bathroom was OK, hot water worked. It was really all I needed in a room for a beach vacation. I'll stay there again if I go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Kiteboarding! If you want to learn I recommend 15 Knots. They seemed to be doing a great job with beginners. They also rent gear to experienced kiteboarders which is very unusual. I had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vee Ell
Business
West Chicago, IL. USA
Jun 13, 2014

right on beach

weekends are very noisy but Monday through Thursday it is very quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura1968
Business
Bronx ny
May 22, 2014

Not what I expected for the amount of money paid for.

When I get there room was not even cleaned. They charge $15 for parking per day. The hotel looks like a dump, broken and rusty furniture. Mold in the ac and the ceiling. Area is great but hotel sucks. Staff is nice. They don't have irons/ blowers/ fridge in room you have to ask for them. If you want ice gotta ask for it before bar closes because after that no ice til the next day..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Casinos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rel Luchiano
Business
New York City
May 9, 2014

Summer vacation.

Everything was ok nothing special. Just average. It was pretty quiet during the week. We were only there from Monday thru Thursday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LA CASITA BLANCA. BEST PLACE TO EAT!! FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND STAFF TREAT YOU GOOD!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top